April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Aduno

by JustinMullin - Jam Entry

*******************************************

If you enjoy Aduno and would like to see it on your mobile phone or tablet, consider contributing a dollar or two to our Indiegogo campaign at www.indiegogo.com/projects/aduno. Thanks!

*******************************************

A puzzle game about turning big piles of things into little piles of things. Requires Java.

Art: Joe Olson
Code, Sound, Music: Justin Mullin
Testing/Moral Support: Daniel Grace, Julia Grace, Laura Mullin

Aduno was written in Scala, using the excellent LibGDX game development framework.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#15Innovation(Jam)4.05
#16Overall(Jam)4.03
#33Fun(Jam)3.74
#102Graphics(Jam)3.86
#129Audio(Jam)3.41
#169Mood(Jam)3.29
#175Humor(Jam)2.59
#236Theme(Jam)3.37

Comments

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:09am

Wow, very impressive.

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Just wow, that is fucking polished and feels very good! Great game!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:14pm

This is very impressive indeed. You have to develop this further, I was hooked.

pizzababies says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Absolute genius game. I had a similar idea a while ago, it's a shame I never followed through with it.

Clavus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Great game! The puzzles are real brain wranglers.

Walnoot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Very nice! Looks very polished.

Madball says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:58pm

There seems to be no end? Anyway, great game, and kinda challenging. I liked animation, it seems to be flawless.

DST says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Awesome mechanics!

Jonny D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:14pm

That was very nice. After the 5th one or so, I figured out a strategy that optimized my thinking effort, though. Then it was no problem to breeze through the next few billion levels.

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Thanks for the positive comments, all!

Madball: no, there's no end. I'd love to set up a concrete set of levels so there's clear progression and something to work towards, but alas, only 72 hours.

Jonny D: I'm not sure I've gotten that good at the game yet. There's definitely a difficulty ceiling once you've got the hang of it, but I still take a while to solve the later puzzles.

hardycore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:40pm

I like it! Quite impressive and weird. A bit tricky too!!!

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:01pm

hard and good!

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Very, very nice. I shall definitely play more.

lody says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:15pm

I agree you should continue to develop this. I was hooked! I would buy this as a phone/tablet app in a second. Very nice work!

sirdorius says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Impressive! And to think you made it in scala... wow. I want this on my mobile phone!

Hiku says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Really good.

dook says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:43pm

This is just great! Good graphics, animation, music and a really good interpretation of the theme :)

zazery says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Outstanding game! Reminds me of SpaceChem.

It took me awhile to realize I needed to drag a component onto a vat because I thought I needed to rearrange them on the board. The in game tutorial is very well done otherwise and the level design is smart.

stqn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:08am

Very nice, good graphics and music and interesting gameplay! The game didn’t explain that I could modify the machines the first time, so I got stuck a bit on the third level or so. It would be nice to know the current level number and to be able to skip through the tutorial, and also if the levels were ordered by difficulty :).
When it started to be a bit complex (4 machines) it didn't feel that fun anymore (too many possibilities).

manax says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:25am

Well done. I love these sorts of machine/process puzzle games.

Did run into a case which seemed unsolvable: The only 1/2 machine that produced the necessary result, created 2 shapes...

whilefun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Seriously amazing job. This has depth, fun, and is a very good use of the theme. Well done, I will be coming back to this game. I hope you pursue it further after the jam :)

imagnity says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Man!!!! This is truly a good game. I mean it! And hey! it's libgdx. Who doesn't like that? :)

derdragon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:44pm

I just spent... WAY too much time playing that. My only gripe might be that you're able to do TOO much, and it takes away a little from the feeling of accomplishment (at least for me). Obviously up my alley though, I've been playing it for at least the past half-hour.

mtthwcmpbll says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:00am

This doesn't seem to work for me on my mac. I've got a stack trace that says "org.lwjgl.LWJGLException: Could not get the JAWT interface". It looks like it might be related to having Java 7 installed? If you could, I'd zip up a version with a JRE packaged up and a startup bat/shell script to use that java.

JustinMullin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:22am

Hey mtthwcmpbll - thanks for the heads up. I'll see if I can't set up a version with a bundled JRE. Sorry in the meantime, OS/X+Java 7 users!

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:45am

Very well done and challenging! I am impressed by this one!

uberneen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:29am

Very good. This has a complete and polished feel.

ecool377 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:50am

Really Cool game, think it needed more minimal graphics though but really fun.

cahman says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:51am

Extremely good! I don't think I'd change a thing.

JustinMullin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:52am

Hey, no one ever said "Minimalism" meant minimal graphics! The theme is open to interpretation. =)

Rose says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:01am

Very nice! I love to see puzzle games in LD. It was tricky until I got the hang of it, and then easy, especially with more converters. I did get stuck on a level that I think was impossible, though - it wanted a single yellow piece, but no converter could output a single yellow piece.

May 2, 2013 @ 3:05am

Very cool and impressive! :D nice work bro!

oldtopman says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:12am

Pretty complex, it reminds me of SpaceChem. Very cool though.

Salamander3 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:55am

Incredibly polished game, with interesting mechanics, and fitting into the theme solidly. Perfect.

dotteri says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:15pm

awesome puzzle game

robotality says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Really nice game mechanic, feels well polished and well thought out. Would love to see this on my Android phone!

EggDestroyer says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:37am

This game is great. It may lack IMO some difficulty progression and sometimes puzzles seems to be too much optimisable to be interesting, but it's really hard to achieve this sort of things with so little time. Apart from that, the level of polish is quite, and the "minimalism" part is smart. Well done !

patrickward says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:57am

Wow, I love this. Very relaxing and enjoyable game. I almost lost time playing it! The initial walk through was useful. The graphics and audio were very appropriate for each other. This was one of the best puzzle games I've played so far. Very well done. I'm impressed!

Ragzouken says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Really interesting game! It was a little too long for my liking (I didn't play long enough to see if there was any story to see).

JustinMullin says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Yes, the game is supposed to be infinite, and puzzles are randomly generated. Some of the later dialogue hints at that fact, but it's not made explicit. I'm sorry for any pain that may cause for those who just really really need closure. ;)

Rafael Sales says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Fantastic puzzle! Really innovative and fun. Congratulations!

May 12, 2013 @ 4:40am

Smart game and I must say it's a solid effort in terms of design and polish for a game jam.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:28am

Good concept.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:55am

wow that was a really great game -- awesome

Purplescape says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Very polished puzzle game! Seriously challenging for my brain.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]