April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Desaturation

by alfie275 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There is a readme packaged along with the game, but I'll post the controls here just incase:

WASD - Move
Mouse - Look
Control - Toggle mouse focus
Shift - Double walk speed
Escape - Exit from a painting (required if you get into an unwinnable situation).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1828Coolness22%

Comments

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Game doesn't run right for me, it just shows a large black area with a white rectangle at the top. Doesn't seems to respond to input.

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:08pm

I dig the style, nice use of primary colors, and it's quite unique.

Need a whooole lot of patience for this though, as it seems to move kinda slow, especially when pushing the blocks and having no sense of how it's positioned compared to the other blocks.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:47pm

This an interesting experiment. Good work.

2kah says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Doesn't work for me, window is just filled grey and doesn't seem to respond to any input.

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Yeah, same problem as 2kah here.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Great game, loved the mechanic! Could have done with a tutorial and some music and would have been 5/5! :)

petrocket says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Same here - grey screen - couldn't play :(

TriBeard says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:27pm

I just see a grey screen with my mouse input locked?

someone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:48pm

While the game runs in Wine, it is impossibly slow. Even holding shift still takes forever to get anywhere. Gave up after finally completing the first level. Cool concept though.

Bernhard says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Gray screen issue on WinXP 32 Bit and straight crash "Desaturation.exe has stopped working" on Win8 64 Bit...

MuffinTrap says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Could not runt the game on
Win7 64 bit

May 2, 2013 @ 6:58pm

I didn't really manage to understand anything about the game :(

PsenFilip says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Game is not working. Stuck on gray screen.
Windows 7.

May 6, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Got stuck on some black screen with a white ~square (?) after starting. Win XP 32bit.

Make A Game says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:15pm

I like the Mondrian-like style.
The things I missed were a tutorial and a background tune =).
Good job

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:20am

Good game, and nice style. Do you know the game Thirteen gates maybe you will like it. http://ian.janasnyder.com/13gates.html

klianc09 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:01am

Why does this have to be in first person? I think this would have been better as a simple 2D puzzler. And I had to read the comments to know what I had to do.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]