April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Potato The Destroyer

by Cory Martin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Potato The Destroyer is a minimalistic action platformer. Although the world is quite minimalistic, Potato has a desire to make it more so.

Z to jump.
X to shoot.
Left and Right arrow keys to move.
Down arrow key to open and unlock doors.

Tools used:
Stencyl
Logic Pro 9 with Korg M50
BFXR
Adobe Photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#59Graphics4.11
#128Audio3.49
#201Humor2.92
#344Overall3.39
#351Fun3.21
#353Mood3.15
#1158Theme2.77
#1245Innovation2.03

Comments

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:49am

Great graphics and level design! POTATO4LIYF

Scott McBee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:21am

Love the art style, a bit hard, though.

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:26am

Found your game from the Stencyl forums! I love the potato graphics. They're so adorable.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:35am

Nice work! Hard as hell though. Perhaps the carrots could have shot little less frequently. The boss battle was epic though and made up for it. I liked the sounds and music.

and dat ending.

Orni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:47am

Potatos are awesome - so is this game.
well done, I dig the graphical style of it

dissonance says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:59am

Great art! A little hard, but good job!

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:19am

Nice graphics, really hard though. A rapid fire option would have been nice, or the enemy bullets could have been a bit slower. Shoulda coulda woulda. :) The boss fight was well designed, one of the best bosses I've fought in a while. And the bit with the moving platforms was a very well designed level.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:48am

nice!

Narayan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:59am

Very cool game

omaha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:45pm

if only he was shooting a potato gun...

great game.

Colorvade says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:00pm

good fun, good art, good stuff!

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Really really nice pixel art. Very hard game though. I didn't finish it I'm afraid.

IndieRetro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Love this, I get a very mega man kind of feel from it, really fun, hard and unforgiving, just my type of game :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Lovely art, nice to play! I feel that the potato baddies shoot slightly too frequently, I think it makes it harder than it possibly needs to be as it seems the only way to kill them is to time your jumps with extreme precision? Love that the lil' ground runner dudes have inertia when changing direction.

brxtr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Tasty pixels and nice fitting music. After playing this game I can say I now have more chance of beating a carrot in a shoot-off.

vidarn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Great stuff! Lovely palette and tight gameplay. A solid game.

LionelJitro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Really nice, minimalistic platformer.

Sounds, music and art really go well together.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Very well put together! My only complaint is that it's too damned hard!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:24am

Gah! So tough XD Gameplay was spot on retro, though it seemed to lag a bit (possibly because I have a gazillion tabs open right now). Level design was simple but challenging, and the graphics were very crisp and distinctive.

JFlegle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:55am

Great game.

omaromeir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:38am

Awesome graphics, well-designed levels and a really polished entry. Bravo!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:06pm

A lot of fun, but too hard

jolle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Good stuff, but the gun fights are a bit annoying.

mchaza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Great graphics, just hard to shoot enemies tho.

aaronmueller says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Awesome, very smooth and polished!

KevinZuhn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:25pm

I thought it played well, and I really liked the charging enemies and the boss potato. The timing for fighting the gunner carrots took some getting used to, but mostly I was allowed to jump and shoot them from safety so it wasn't unfair.
It's a solid game, though aside from the ending I'm not feeling the theme much!

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:36pm

cool game and sweet graphics. enjoyed playing it.

NAMKCOR says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:56am

Performance was a bit off, I kept getting frame locks. Otherwise not bad.

PAMVllo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Kinda laggy for me =/

PAMVllo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Kinda laggy for me =/ But still a realy god game!

May 3, 2013 @ 6:45am

Graphics and audio were hot. I really wanted to play more of this, but got frustrated with the combat. It's too hard/tedious to avoid enemy shots and the checkpoints are far enough apart to make me stop. Super slick entry though and again the art is fantastic.

Rongon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Standard platform with really great art. Just not really into theme.

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Great platformer! Very challenging, too. The animations are hilarious!

michail says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Classic one :) It's a little too hard / too precise though.

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Arghhh they keep shooting me! :C Appealing art style.

_Rilem says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Really like the graphics, the potato is so lovable
It's very difficult though. It took me three tries to kill the first enemy :P

rsodre says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:31pm

NEAT!!

zkenshin says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Really cute art style. :)

May 3, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Fun and well made. My x-pressing finger wasn't very fond of the boss fight, but the button mashing does work well with the retro appeal. Can't really see how it's in theme though - having pixelated graphics does hardly count.

May 3, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Lovely! Though quite hard

Wiering says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:27am

Great game! But very hard, I couldn't beat the boss level.

Would be nice to be able to choose other keys.

Knighty says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:43am

Really fun game. I didn't think it was too hard, the difficulty was perfect. I liked how killing the enemies relied on careful timing, instead of just mashing the shoot button.

wzl says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Pretty difficult game. The enemies shoot-interval is pretty short which makes it hard to jump inbetween and shoot at the same time, let alone hitting them. Nothing wrong with difficulty really, but you need your time to get accustomed to the rhythm of the game.
Sweet entry anyways :)

Cory Martin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Thanks for all the feedback, everyone! I released a post-competition version of the game that features an easier difficulty mode and another control setup among other improvements. Just make sure you don't rate the Ludum Dare entry based on that.

rujo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:40pm

great graphics and solid retro style gameplay

Jeremias says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Nice graphics and background music. I played it with my gamepad, that felt way better (Y and Z are swapped on german and other country's keyboard layouts). The game is really too difficult. Every level should be full of checkpoints. I think, Ludum Dare entries should have something like an emergency button to get invulnerable or to skip the level. Additional, the enemies shoot too fast.

After I made my rating and my comment, I played your post-compo and... yeah. Exactly what was missing :D

barkergames says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:05am

The controls were very hard to get used to, I suggest making up jump. It would make it feel more natural.

dector says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:03am

Wanna play it somewhere on console :)

atraxgames says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Very cute graphics!

8BitPimp says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Nice game and solid mechanics.

TurboDindon says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:25am

Very cool graphics.
But very hard. I used more than 10 lives to finish the first level! It's very difficult to target the carrots correctly.
x'D

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

TheSheep says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Jump jump, shoot shoot, dodge dodge, die. I suck at platformers, especially when the enemies have as many hitpoints as I do.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:06am

great game -- very hard

Roupette says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Simple, funny, so potatly !

Beldarak says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Nice game, but I kept getting stuck in a block before the second monster (the first block on a pillar).

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]