April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Katana Adventures II: The Reckoning

by Jed Mayberry - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Sequel to the hit game Katana Adventures!

A production of Brownbear Studios.

Part of the point of the game is to give you a lot of power and nothing to use it on. Minimalistic!

Instructions:

Move left and right with A and D.

Attack with LMB.

Block with RMB or Alt. I should have playtested in the web player. :(

The game is working as I intended it to. Don't worry if something seems wrong or off. Either you get it or you don't.

Can you find the hidden potato?

Models made and unwrapped in Blender.

Textures made in Autodesk Sketchbook Pro, GIMP, xNormal, and CrazyBump.

Sounds made in Renoise from samples that I have the right to use.

Game made in Unity with scripts in Boo, because typing curly braces is hard on your fingers. My daddy taught me that years ago, in fourth grade.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#443Graphics3.19
#519Humor2.26
#816Audio2.25
#1053Theme2.96
#1213Mood1.94
#1307Innovation1.80
#1336Fun1.41
#1339Overall1.78
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

Hobojedi says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:40am

As the sword deserted the dojo and dove into the darkness, he realized that not even he may be suited for fighting this evil. Wafts of musty air grabbed at the sword, but he continued on, seeking the light beyond the shadows. Eventually the darkness fatigued the sword, but he gathered his energy and proceeded on through the dark. The dojo remained in his memory, though as he moved forwards, the darkness splintered his memory of the past. Oh how he longed for the warmth of the dojo, the sporadic tapestries on the wall that once comforted the sword now scared him - would he ever find his home once more? Would he ever reunite his childhood friend, Miss Potato? As he recalled his past, he kept floating ever onward, deeper down the river and deeper into the pit. Only he illuminated this black void, but his efforts were in vain - he existed in this plane, but a sword can only vanquish so much darkness with his mere presence. He quietly stopped in the shade. He could not turn around, yet his hope had left him back in the dojo. He tried to jump, but to no avail. After weeks of drifting onward, the sword froze his journey, and gave in to his doubts of success.

Lianne Booton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:58am

I can't tell if it works or not :/ There was nothing to attack and having block as RMB was annoying when it'd bring up the Unity menu each time.

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:08am

I like the potential, but no enemies/potatoes spawn.

(Right Mouse Click is probably a bad idea for the web version of the game, but technically works).

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:10am

Are you sure the Web version you've submitted is the complete version? There is nothing to attack and the background just ends in darkness after a while and the music stops playing. :/

Jed Mayberry says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:12am

The game is working as I intended it to. There are no bugs, only features. (Well, except for the right-click.)

TenTonToon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:20am

Well, that sure was minimalism for you! :) I would have taken it a step further, though, and kept the mechanics down to just walk back and forth.
Oh, and I found the hidden potato. Yay! :D

Congratulations! :)

timtimtimtim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:01am

cool sword animations

orangepascal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:10am

a bit too much on the minimalistic part for my taste :)

yellowlemming says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:58pm

It appears to be made well but I can't help thinking that a game without purpose isn't particularly fun, the sound also broke very early on and you should probably stop the player walking into darkness and have a set end to the game instead, also not show the player the planes that the background is constructed from as it shows how basic it is

berareu says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:05am

That was a tiny bit too minimalistic, I see your point though! Found the potato!

dick_claus says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 5:12am

Very minimalistic.

Zim the Fox says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Hidden potato was easy to find!

I get the idea... That you have to make your own story... But... I don't know, it just feels empty :P

Congratulations though, it is a great looking entry and an interesting story attempt! (And yay Boo, the Python-inspired Unity scripting language. It's a shame there wasn't much documentation for it last time I looked into it.)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]