April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Without Light

by Cidolfas - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There isn't really any gameplay here. I dropped out of LD26 yesterday because I didn't feel like working on the minimalist interior decorator game I has started (It's been a long week...)

So I made a 3D tileset and a system to auto-place them, then made a quick miner to carve a space out, and stuck the two together. I wound up with this!

I'm not sure if I'm going to continue to make a game out of this or not, but I hope you guys like playing around in it :P

Instructions are on the page, press 1 if you want a new world (or it spawns you outside the level).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:10am

Love the idea of throwing flares - reminds me of AvP and Tomb Raider. Way to few games do this any longer.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:08am

Any specific feedback you're looking for?

bbrown2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:16am

I like the atmosphere, getting lost in the dark is one of those instinctively scary things. Maybe have a doorway or something that spawns randomly in the space as a goal? It might not be reachable in many randomly generated levels, but it would give the experience an end point.

Monkokio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:36pm

I get a really interesting feeling from moving through these rooms. The flare mechanic is hypnotic and magical.
It falls flat somewhat quickly. Not sure what kind of discoverable objects would help engagement but not hurt the idea of minimalism.

Komradus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:55am

Really interesting concept, I may have come across an unsolvable maze in my first attempt, I'm not sure.
Throwing lights is awesome and I wish I'd see it done more often.

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:23am

Awesome lil procedural miner with vertical space, which is rare and nice.... looks great!

mrexcessive says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Very cool and oppressive atmosphere from very simple mechanic. Inspirational.

Cidolfas says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Thank you guys for playing! I think I'm going to play around with this a bit more after this semester of school ends.

May 13, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Good concept, looks cool already, but still needs a lot of work, like adding some actual gameplay and sound. But generally, it's fun ! :)

Uhfgood says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Kind of interesting, not really a game like you say though.

May 18, 2013 @ 2:53pm

not much of a point, but still quiet interesting, i found myself exploring the levels and actually enjoying myself, maybe if you made the levels longer and added more things to the levels and fixed a glitch that spawned you outside the map, it could be a interesting game

Aron says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:44pm

I like the idea of no seeing very far in a free explorable dungeon. Unfortunately it lacks actual gameplay.

kyyninen says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:47am

Whoa o_o Surprisingly atmospheric! Somehow reminded me of House of Leaves. Some variation in level generation would be nice, could infinitely tall/bottomless rooms be possible?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]