April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

h o m e

by mtthwcmpbll - Jam Entry

This eventually came together as a simple sliding puzzle. I won't say too much about the (pretty simple) goals and mechanics beyond that.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#233Innovation(Jam)3.11
#239Audio(Jam)3.00
#329Mood(Jam)2.75
#340Overall(Jam)2.94
#357Graphics(Jam)2.89
#380Fun(Jam)2.61
#416Theme(Jam)2.83
#1934Coolness14%

Comments

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:56am

Indeed it was minimal but not the most fun only because you could master the game atom in 20 seconds and there were only like 4 levels

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:07am

Took me a second to figure it out, but the chimes were a nice clue. Was trying to do it like a Rubic's cube at first ;)

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:30am

It would be great if you could provide at least an windows-executable (if using unity3) or create a native one (unity4) to give linux-people the chance to play your game........

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:08am

Aw, it's pretty sweet. I'm sad it's that short. :)

mtthwcmpbll says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Thanks so much for playing, folks! I agree it's pretty simple and short (it just adds more animals up to a max threshold), and I'm not sold that it's actually any *fun* in it's current incarnation. There were a handful of other mechanics I was hoping to add to make things more dynamic, but there just wasn't time.

@dertom: I'm using Unity 3.5, so I don't have native linux export capability but I'll try and post Windows and Mac standalone builds tonight.

metalcan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Love the idea. The audio clues are genious. Nice relaxing game, with lots of potential. How about adding more mechanics? Would be lovely on a touch device as well.

Grouflon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Solid entry, very interesting concept in my opinion :) There is unfortunately a lack in the difficulty... once you have understood the goal, it becomes very easy. But this concept of a flat rubic's cube with matching point pleased me a lot! Congrats!

kunzbe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:06pm

good puzzle, i'm amazed

shines says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Good concept! I'd recommend adding a simple gray ghost of a chime if you hit the correct layout as it's very confusing with audio off.

mtthwcmpbll says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:48pm

I just added Win32 and Mac standalone builds. Thanks again so much for playing and for the comments!

JustinMullin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:29am

Pretty cool! I'm a big fan of sliding puzzles like this, so this ticks the right boxes for me. The audio cues really helped teach the puzzle the first time through.

joe40001 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:06am

Elegant and simple

Catman says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 10:01am

Simple and smooth, but I think it was bugging as sometimes it accepted a fish on land!

ilo says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:51pm

I know there isn't anything which challenges your progress yet, but the mechanic and presentation is charming in its elegance. I think you have something that would really shine with a bit more iteration. ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]