April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal RPG

by Spotlightor Gao - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I try to minimize the RPG core game-play and graphics in this entry. However I could only implement the battle part during the 48hrs compo - April 27, 28 are working days in China.

[How to play]

1. There is only one HP bar (the red one) for your character, no MP.
2. The grey bar under HP is "action bar". You can do action when it's empty.
3. When it's your turn to do an action, white arrows will appear.
4. You can click the monsters directly, and it'll lose HP equal to your "Damage" stats - so called Attack.
5. You can also choose a skill (spell) to use. The orange one can be used to attack monsters while the green ones will heal your damage.
6. Skill doesn't cost MP, but you need some TIME to charge it.
7. When you click a skill button, the blue bar will appear and show you the charging progress.
8. The skill charge time will be "Skill Time" - "Skill SPD"(in seconds). So, the higher your "Skill SPD" is, the better you are at using skills.
9. Heal skills will be fired automatically when charging complete.
10. Attack skills need you to click the target monster after charging.


[Hint]

1. Monsters and your character is randomized each play.
2. High "Damage" makes a good warrior, while good "Skill SPD" is crucial to skill users.
3. Bat is small and fast, so it's a little harder to attack (click), use range skill like fire ball.


==================================================
Sorry for the long introduction, I really hope you could find some interesting game play after reading this.

GUI style is inspired by Windows 8.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#543Innovation3.13
#545Theme3.55
#594Humor2.18
#657Fun2.87
#663Graphics2.90
#664Overall3.07
#781Audio2.31
#913Mood2.52

Comments

shohs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Interesting take on the RPG genre. I liked the minimalist graphics style, and the monsters floating around the playing field was pretty unique.
I have a few suggestions: it could have used an in-game introduction of some sort for the first battle to get used to the mechanics. Also, the screen was too big vertically, so I had to zoom out to see it all.

McBeef says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:50pm

BAAAAATS!!! I hate bats in games. I missed them a lot. Great idea. I can see a whole game developed around this. A turn-based skill & reflex rpg.

Diventurer says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Ugh, the controls were very annoying to me. I don't know if I just misunderstood - but this wasn't fun to play for me, sorry. :/

May 1, 2013 @ 12:07pm

I love your game and the concept the game is building on. I have not seen that before and I love it. I had a hard time getting away from it :)

May 1, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Interesting take on the stripped back RPG!

daandruff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:22pm

I liked the simple style but felt it was a bit to random. I felt the bouncing around of the enemies was a bit distracting. Did it add anything to the gameplay?

TeamSleipnir says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Nice idea with the simple combat, however I kept fighting multiple dragons making it fairly hard. A bit too random for my taste.

Typedeaf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Really hard sometimes, especially against the dragons. The text on the skills could do to be a bit bigger. Liked the mobile layout, could be a great super-quick pick up and play, pause where you left off mini distraction for phones :)

HelkeGames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Cool concept, very minimalist great job :D

Idovoodoo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:14pm

The size of the game screen is a little odd so I had to zoom out to play properly but really nice idea. Well done! :)

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:15am

Well executed mechanics, but it got repetitive pretty quickly. I got slaughtered twice by a random hard spawn (or maybe I just sucked). I hope you keep with it, and flesh it out because it definitely has potential!

mattperrin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:18am

Kinda tough but a neat idea. I would love to have something like this on my cell phone to fire up for a few minutes here and there

tzamora says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:20am

Very cool, I really like it.

CrazyGage says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:32am

I love the graphical style! Good run, very clean-looking, without too much fluff, as appropriate to the theme.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:42am

I find this little rpg very well done, imo you can do something with this !

patrickward says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Once I figured out what to do, it was fun. I was anxious waiting for my turn! Nice, crisp graphics. The audio was minimal, which fit the graphics well. My only suggestion would be to add some simple instructions in the beginning for the clueless like myself. Well done!

berareu says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:56am

I like the combat mechanics, you could really use the for a full game!

Awennor says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:06am

I think the actions should be immediate and the delay should be applied later, other than that, pretty cool.

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Pretty much classic RPG combat distilled to it's basics.

mrexcessive says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Extremely good game. Nice to see timers given the prominence they deserve in RPG ! One or two very simple tutorial screens with a help text bubble shown would enable more to play immediately. No positional play here.

mrexcessive says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Extra comment: sometimes random moves generator gives no heal - that's not so bad, but sometimes it also gives no attacks! which is a problem

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]