April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Right Side of the Road

by ethankennerly - Jam Entry

RIGHT SIDE OF THE ROAD

In Britain, drive on the LEFT.
In USA, drive on the RIGHT.
To switch lanes, CLICK or press SPACE.

Can you guess which nation you are by the word?

Warning signs mean there is something you need to pass.

Too easy? Press SHIFT+2 to double the speed.
Too hard? Press SHIFT+3 to halve the speed.
Press SHIFT+1 to return speed to normal.

Press number 0 to mute sound.

A game made in two days by Duncan Robson and Ethan Kennerly
at the Museum of Art & Digital Entertainment.
http://themade.org

Music was generated by Ben's script: autotracker_bu.py

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#58Humor(Jam)3.29
#197Theme(Jam)3.48
#222Innovation(Jam)3.15
#259Graphics(Jam)3.25
#291Fun(Jam)2.83
#308Overall(Jam)3.02
#319Audio(Jam)2.73
#344Mood(Jam)2.71

Comments

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:06am

Educational, but fun.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Hey guys! Glad to see the finished product after jamming at the MADE this weekend! =)

Nolan C says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:29am

Great original concept. I laughed when the "chips" went by.

elektron says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:57pm

I really like the option to change the speed, it would've been way too slow for me otherwise.

foxor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:50am

Clever, but the timing is off (yes, I know you can change it).

Watch out for those tyres!

TheCze says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Very well done game, pretty hard but interesting when english is not your mother language.

rogueNoodle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Clever - now I know why I stay off the road as much as possible. I'm really bad at it :P The option to speed up and slow down was a really nice touch.

avalonknight says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:30am

I enjoyed the fact the game feels like it takes place on a road sign. I think I learned a little from this game. Good job.

fishbrain says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:33pm

i like the black, white and yellow scheme.

CyberYeti says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:34am

funny and fun to play, i really like the crashing animations and the sounds as well!

TenTonToon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:51am

Quite a bizarre entry... I'm still trying to wrap my head around the concept of having to guess which lane you're supposed to be driving in by identifying the origin of the words describing the vehicle you're about to encounter. It's kinda hard/unfair for the non-English speaking people, don't you think? And what surprises me more is that you sound like English is not your mother tongue, either. Genius or madness? Kudos for thinking outside of the box, anyway.

I like the visual style of the game, and the happy inclusion of a speed control; otherwise I may have fallen asleep at the wheel, and you know how dangerous that can be, people! :)

Keep it up!

tsb says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Funny game hahaaha

JohnnySix says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:28am

I liked the graphical style - would've liked some more sound effects for the passing vehicles, some honking etc would have been cool - if you were in the wrong lane. :D

ashdnazg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:12am

This is just plain awesome!

Or should I say splendid?

YSelf Tool says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Not fun. Much too slow.

ethankennerly says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:53am

@YSelf Tool, Yeah some other players also found it too slow. You can press Shift+2 to double the speed (and keep pressing it). You can effectively consider Shift+2 and Shift+3 as shifting gears, to speed up or slow down as you like.

nimblegorilla says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:04am

Very neat idea. I had a hard time adjusting to going up or down instead of left/right. Crashing was fun too.

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:09am

Amazing use of the road signs! Definitely minimal and resourceful :)

The speed up was awesome, felt like I was crushing other cars at hundreds of kph! Very fun!

joe40001 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:29am

Clever, I liked it.

Leginar says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:10am

Man, my Canadian english forced me to think twice a couple of times :D. Very original concept. I had a lot of fun with this one, and will definitely recommend it to some friends :).

paulopn says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:48am

Interesting idea, I like it!

Xanjos says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Rules can be a bit confusing at times but I loved the actual inspiration behind the concept and the overall gameplay was pretty addictive.

Merkoth says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:29pm

I really liked this one, very good job guys!

Brassawiking says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Smart and novel idea. The graphical style is also very good and everything feels like a road sign.

May 12, 2013 @ 7:26pm

It's interesting that you decided to let the player change the speed manually, I found this decision a bit weird

marnaouf says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:13pm

really awesome game. I love the whole British and American word thing. Really clever and fun

MrShoestore says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:55pm

i'm an american that watches too much british telly for this to not be confusing. i do think an outrun style POV would have been helpful. but this was still fun

dalbinblue says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Simple solid game. I think I need a speed somewhere in between the normal and next higher setting, as the default speed was too slow, but I did portly the next speed up (might be because I am tired though).

Mesene says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:05pm

graphics and gameplay fits the theme, first crash surprised me :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:47am

Nice! Um.

Sebastian says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Love the idea! Graphics are cool and audio was alright, though I would have liked a few more sound effects.

EggDestroyer says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Wouldn't be fair to note "overall & fun" : as a non-native English speaker, I can't keep up. But I enjoyed the style of the game and its idea, both strange and interesting.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Strange and fun.

wonderwhy-er says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Lol, funny idea :D :D :D

May 17, 2013 @ 10:00pm

I think it's rather cool, but also quite difficult... quite unbelievable difficult where it should not be, actually...! ;)

Puccini says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 7:17pm

I don't like it very much. It isn't the great game but it's funny.

henrykun says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 12:45am

Very nice game, I really felt the impact of the collision when I lost haha nicely done.

deathray says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:42pm

I was killed by fries on wheels! (score 291 on my first try) It's a very basic but fun game for 1 or 2 tries. Maybe you could make it so when you beat the main game it adds more countries!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]