April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

i need to lie down

by JigxorAndy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

i need to lie down
by andy sum (@JigxorAndy)


this game is designed to evoke a particular set of emotions and feelings.

please be warned that this game has flashing colours which may affect some viewers.

best played with sound. but note that this game is designed to be somewhat uncomfortable.

licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

made with multimedia fusion 2.

thank you for playing.

if you'd like to talk about the game, tweet at me or email me:
[andy attttt jigxor.com]

for more on me and my games, check out:
http://www.andrewsum.com

--------------------------------------------
F1 for Windowed Mode
F2 for Fullscreen (stretch)
F3 for Fullscreen (letterbox)

Works on Ubuntu with Wine 1.5 (1.4 has problems).

----------------------
Quotes:
"i have absolutely no idea what i am doing, but i know i am tripping balls." - Joseph Moore

"it makes me feel like ive drunk too much redbull" - Paul Greasley

Post Mortem: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/04/30/where-do-the-hours-go-a-post-mortem-of-i-need-to-lie-down-with-piecharts/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
Mood4.47
#9Audio4.16
#60Overall3.89
#63Theme4.17
#119Innovation3.77
#186Graphics3.71
#549Humor2.23
#572Fun2.97

Comments

ddlyheadshot says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 1:23pm

I assume it's not meant to just put black borders around my screen, play sound effects and crash...?

JigxorAndy says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Nope! Might be to do with your graphics card. Do you have Pixel Shader 2.0? Does the title screen show? What are your specs? Are you running it on Windows, etc?

RaulFPL says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Verry artistic!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:35am

Lovin' the wiggly line animations! Solid concept, nicely executed.

Parabol says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:56am

Very nice, bit intense after being up all night, but I love the concept, and the sound design.

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:21am

I love the look and the mood in the game is fantastic. Makes me want to hyper ventilate into a paper bag haha

Scott McBee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:47am

Made me very anxious, so well done!

JigxorAndy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58am

Thanks for the nice comments everyone!

Canyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:59am

I digged the mood. It made me feel super anxious. It is great for a game to make me feel complex emotions and for that to be intentional. I like the brevity to. Gets the message across quite quickly. High points for mood and audio.

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:13am

If I could make this Mood a 10 I would, good lord this has atmosphere. Fantastic experience, loved it!

Andrio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:20am

There's definitely a mood here. Excellent job of creating such mood from very simple gameplay.

An excellent example of Minimalism ;D

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:22am

Wow.... That stressed me out. The audio and visual effects combined worked for a perfect combination. You were right, this is a game that pulls out emotions. It's not the most fun, but it really does do its job. And it does it very well.

mchaza says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Fantastic job, 5 stars for creepiness and the weirdness it invoked. igdam ftw.

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:23pm

This game blows me away. It reminds me of feeling nauseated and anxious, and somehow manages to do that with a breathing sound effect and black scribbles. Well done.

JigxorAndy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Thanks guys! :) It's good to know the game seems to be evoking the kind of stuff I wanted it to!

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:55pm

This felt really interesting :) Is the animation at the start hand drawn, or is there some technique you can use to do that?

pighead10 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Weird. Gives a good atmosphere, but being gamer minded all I was trying to do was work out the objective.

JigxorAndy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:50pm

@Ragzouken - Thanks! I just drew it all with my mouse. I drew one frame, and then turned on onion-skinning (semi-transparent version of the previous frame), and redrew a similar frame. Since it could be done so quickly, I did it many many times to get a more fluid feeling.

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:56pm

I felt intrigued with this. Anxiety and feel for movement is some of the words for my experience.

I dig the art style and I find this game overall very well executed.

Inf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:46pm

loved it.

geepit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Really interesting, the mood this had was really good. Managed to make me feel anxious and kinda on edge

Korda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:40am

The sense of panic was there to a degree so well done on that

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:53pm

cool concept! It did a good job invoking some very dark and scary emotions. I can see the minimalism in it and it's strong message.

plash says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Wow! This was terrifying! But good. Nice work!

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Now that I finished my jam I can rate this. Great work with the atmosphere and contrls!

HybridMind says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:05am

Really had a cool experience playing this game. The sounds got very scary and the various feelings were quite palpable. I really didn't want to go near the black swarm at all. I collected the music hearts even though I never saw an effect. Great use of the minimal graphics, animation, and blur. I also like how the blue blob (your player character) can be perceived as a bouncing/dribbling ball from above with how it scales and the bounce sfx playing. Great work!

Oye Beto says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:33am

This looks very "experimental". It's more interesting than fun.
I liked the graphic style and the way you used sound.

oh well.. I can see the minimalism in the way you wanted to convey feelings. You aimed to the Mood category and I think you did pretty good on that.

Ryusui says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:53am

That...was intense. Still screenshots don't do this game any justice, either.

