April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hikkoshi

by joekinley - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Did you ever see japanese moving companies at work? Now's your chance to try it yourself.
Take the furniture and put them into the new room. But don't bump them anywhere or else you lost the game.

Play with Mouse and Keyboard.
Mouse click to take the furniture, place them on the brown floor only, SPACE to turn them clockwise.

Have fun.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#537Innovation3.14
#580Audio2.67
#880Mood2.56
#942Graphics2.55
#1022Theme3.00
#1143Overall2.55
#1185Fun2.18
#1594Coolness37%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34am

I can't make it with two simultaneously moving items. Any hints? :)

joekinley says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:04pm

It's not supposed to have two items moving simultaneously.
Hints? Well, be fast to pick up the stuff and try to stack it up in the middle.

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Haha that was random, I like it though! ^^

radmars says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:33am

It's like a crazy furniture based version of tetris

blackmagic says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:40am

very interesting, overall user experience a bit weird though, a little leveling system would have made it perfect !

Pixelsalt says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:43am

It wont run for me, just a white screen.

Jonny D says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:45am

Didn't seem to load on Chrome for some reason. I like the idea. A few things were frustrating. New items instantly hit items placed near the edge, L shapes take up a 2x2 area, and the collision shaping is greedy so you will hit things even when the graphics are not crossing any grid edges.

Granor says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:45am

Very nice game, hard to play with an touchpad though, but thats my fault. It would be great if the L couch would just take 3 Squares of space, so you can place a plant or someting in the free corner.

lorancou says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:57am

Him, this doesn't seem to work with Chrome. Probably the built-in flash player thing....

Mikel says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:05am

The control is a bit difficult... is there a winning condition? I can put 8 items but still more arriving

lorancou says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:48am

OK, got it to work with Firefox. This is a good idea, kind of a 2D Tetris. But it misses a score and/or a winning condition to keep you playing.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Interesting idea, but the controls are a bit unforgiving.

Xanjos says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Pretty interesting game concept. Bit of a slight learning curve with the controls though. Also, I think it could do with some sort of scoring system.

Ryusui says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:57am

Clever game - all it needs is expansion. And maybe a less deceptive shape for the 2-by-2 couches (I kept thinking they were L-shaped, but the game treated them as solid squares!)

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Ah! Interesting...

RedSounding says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:28am

The concept was hard to grasp at first but it has a kind of mind-pleasing effect to place the furniture. Scores or goals of some kind would be nice, but not failing is a goal, eh? High marks for humor since I live in Japan and have seen this type of maneuvering first hand...

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 4:03am

So random...I thought it was both annoying and hilarious how the furniture runs away from under your cursor xP

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]