April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cruxton

by twelveplusplus - Jam Entry

**UPDATE** I uploaded a new version of the game where the asteriods in Stage 1-2 blow apart as they are supposed to... i consider it a bug fix because... ummm i didn't know why the asteriods were doing whatever they were doing before... and now they are doing what i meant for them to do! :D I hope that's ok.

**UPDATE** I put up an android port in .apk format. if anybody gets that to run, lemme know how it works. I think you need to right-click save-as.

hiya! i thought i would post this since it is definitely what i was working on over the weekend... it's pretty minimal, too... for now! i think the basic premise is the 80s and space but with perspective camera.

I am making the assets, (more or less) procedurally, in Houdini and the engine is Unity.

All the music is made with Cakewalk Sonar and Rapture and Dimension Pro and Zeta+ 2 and Izotope Ozone.

sound fx are made with sfxr, because really... who doesn't make all their sound fx with sfxr or some derivative thereof?

Stage 1-1 is pretty much just ships flying at you, but i will certainly make them do some more interesting things...

Stage 1-2 is gonna be asteroids splitting you know, standard stuff..

Stage 1-3 is a floating defense base.

Stage 2-1 the planet scales in

Stage 2-2 there is a burning atmospheric entrance

Stage 2-3 is a fluffy cloud level

Stage 3-1 is over the ocean

Stage 3-2 is over a rocky desert

Sage 3-3 is a cave

Stage 4-1 is a circuit board land

Stage 4-2 is a monitor battle

Stage 4-3 is a super trippy projection world (like you fly into the broken monitor)

I'm pretty sure i need some limited animation anime cutscenes with cute but kind of battle scarred characters too...

Eventually, i intend to publish it to Android and iOS.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#239Audio(Jam)3.00
#285Graphics(Jam)3.14
#305Mood(Jam)2.82
#391Fun(Jam)2.57
#394Overall(Jam)2.82
#504Innovation(Jam)2.07
#533Theme(Jam)2.25
#1535Coolness40%

Comments

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:02am

This game is hard!

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:22am

Its very easy. Seems like every level is the same at the moment and you can just move left to right and kill everything before it gets anywhere near you. Level 3 seems endless.

May 5, 2013 @ 10:56pm

hehe, yeah, it's very easy, i'm working on it though. this is my first game I've made in a very long time. I'm mostly trying to figure out how everything works with Unity. I just made it so enemies can shoot at you... that makes it a lot harder :)

May 5, 2013 @ 10:58pm

(also, obviously, the list of levels have not been implemented yet!)

yellowlemming says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Pretty nice simplistic game. I must say that being able to restart from in the game would be a lot better than having to refresh the page every time I die

burtlo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:17pm

I'm always getting killed by the ships that are about parallel with me (just before they fly off screen) as I can't dodge their shots.

swizzcheez says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Nice quick shoot-em-up.

geckojsc says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Pretty cool game! Well done for making a 3D project. The music was nice too. I found that there's no cooldown after being hit by an enemy, so if you have 3 or 4 bullets firing towards you at once, you lose all your lives and the game ends.

Kvisle says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:24pm

The game is very hard - harder than mine, and I don't make it very far. I like that the game renders from a different perspective than the common space shooter; It makes me think that there's probably a market for it.

May 9, 2013 @ 4:53am

@geckojsc: yeah that is pretty much a bug. I fixed that and will upload. Also, i made an android port with autofire and accelerometer controls. also... ummm the asteroids in stage 1-2 are supposed to blow apart... not do that thing they do... although that's kind of neat too... sort of.

May 9, 2013 @ 6:02am

This is tooo hard man, I believe you can easily make it easier to appeal a larger audience. I didn't manage to complete even the first stage :( One of the main things making it difficult is the fact that opponent's projectiles almost don't differ visually from ours, so when you fire a bunch you actually can't see the important ones flying on you. Anyway I like graphics, how you did the perspective, quite unusual for this genre! :)

May 9, 2013 @ 8:07am

thanks alex, yes they are supposed to be different colors, i'm not sure what happened with that, but i will fix it for sure. also, i have not spent any time balancing the difficulty. I will do that so that each stage has a nice excitement curve.

FrederickK says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:25pm

cool, but hard..

Brassawiking says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 6:46pm

First shoot-em up in a while that actually tries to make sure you are dead :P Got killed in many cheap shots, worst one was one shooting me from the behind after the ship left the screen. Didn't come very far but i looks like you put a lot of content into this, kudos on that!

May 13, 2013 @ 8:24pm

yes, the shooting from behind is pretty terrible... I guess I should fix that... at least in the first level! haha.. I definitely wanna keep working on it until it's more balanced.

remember, this is supposed to be like an 80s game. games were much harder back then! :D

JustinMullin says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:54pm

I am very very bad at this game. xD It's a fairly generic scrolling shooter, but it's enjoyable, and I like the 3d perspective you've got going here.

HeyChinaski says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Nice work on the sound and music! The ships look pretty great too. I found it quite tough from the start, perhaps there could be less ships moving slower at the start?

May 15, 2013 @ 9:01am

HeyChinaski! I definitely want to put in waves of enemies so there is a nice interest curve to the whole game as well as each level...

I hadn't designed it like that at first, the same gameObject was just recycled over and over for each enemy. I need to think about a good way to implement enemy spawning...

right now there isn't even a moving camera (the stars are a particle system)...

davidpeter says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:51pm

The enemies shooting at me always got me :(

The perspective was interesting. I felt like the gameplay needed an extra dimension to it -- like a special weapon that you see in most shooter games.

May 17, 2013 @ 5:11am

ha, yeah, now that you mention it, i'm adding power-ups right now.

ilo says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Some very unfair shots! :) It seems like they shoot faster the closer the ship is to the player too. I really like the music, and the perspective is neat.

TurboDindon says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Not easy shoot-em-up! :D
Is there a boss at the end of the level ?

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

May 20, 2013 @ 8:57pm

haha, damn... there is a boss battle in my head... haha there will be. i started coding a boss battle, but it isn't done yet. I'm definitely gonna get this game in pretty ok status and post it on google play... cuz... why not?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]