Solifuge says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:04am

This not only evoked the sense of growing anxiety, but actual physical symptoms. My heart rate rose, and even felt a tiny bit ill for a minute.

Masterfully done!

JigxorAndy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:19am

Wow! The responses have been really amazing guys. Thank you! I've heard now from a few people that it's physically making their heart beat faster and faster which is pretty cool!

I agree that the game is hard to show off with static screenshots, too bad I the animated .GIFs don't show!

May 1, 2013 @ 4:50am

The audio work in this is great. I scooted around the edge while trying to collect the music notes/hearts. It was definitely disconcerting watching the black blob grow large enough to become unavoidable. A neat experience.

nintendoeats says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:57am

For the entirety of LD I have had a sinus infection. This game is an exact representation of what that experience has been like. Is there anything beyond going for a while and eventually having your head implode?

Tozy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:04am

WOW this should be in a museum! What I'm saying? this must be in the internet where lots of people can play it. 5 stars to Mood, form all the games I played here, if I gave any other that rate in Modd, they didn't deserve it as much as this game.

Maple says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:12am

This is interesting. I really liked that you could hold on to your life to evade death, but death was inevitable (or having a heart attack or whatever it was). I tried a second time and held on to my life for as long as possible after I was caught, and the blue beat got pretty big (spanning ~3/5 of the screen width), and I was pushed out of the corner, and then when I decided to give up, I was stuck in the wall and couldn't move, and the black fuzzy things were slowly swarming to helpless me. I also really liked how the beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep at the end transitioned into the start again. Nice entry.

Tifu says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:06am

Very nice unsettling atmosphere =o

Zccc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Awesome, loved it.

OnionBlaze says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:30am

..whoa. That actually made me really nervous.

stqn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Cool. A bit sluggish though, but that adds to the feeling of helplessness I suppose :). Are the red hearts/notes of any use?

cardboard says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:35am

I'll have to think about this some more. I'm not exactly sure what to make of it at this point..

JigxorAndy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:38am

@stqn - they might do something! :P If you don't notice what they do then that's kind of part of the theme.

SmallDeadGuy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:58am

Oh god wtf trippy should not play this before lesson i feel sick. uuuuurrrrggghhhh. Great game though, nice implementation of normal avoidance games. Confused me a bit at first until I realised the concept.

Komradus says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:47am

That was certainly an "experience", solid work.

Madball says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:49pm

That's what does "I need to lie down" look like. Anyway, why wouldn't I just lay down?
OK, here's what I understood so far: black things are your willingness to lie down. But for whatever reasons you have to be awake. Pink things are, well... everything that prevents you from doing so: chatting, reading, listening to music... I'm not really sure about the donuts, but I guess they're people. They can keep you awake for a long time, but they'll lie down eventually.

Are says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:38pm

That is how I feel when I'm drunk.

Zim the Fox says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:54pm

One song that may describe the game: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0GLoHifu6aM

Joking aside, I didn't really feel anxious, uncomfortable or else wile playing the game but I think it did a great job at setting a mood.

The sound design is _astounding_. It makes the game, but the animation also does a great and necessary job of conveying emotion. The game needs some work on the mechanic department however, it is but 'move around in circles avoiding the black things'.

Fantastic work, and congratulations on finishing before the deadline!

ethankennerly says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Engaging! The scribbling graphics and sound of panting from running away gripped me. If you continue to develop this, it was not clear to me at first who I was, or what my character wanted to do.

rogueNoodle says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:31am

Great job - made me feel anxious the entire time (borderline panic attack :P)

NightShadow0 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:31pm

If the goal was making one uncomfortable then you've definitely succeeded. Interesting experiment.

Edgy Mirrors says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:41am

Terrifying game. No fun to play at all, but great idea.

jadams says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:33pm

The graphics and sound work together really nicely, generating a nice ramp in intensity. But I'm still not sure what I just spent my last 5 minutes doing...

Ninja Doggy says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:03am

I have no idea what I am doing either,but for the concept:

9/10

JigxorAndy says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Thanks again for the great comments guys :)

If you're not exactly sure what you're doing, that's okay! That's one part of it.

brantkings says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:37pm

WOA! What a game. May not mean much, but you got my respect forever. Such an impact in a game made in 48h. Sensational, hands down.

I liked how you were always drawn to the thing, and that the good stuff became rarer and more difficult to get so you don't have any choice but stop breathing. Too cool.

SuperDisk says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:47am

We're playing this on a projector in a dark room, and it's pretty freaky. We expected some sort of demented screamer when we touched the amassing cloud of stuff so we quit.

Incredibly weird game.

SirDavies says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:16pm

One of the most evocative games I've played from this LD so far. Good job!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Great game. The blur effect is pretty cool and the atmosphere is very anxious(-ing). you succeeded your goal.

timtipgames says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 10:45pm

It got me. Exceptional what atmosphere you created with such minimalistic graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]