April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Platform Jumper

by attagcatc - Jam Entry

Update: Since several people are having difficulty with the controls, I have added an updated version that improves them.

A very simple game were you need to avoid falling off the floating platforms.

To play you need to download Atanua from the link above and
read the readme in the Game Files for instructions on how to run.

Play Instructions
General information on how to play is onscreen in the game.
Note that: You are the pixel that starts in the top left corner and other pixels are platforms.
To move you need to hold the buttons down until the frame updates, as the frame rate is very low.

This was made only using digital logic. Being my first relatively complex digital circuit, I am quite happy with what I managed to make. There are many design flaws and I broke many digital design rules, but it is still playable (just) although the clock rate is less than I would have liked.
I was aiming for a competition entry, but ran out of time.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#37Innovation(Jam)3.88
#200Overall(Jam)3.32
#204Theme(Jam)3.47
#257Graphics(Jam)3.26
#258Humor(Jam)2.23
#315Audio(Jam)2.75
#329Mood(Jam)2.75
#368Fun(Jam)2.66

Comments

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:40am

Well, I'll be damned, someone did do it. Here's another month's license code for rating purposes: 015C00C8FAA01173B03533312122252A351A1BDB38CD1DC084E17265203335

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:18pm

I think I got it to run by downloading atanua etc. but it updated state pretty slowly.. slowly enough that I'm not entirely sure about the a-d-w keys. The restart does work intantly though. Respect for making an entry with such a different platform, fits the theme well. :D

Yorwba says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Awesome, just awesome.

attagcatc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Yeah unfortunately the frame rate is very low. To use the controls you need to hold the buttons down until the player moves, otherwise it won't work. I'll make that clearer in the description.

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:21am

I really like the way this one looks, haha. Though I've downloaded this atanua thing...I really don't know what it is.

Pinkerator says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:46am

Only using digital logic? :-O Wow!

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:24am

Really awesome! The atanua thing is strange... Must try it.

May 1, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Why run through atanua thing is some weird shit!

Cybearg says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:24pm

That's pretty awesome! I can't say I saw any result from holding any of the keys down (aside from restart), but it's pretty awesome to have a game based on virtual chips and stuff.

AlanZucconi says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Really nice! :)

sol_hsa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:15pm

attagcatc: you've given me reason to do some optimizations.. which is probably a good thing. Bad side: the optimizations needed aren't exactly trivial.. =)

In any case, I'm adding this to the Atanua distribution.

sol_hsa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:16pm

..you may want to email me a readme you want attached to it =)

attagcatc says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:48am

Glad to be of help =).

GarethIW says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:32am

Wow, that was ambitious! I love that LD throws up really cool stuff like this, well done :D

csanyk says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:44am

You really took minimalism down to the bare wire.

vrld says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 5:25pm

I take my hat off to you, sir or madam.

lorancou says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 5:45pm

This certainly wasn't easy to run but I'm glad I tried it. This is probably how games were done in the 60's :P 5 stars in theme! Shame is, I sure can go left and right, but pressing W doesn't make me jump. Maybe this is normal, both keys seem to be plugged to the same pin!

Congratulations!

ashdnazg says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 1:24am

I can barely imagine how to begin thinking of considering doing something as awesome as that.

Your work is truly inspiring!

(And I thought I was hardcore writing a game in batch!)

Frigolit says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:45am

Minimalistic in two ways really, simple game and no actual computer required if you were to build it as an actual circuit (although it might need some tweaks to work in reality).
As an electronics hobbyist I find this especially interesting (and amusing), keep up the very good work! :D

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 6:16pm

I think this is my favourite so far in terms of pure minimalism. And thanks for introducing me to Atanua! I may get my students modelling some circuits in their course with this next year.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]