April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

We Dreamers

by stevejohnson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is an abstract multiplayer art piece. The game works as intended in Chrome, Firefox, and IE 10 (maybe 9 too). It should still play acceptably in Safari (though not as prettily). I plan to do a more in-depth postmortem and visualization of the resulting content in the next couple of weeks, so send me an email (steve+ld@steveasleep.com) if you'd like me to send you a note when that happens.

Things you can do:

1. Move with the arrow keys or WASD.
2. Harvest color with space.
3. Dig out new rooms by bumping into walls. You need color to do this. The new room will be the color of your dot, which is affected by the color in your bucket.
4. Dump color with r, g, and b (or 1, 2, and 3) to change the color of your dot.
5. Leave notes on rooms (if you are level 2).
6. Put down big block letters (if you are level 3).

Watch the sidebar for how to level up.

Enjoy yourself...and be at peace.

FYI: When the world gets big, it looks pretty cool to zoom your browser out. As the world gets bigger, the game will take longer to load. I've provided a version with about 20% of the data (only the interesting stuff) in case you're having a hard time loading or running it. (There are NO code changes in that version, only less user data.)

Read my journal for technical info.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#6Innovation4.38
#210Mood3.36
#238Overall3.51
#464Audio2.85
#492Theme3.60
#549Humor2.23
#650Graphics2.92
#769Fun2.75

Comments

Rongon says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Really nice idea, and implementation is JavaScript at its finest :)
I like creating own world games (even better if colorful), but is there a victory condition, or limit to digging?

stevejohnson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:17am

The only limit to digging is...your imagination! Victory is just unnecessary clutter. Minimal is best. :-D

(Thanks for playing!)

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:33am

Interesting, I didn't know what I was doing but I felt chilled out =D Had to use 2 different nicks because IE9 didn't work and moving to Chrome wouldn't let me use the previous one.

Deadlyapps says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37am

Awesome stuff. Really impressive technical aspect.

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:38am

Nice bit of minimalist brain rot. Have some upstars.

evelyn-jolli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:45am

this is a good gam

wrongcoder says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:50am

Neat. Quite unique. Technologically a marvel for the available time. To be honest, though, I don't get the purpose of it.

StuStutheBloo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:52am

WrongCoder I left you a bunch of messages in rooms but you didn't reply :(

This was fantastic. How did you even put this together in the time available?

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:30pm

I really enjoyed my play session. Had a good time reading all kind of different messages and just messing around.
I love the collaborative stuff and the openness. Art is cool and the sound is charming. It is also a nice piece of tech.

Legogris says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Cool stuff with Firebase!
I have just started checking out BaaSes myself and this just reinforces my idea of just how fast you can get up and running to prototype new concepts. Haven't seen Bacon.js before, looks interesting. Would be nice to see some more in-depth post-mortem on this :)

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Ooh, collaborative art! I liked the idea and of course took the liberty of leaving my mark on the world. Makes me happy! Thanks!

stevejohnson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:09pm

I really appreciate all your comments. Glad it makes a positive impression. I'll try to do a more in-depth postmortem and data visualization in the next couple of weeks. Send me an email (see game description) if you want to be notified when that happens.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:30am

That's a neat thing! I actually don't have anything intellectual to say about it. I'm sorry Steve, I was wrong. I shouldn't have shouted.

It might be cool to make a way for people to have a local version of this for their own social group. I don't know what that would achieve, it just seems like it would work somehow.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:31am

There is something very cheerful about this game. As far as I can tell you don't "win" you just smile :)

stevejohnson says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:03am

Mac users may have to run with "arch -i386 python poke.py", possibly using the Python from python.org (not the system Python, which is only 64-bit). Alternatively, you could try distributing with pyglet 1.2alpha.

Anyway, I was thoroughly entertained. :-D

stevejohnson says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:03am

Oh jeez, I meant to leave that comment on another game.

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:07am

Interesting.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:20am

It seems that it's offline? Stays a white screen here.

elbowroom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Currently stays a white screen for me as well.

stevejohnson says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Hmm, seems to still be up for me. Browser details would be helpful.

stqn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:49am

Original. The scrolling was really slow in Firefox 20 (Linux / Intel hd graphics).

cardboard says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:00am

I love open-ended and creative games! I had fun just wandering around reading everyone else's notes. I might have to come back later to do some more exploring ;)

May 2, 2013 @ 11:37am

Wow, beautiful. Defies definition. Thank you!

Hegemege says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Fun! Felt a bit like geocaching :P

gerritg says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Now that's a fun guestbook :D

stevejohnson says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:05am

Details and postmortem are here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/05/04/how-i-made-a-realtime-multiplayer-art-piece-in-48-hours-and-how-it-turned-out/

hughsk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:21am

Really interesting, great to see an entry like this :)

SnoringFrog says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:26am

This is beautiful. Found some really awesome messages, had fun following a huge tunnel dug by Lies, and then spent some time extending it even further myself. Tried to make sure to leave some inspiration bits around too. Amazing stuff, I love it.

TenTonToon says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:08am

As someone else pointed out, this is an awesomely artsy guestbook. A very neat idea, and a technical prowess for the time constraints, that shows you've got some deadly programming chops.

All in all, a nice collaborative experience, very fitting of the theme. I'm just not too much into games without any gameplay to them - yeah, the ages old debate about games as art :)

Congratulations! :)

caranha says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:32pm

That is a very interesting entry, and I loved the technical details.

I think it would be kind of cool if there was some sort of "decay", so that after a few days, some of the painted cells would go white and then fill again - as to keep the instalation fresh.

Also, having some sort of minimap or full view mode would be really great. (The browser's native zoom doesn't go very far...)

Thanks for the game!

shiprib says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:08am

Great original idea, and congrats on getting it done in the timeframe!

Chronodrax says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:17am

I just had the most interesting conversation with a wall, containing soul fragments of past dreamers.
It's like a dream: you cannot predict what you will find, but you'll always walk on the path of an interesting weird journey.
THANK YOU stevejohnson.

Oh. And too bad that the sound reacts sometimes badly when travelling to many successive tiles of various colors. It makes it hard to create music :D

pvwradtke says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:32am

Took me a while to find out how to fig rooms. After that, things went a bit better :). Nice experiment you got there, liked the idea of interacting with the world and seeing what others left there before.

galman says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:31am

Great concept! I really like it, I'll be happy to see what happen with this game a month from now ;)

atraxgames says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:58pm

So this is a unique world for all players? Like an artistic MMO? This is extra-cool, a piece of art made by people around the world

evilDan says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:32am

Damn dude! That is clever - took quite a while to figure out the controls though. Impressive overall!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]