April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Super Monster Attack

by daandruff - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The earth is invaded... Save it!

Instructions:
You are recruiting fighters to defend of the ever growing monster hordes. You have three types of fighters to choose from;

White: Weak fighters but hard hitters
Green: Your average fighter, not weak, not strong
Blue: Takes a great deal of damage before he's down, but doesn't hit very hard

Every wave you have the choice to increase the amount of money you earn every wave (Coin+) or the amount of HP your fighters spawn with (Shield+).

Now, get out there and fight!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#54Graphics4.13
#108Audio3.56
#163Fun3.50
#170Humor3.04
#184Overall3.59
#266Mood3.24
#728Innovation2.91
#885Theme3.19

Comments

deathray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:55am

Really great art style and animations; coin explosions was very satisfying. I just felt like I wasn't making any tactical decisions. Just need to buy more guys each turn and hope the monsters don't have more.

Orni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:16am

I couldn't get it to run, I'm stuck at the title screen. Do I have to press something?
Please provide some basic control instructions - I really want to play this game :D

(putting 'Super' in front of the name of a game makes it 10 times more fun, scientifically proven)

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:22am

@Orni - You should just press the two swords to start the game :) (And I will update with some instructions)

lambomang says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:52am

Love the voices :D

ArkadyDracul says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:06am

Very Nice Entry! :D

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:58am

Nice game!!

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Really great to look at, but for my eyes the contrast between different unit types is too low. Took me a while to figure out how to start the game :p

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Very cool game. I like the graphics, but after a few rounds, the UI dissapears, and it's impossible to play :(

http://i.imgur.com/ZADNip3.png

Lythom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Really nice entry I enjoyed playing ! I fell balancing could be improved : i just "beat" (been overpowered) by only buying green ones and shield every turn.
Had fun so thanks for the game =)

psychomonster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:17pm

This game is really funny and cute... Nice one... great minimalistic graphics...

Axelhein says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Love the art! The voices and the ambient wind noises are really awesome.
It wasn't clear to me in the beginning what the colors were. They all seemed pretty close to white or a bright grey.
I also did't really feel that my decisions mattered all that much.

Pretty good game though

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:41pm

I really liked this one. Everything felt good, the coins flying, the attack animations. You should work on this more after the compo.

GFM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:49pm

This is simply amazing and super fun!
And the game is also really polished!

Great job! =D

Gungnir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:05am

Excellent level of polish and highly playable besides. Lo-fi charm and coinzzzz!

3.14 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:41pm

I played the game until it crashed violently. It was mindless, it wasn't strategic at all... BUT I LOVED IT! Buy more guys, fight fight, buy more, fight fight, next wave, buy buy, fight fight, AAAAAA!!! You nailed the graphics, animation and sound and I loved the gameplay, but even I must say - it could use some more variation.

Expand it, you got the feel right :).

Zener says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Love it! Tower defence to its minimum expression. Graphics and sound are awesome too, very good job!

Salamander3 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Great game, very polished feel and a surprising amount of depth to the relatively simple gameplay. Nice job.

May 4, 2013 @ 11:08am

Will there be a Windows 32bit version? Sadly I can't start it. (Windows XP, 32bit)

daandruff says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:22am

32-Bit version is up! Sorry for the delay :(

May 10, 2013 @ 2:50pm

:) Thank you.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:08pm

An minimal RPG battle/TD. Good realisation.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]