April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Particles

by Covenant - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Particles
---------

Guide particles towards the exit of each level!

If you want to change/add levels, just check out the files in the levels/ directory... if you add a new file in sequence (level16.xml, for example), the game uses that file as part of the game itself... If you do so, let me know, I'd love to see it! :)

Hope you enjoy it!

06/05/2013 - Fixed the issue with the application hanging up on exit, now you don't have to go to the task manager to kill it...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#102Overall3.77
#109Fun3.61
#143Audio3.44
#205Innovation3.60
#420Mood3.07
#446Theme3.64
#683Graphics2.88
#714Humor2.00

Comments

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Very nice game. Can get very difficult especially with the moving obstacles.

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Nice and challenging game

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Very nice! A good spin on the move-your-mouse-and-don't-hit-the-walls games.

I found the controls of "move your mouse faster, the particles move slower" thing a bit odd. I guess it makes sense, but it felt weird. Most of the time I was just moving the mouse slowly.

Particle effects are top-notch, and the music is nice too.

A few general bugs (I was playing on W7)
The music kept playing after I closed the window, I had to manually end the process.
I wasn't able to move the window by simply clicking and dragging it... I had to right-click and manually hit "Move".

lanz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Cool game. Loved particle dynamics. It's getting really hard in the later levels! Very fun to play! .)

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:57pm

This game was fantastic. You should keep working on it.

Arkazon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:01pm

A good game, I finished all the regular levels (would take me far too long to get 100% for that bonus level!). Program didn't close properly - I still had sound playing after closing the window and had to use task manager to finish it off.

ericlass says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Cool idea and quite challenging. I liked it a lot.

phi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Awesome idea and great level design! Very nicely done! But somehow closing the window doesn't do a good job at terminating the process...

enzo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Super cool, I feel like a wizard

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Thanks all for the comments:

@TheSambassador: the moving the mouse fast and the particles move slower is due to the fact that they use a formula similar to magnetic fields... So the further the mouse is from the particle, the less attraction they suffer...

Everybody that reported the closing window issue... think it is due to closing the game by using the "cross" icon, I don't think I made code thinking of that (I usually only quit by going to the menu and selecting the option)... Too late to do something about it, but I'll keep an eye out for future entries... :)

Jod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Liked it! The simple gameplay mechanic made slowly more complex is a very good game design. This would defenitely do well as an app on a tablet.

Tyro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:51am

Wow, this was a masterpiece. Amazing concept and brilliant execution. The music was soothing and helped me enjoy the tricky yet balanced puzzles.

A minor bug I encountered: after beating the last stage and clicking to exit, the program kept running even though it had disappeared from the task bar. I eventually had to close it with the task manager. I'm using Windows 7, if that helps.

TenTonToon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:55am

One of the most fun games I've played so far on this LD! It's really well thought out, with a number of very interesting game mechanics - maybe a little too many to be exactly minimalistic. Sound design is good, too, and a welcome addition in a LD game ;)

Even if, to me, it doesn't perfectly fit the theme, it's a terrifically designed game that I've played from top to bottom and that would look and play great on a touch screen.

If you develop this game further, post-LD, count me in.

Congratulations! :)

michail says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Simple, but very fun! Very good idea with those switches changing color!

Doublecaster says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:25am

This game was awsome! You should continue doing this. Perhaps a mobile game? Also the game didn't close when you pressed X on windows 7 I had to manually shutdown the process.

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:33am

A nice and polished title. Great game play.

ashdnazg says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:34am

A challenging and spectacular concept!

KEFIR says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:35am

Really nice solid and complete entry! Good tutorial and level design work. I almost felt real pain when lose these particles :)

May 5, 2013 @ 11:30am

Very nice game!

caranha says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Someone has discovered the particle engine of their library! :-D

Joking aside, this is a very solid entry. I had a lot of fun playing with it, and it was nice watching the particles exploding everywhere.

One little bug: after the game ended, the music kept playing.....

Thanks for the game!

Frib says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Very neat little game, fun stuff!

Covenant says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:09pm

caranha: Actually I programmed all the particle stuff from scratch on this one... :) Programming particle systems is one of the most fun stuff you can do! :)

Fnkee says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:17pm

What a feelgood game! I would love to see some more puzzling obstacles and elements. All in all a great game, and I can't wait to try completing the game with full score.

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Great mechanic... Really works great and is fun!

Xanjos says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Apart from that problem where sound still plays if you exit via the red x, everything about this game is really excellent. Nice simple graphics, interesting game mechanics, clever level design plus that awesome particle system.

Fadobo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Many thanks for the colorblind mode. But great game either way :D !!

Covenant says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:18pm

@Fadobo: Are you colorblind? How did that work out for you? (didn't have a way to actually test it)

dalbinblue says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:00pm

One of the more fun games I've played so far. Needs a little polish, but otherwise is a great game. reminds me a little of the arcade game "The Irritating Maze" (I think that's the name).

Covenant says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:52pm

I've updated my entry, just fixing the bug with the sound on exit of the application... Application should not get hung now...

lorancou says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:07pm

It already hung …
By the way your idea is really cool … and challenging

kill0u says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Nice concept :)

Jeremias says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:31pm

The game works really fine. A valuable tutorial and even an options menu with support for color blind people - just great. Was fun to play.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]