April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Waste Not Want Not

by scottwashi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Left/Right to Move. Spacebar to Jump. F to Turn Backwards. Enter to Play.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#979Audio1.88
#1128Theme2.84
#1147Innovation2.21
#1159Graphics2.20
#1306Fun1.75
#1317Overall2.10
#1744Coolness28%

Comments

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:28am

What the what? o_O I don't get the game... :/

orangepascal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:12am

uhm.. not really sure what the point is? :)

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:16am

I wish I could understand this game better. The intro screen of moving pixels really had me going for a sec...

MetroidMan347 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:21am

I don't understand this game. What I do understand is that the controls are frustrating. It seems like this would be more fun if doing what you want wasn't a constant struggle.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:25am

I wasn't ever sure whether or not I would deal or receive damage - the weapons are about the same length, so it felt like jousting (but I always won, somehow).

Lizzip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Not sure whats going on here

thatwhichis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:56pm

First play: that guy murdered me! :-(
Second play: jump away from that guy! JUMP FOREVER!

Read GertJohnny's comment.

Third play: I can FIGHT THAT GUY??! :-D
Fourth play: examining screenshots, notice different wall and floor layouts, attempt to create these layouts since the guy i'm fighting seems to be part of the game world.
Fifth and some subsequent plays: notice that destroying the guy does not allow his piece to rejoin the game world, thus eliminating the game world as you play.

Could just be me, but I feel like movement speeds up as I remove blocks from the outside of the game world?

Have not been able to remove all blocks yet; I am bad at things. :-(

Maybe this information will help someone else complete the game!!!

thatwhichis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Oh hey, two more things:

1. Every block you eliminate from the game no longer shows up in the title screen, and

2. I think it lets you continue by hitting enter? The pieces do not seem to regenerate. However, may I suggest aiming for the head? I am out of green blocks, but grey floor blocks keep generating new guys to fight; I am eliminating them now.

thatwhichis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Wow. The only things left are my life blocks, and I don't have anything to jump off of to get to the fighting guy whose head is comprised of one of my life blocks.

My title screen looks like "L . :"

To get to this point, I had to continue a lot and use the guy I'm fighting as the primary thing to jump off of, since not a whole lot is left.

I also think that there are still some invisible platforms/bodies of fallen fighting guys that made it feel like I was fighting on air for a long time, like some sort of Matrix/Crouching Tiger battle with a guy comprised only of a head and a sword.

I would love to know if the game has an ending, but from what I have been able to determine it is impossible for me to progress further. :'-(

thatwhichis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:20pm

After some consideration, perhaps that is the point?

Husky says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:27am

Hmm...I don't really get the game.
Anyway, good job!

scottwashi says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:33am

@thatwhichis The blocks aren't supposed to come back by design. After seeing the comments, it definitely doesn't explain itself well at all (in many aspects). The bad controls are just my poor platforming coding. Thanks to everyone who gave it a try!

thatwhichis says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:33pm

I actually enjoyed myself quite a bit... Thank you for making this!

Tifu says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Wasn't sure what was going on here til I read the comments, and then played again, very interesting idea.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:35am

i am confused -- what is the point -- nice effort

May 20, 2013 @ 8:24pm

I didn't understand how to play. Should include instructions. Jumped up 5-6 levels and that was about it. Maybe I was supposed to kill the other guy (stab him?) then use his body to get higher? What? :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]