April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cress

by thristhart - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello all! With Cress I strove for minimalism in gameplay, graphics, and amount of fun. I call it Cress because if chess is a full meal, cress is just a seasoning.

This game is a TWO-PLAYER MULTIPLAYER BOARDGAME! I highly recommend you play with a friend who you can talk to with your voice (either VOIP, or in person) but feel free to use the built-in chat system if you can't.

Please refer to the Help link for instructions. Once you've created a game, copy the link so you can give it to your friend.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#529Innovation3.15
#722Theme3.37
#1028Graphics2.40
#1056Overall2.67
#1072Fun2.37
#1636Coolness35%

Comments

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:57am

I don't know if something is up with my computer, or if I'm supposed to wait for someone else to play but when I play, afterwards, I can't make a move and neither does white.

Kom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:26am

Simplistic, reasonably streamlined, seems to work well when I let someone else join. Figures that there wouldn't be people waiting around in the lobby at the time, but I managed to test it a little with a friend. It's nice to see people doing multiplayer games.

thristhart says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:29am

The idea is that it's a multiplayer game - for best results, find a friend to play the game with. AI wasn't in the budget, unfortunately! :D

If you want to try it by yourself, or with a friend on the same computer, copy the link once you've made the game and open it again in a separate window.

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:31am

Pretty interesting but couldn't figure out how to get much done.

guestcheap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:42am

very ambitious for a Ludum Dare, but I found the gameplay to be very confusing

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:54pm

CRESCENT FRESH. This is goddamn genius, did you invent these mechanics? I would play the hell out of this, I just started to understand the tactics toward the end of my first game. There is at least one bug; at one point I capped a piece and both mine AND his returned to the start. But wow.

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55pm

A little buggy, but I guess that's what you get with multi-player in 48 hours.

With a little animation and sound this could be great. You should keep working on it after the comp!

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Interesting game. At first I didn't understand that it was multiplayer. You might want to mention that in the instructions. Good game, though.

thristhart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:26pm

@gilmore606 Wow, thanks for the compliments! Yes, I invented the mechanics (although I would argue that they are simple enough that I couldn't have been the first).

Gotta admit, I have no idea how that bug could have happened; shouldn't be possible! Ah well.

gmaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:32pm

not bad

AaronYip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:45pm

The rules looked intriguing enough for me to wish that I had someone to play with. Seems to come with the territory of multiplayer games. :( Please make a post-comp version with a simple AI? :3

Hegemege says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:42am

Interesting! As a chess player myself, I appreciate people who make similar games with new mechanics. A simple AI would've been so good for the game.

brookman32k says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:48am

An AI would have been nice, as I could only test it with two browser windows open ;) The game fits the theme nicely and your game looks in general very simple but good. Sound would have been nice.

thristhart says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Just changed the Source link, as I've moved the Github repo from cress to cress-ludumdare, in anticipation of using cress for my post-compo work on it (including AI!)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]