April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Nimin: A minimal sidescroll shooter

by Haversack - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Keyboard only. Designed for 1024 x 768.
Controls:
Move: arrow keys
Shoot: space
Pause: Esc

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#726Graphics2.81
#748Audio2.38
#932Fun2.58
#1125Mood2.21
#1156Theme2.78
#1234Overall2.38
#1335Innovation1.56
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

daniel2357 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:47pm

complete it on the first time :). You can see the theme in here - nice game- maybe try to make new level( not for the compo :P).

Haversack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:28pm

@daniel2357 Thanks! I have already begun revamping the logic/code to allow for more levels. I'm improving the graphics and working on power ups, more enemies and bosses! I want to see how far I can take it :)

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Cool graphics, especially the ship sprite.

rxi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Short but fun!

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Well definitely minimal! Nice work.

MaxSzlagor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Graphics fit the theme nicely. Sound effects are a bit loud (had to turn down Windows volume quite a bit). Good work and thanks for sharing!

kbm0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Fun and well done little Shmup. Good job!

avidgamerNino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:30pm

I am angry there are not more levels or a boss, I wanted to play more!

avidgamerNino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:32pm

I am angry there are not more levels or a boss, I wanted to play more! Fun

zkenshin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:07am

Fun while it lasted! (:

N427 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Nice game, pretty fun! Wish there were a few more stages though.

Skoggy says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Nice graphics, ok gameplay. I think the player ship was way to big, hard to avoid enemy bullets.

Haversack says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:58pm

@skoggy I agree. The #1GAM version of this I'm working on a smaller ship.

JonRB says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:31am

Nice one, although I found myself sending sine-waves of death at my enemies, the shooting could do with some kind of limit.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]