April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Minimalizer

by johnfn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

phew!

a platformer game that doesn't take itself too seriously. still, it does have combat and upgrades! it also has a few graphical glitches - i hope you can look past them.

and yeah i totally ran out of time to do a better theme connection :(

thank you for playing! i love ludum dare!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#92Audio3.61
#258Humor2.74
#351Fun3.21
#406Overall3.31
#486Mood2.98
#569Graphics3.00
#1157Innovation2.19
#1273Theme2.50
#1594Coolness37%

Comments

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:03am

Fun, epic sound track, delightfully exploitable economy. but it was the story that got me through the game.

AlvaroH says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Great Game!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Playing on Chrome it seemed very, very fast and jittery... To the extent that I found it reasonably unplayable... but then I have problems with Call of Duty being over-twitchy... probably my age or lack of vitamin-D or something. Ambitious

yetanother says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:11pm

I love the music. Fun to play.

infernet89 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Soundtrack was very good, unfortunately controls were quite annoying, but i liked the humour of dialogs!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Nice game, platforming mechanics were a little difficult to control, I think the player accelerats bit too fast. After getting the gun I eventually got stuck on the same screen as the screenshot here in the area at the bottom of the screen by jumping up from the screen below.

Hertzila says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Very nice, humorous game, even if a bit short and simple. I like the music a lot.

Polar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Quite good, although I was quite upset when I got to the '4, 8, You Win' bit as a couldn't max out all of the weapons 10 points - it was a *bit* short.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Liked the music!

lanz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Man that's hard and fast! I like it .) Absolutely awesome soundtrack. But turrets sometimes spawn inside walls. And did I say it's hard? .)

Jeremias says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:28pm

The music is great, where are the sound effects? :D

Your game is simple but fun to play. I didn't encountered any bugs, so you did a very solid entry. The only thing I can complain, is the following:

- Enemies drop coins after killing theme again, so it's possible to farm coins. That makes the collecting coins/upgrading system a bit obsolete.
- Shooting up and down wasn't clear. I got stucked on the screen where you must shoot up to kill the turrets.
- You should add a save area after each screen. Sometimes I died and still pressed the walk button. As a consequence, I immediately walked off the screen into the next screen and died there, so I spawned on the starting point of this location.

johnfn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Thanks for the comments guys. I updated it so that you couldn't get stuck in walls. I also slowed it down a little because it sounds like it might run a little faster on other computers? Sorry bout the little bugs here and there, I was probably too ambitious with some things.

Destroyer40k says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:12am

It was fun although a bit short. I didn't even get to upgrading the gu- ahem, minimalizer before I got to the end. It's got a nice difficulty level to it and the background music really adds a lot to the experience. Great game :)

Misael.K says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:05am

Good music, I imagined you'd do a higher BPM one.
The controls are jumpy, over sensitive I'd say. Level design is ok, nice progression. Graphics are cute, but lacking something (more colors? a more uniform palette? both? more silliness?)
Loved the funny narrations! This was the way you should've taken it, trying to make the "gun, emmm, minimalizer" joke more obvious, make it truly part of the game.
Good job. :)

Arcana says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Hey. I did Ludum Dare... mostly after you told me to "do it anyway". Can't check this out this evening but commenting to return to it later.

davidpeter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:09pm

I really like seeing your graphics improve over the LDs. This game was really difficult because it ran so fast on my computer and the bullets follow me. Health hearts was also a bit confusing to me, I didn't really know how to interpret it. I assume the music is great LOLOL. I enjoyed playing it, good work!

rukbotto says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:25am

Awesome! I really enjoyed it! Congratz!

May 1, 2013 @ 3:33am

I have the same problem where the game is running crazy fast and really difficult. Platforming is twitchy and turrets are shooting a solid wall of bullets that follow me! D: It sounds like you addressed the speed problem so maybe it's just the browser I'm using? :S

Other than that, the music is fun and dialogue is hilarious. I allo like how there is a respawn point at each new screen. Great job for a compo entry.

-Rosypenguin
(this is a team account)

messiano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:05am

Great game and music, however it runs way too fast. Congratulations on the effort!

Uhfgood says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:32am

I got stuck trying to leave the weapons upgrade screen

Uhfgood says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:48am

Like others, the (one) music track was pretty good. Not really screaming minimalism to me, but fun none-the-less

starpixie says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:57am

Fun game, very fast but it's entertaining. Might be worth noting that ladders seem to make you fly! Really nice soundtrack and cute sense of humour.

KayZ says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:06am

I went the wrong direction the first time and then got stuck in the room with the 2 turrets. Second time I went to get the minimalizer first :).

Ismei says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:59am

This was fun to play. I enjoyed the music and the dialogue was funny.

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:42am

The physics were a little off at times, usually when ladders where involved. But that's easy to look past, considering the rest was nicely done. Great graphics and exceptional music seal the deal for me.

kazukishida says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:01am

Oh god that was hard. DX The controls felt too fast/responsive, and man it's just hard. XD

It seems the turrets spawn in random locations? Because hot damn two of them spawned near an exit and it was near damn impossible to get through T_T

(EDIT: it seemed I was going the wrong way the whole time WTF XD)

But the good art, the wonderful music, and the absolutely hilarious dialogue make up for the difficulty. It was short, but sweet. I think I'd play this if you refine it and keep up the gold humor. And the music, keep that up! Add some sfx and you've got it :)

Also, I should mention that when you hold the jump key on a ladder, you become the Spiderman and climb like no one has ever climbed before. But given the humor in the game, I won't be surprised if did that on purpose.

Frosnite says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Very cool, was fun to play, good job :)

johnfn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Um. Are people thinking it's too hard because you're going RIGHT instead of LEFT at the beginning? That would seriously crack me up. And then make me feel like an idiot for terrible level design. :D

Wiering says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Nice little game!

theomnis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:08pm

A little hard to control...and I also demand guns at spawn :)

Milktoast says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Difficult, but fun!

johnfn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:14am

@theomnis: hah... hahahahhaha... if/when i expand this, the "no gun" section is getting tripled. :D:D:D

johnfn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:20am

Also, for everyone mentioning how holding jump makes you zoom up ladders - those aren't ladders, they're train tracks! and you're a train! ZOOM ZOOM!

alright, that may have been a lie.

Arcana says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:48am

I had a lot of fun playing. For some reason I loved climbing the ladders, since you SHOT up them so quickly. Firing was really fun too because your gun was so fast. It was a reasonably fast-paced game and I wish I had an old SNES controller to play this with! Catchy music too, too bad it didn't loop constantly and did a fadeout instead :(

May 2, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Lovely jump'n'run! Music is great.

Could use some balancing though. You see the word "gun" very often, yet you can't shoot, despite your enemies being able to. The "obstacle" looks just wide enough to fit thourhg, so turning left is not very apparent. Also jumping is so powerful, you often jump out of the level.

Still, nice work, and it is fun :)

johnfn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:53pm

@matthias_zarzecki - I guess you didn't play very far? You can shoot eventually... :/

Maybe I should have made that more obvious.

nilstastic says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:56am

Very fun, little har to control but good that you did'nt have to start over every time you died :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:22am

nice game but the controls were not too tight --gravity was a little too much -- nice job

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:06am

Woo, awesome. The room with the two turrets near the end, I totally abused that screen to farm up my weapon...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]