Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 26

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rex Galaxy and the SpaceSkull - Ret44 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls: Arrow Keys - movement, Ctrl / Z - shooting. Shoot to start the game.


Rex Galaxy and the SpaceSkull is remake of nonexistent game for a nonexistent game console based of nonexistent action science-fiction comedy adventure political thiller blockbuster. The movie tells the story about Rex Galaxy - defender of the stars. His mentor, Dickard sends him to the outer systems to fight with SpaceSkull, the evil skull from outer space. Together with his companion Loia Mergana, and his faithful robot Fender, he travels through time and space to find his destiny. This game recreates the climatic finale, when Rex flies through asteroid belt to face the SpaceSkull.

Big thx to guys from Blue-Brick for organizing live jam in their studio, an providing professional equipment and hosting. Also great thanks to anyone who attended on Ludum Dare 26 Lodz!

View Ret44's journal. | View all entries by Ret44

Ratings

Coolness71%
#230Humor2.81
#337Mood3.17
#393Theme3.70
#423Fun3.13
#694Audio2.46
#721Overall3.00
#770Graphics2.75
#1204Innovation2.11

Comments

3.14 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Defeatet the boss twice, scored over 3500. How can beat this?

zompi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Old console = minimalism. Good controls, nice shooting, rather difficult. Just fun ;)

sfernald says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Remind me of astrosmash from the Intellivision! Good job replicating the 8bit console era. Definitely minimal back then, lol.

ToastyAbraham says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Awesome boss at the end but needed more variation in it's attacks top keep the fight interesting

Robert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Now _that's_ a retro game.

aare says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:01pm

I love the effect that collecting powerups has on the ship. There is no such thing as to many spaceships :P

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:12am

Was a nice shooter, definitely fit the theme. The sounds were a little repetitive and I would say include the story in the game because that adds to the feel of something else going on. Other than that, Nice job!

evoker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Love the retro aesthetics. Bonus points for the box art.

elbowroom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Very good entry, I liked the style and the mood of the game. The gameplay was a bit unbalanced and boss battles could use more work (too predictable and easy).

rxi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Loved the box art, I recall seeing it during the 48hours in one of your posts.

Very nostalgic feel to it. I think some of the collision detection was a little off (when the boss is firing at you for example) though this feels like it added to ghetto feeling of playing old Atari 2600 games.

robotality says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:56pm

you captured the atari feeling really wonderful -> Childhood memories. And damn it was hard. :D overall great game.

jacklehamster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Perhaps for your next game, one thing you should know is that CTRL+ARROW on a Macbook is a shortcut that switches to a different screen. So yeah, I kept running into that when playing this game.

Ret44 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:51pm

@jacklehamster - Thanks, good to know about that. I've added additional fire button under the 'Z' key.

vilya says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:21pm

How are you supposed to start the game? Space didn't work, nor enter. I eventually tried mashing every button on the keyboard and one of them started it, but I've no idea which. Likewise for firing. I'm a bit puzzled...

Waynetron says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Took me a while to find the button that starts it! Turns out it was ctrl. Also CTRL-ARROW is not very good on the mac. Keeps activating the switch screen stuff.

berareu says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:00am

Nice retro game! I really liked that to kill the boss you have to destroy him pixel by pixel...very cool!

May 4, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Good Job!

onzephyr says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:46pm

matched the atari esthetic well. bonus points for the great box art.

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Freakin Space skull. Nice work on this. almost an Atari Classic!

paulopn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Awesome work on the boxart and on getting the Atari "feeling". It was a bit imbalanced, though...A bit too hard during the stage and too easy during the boss. Also, for some reason, the ship goes down a level when you enter the boss fight.
Fun =D

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Loved the retro feel of the game. Fits the theme really well.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:23am

cool game -- throw back to old games -- even the sound effect -- great!

swizzcheez says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:42pm

A spectacular use of the theme. Felt very Atari.

GarethIW says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Extremely retro in-game and on the boxart! I found the green ships to have too high a rate of fire though. Either that or I suck.

alts says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 6:25am

Just a note, respawning doesn't seem to work in Firefox. Switched to Chrome and it worked. Might want to look into that.

Jesse111 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:26pm

I love the attention to classic games.
Was the destructible boss a Gorf reference?
Is Dickard an AVGN reference?
Good job!
Seemed like there might have been a bit of a bug with the powerups - My ship would randomly revert to a single ship and then be unable to become a double or triple ship again.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]