April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Simplicity

by fishbrain - Jam Entry

Minimalist is the word. A very short 'Twine' piece.


Some background:

Excuses - pressed for time by life. Health crisis. Emergency Operation. Illeostomy. Renal Failure. Diagnosis: Aggressive Crohn's disease. Home from hospital Friday night.

Wanted desperately to submit something... but left it too late so it's become a Jam entry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#79Theme(Jam)3.85
#91Mood(Jam)3.57
#334Humor(Jam)1.91
#337Overall(Jam)2.95
#352Fun(Jam)2.70
#387Innovation(Jam)2.59
#467Audio(Jam)1.20
#544Graphics(Jam)1.87

Comments

metadept says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:38pm

The very essence of simplicity. I enjoyed the little story, though, and replayed it to try out different paths. Was fun trying to infer the situation from the minimal descriptions. Good job!

folmerkelly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:40pm

I liked it. The tone and mood were established and maintained throughout every new piece of information the game offered me. For a text-only game that's pretty much the most I would want out of it.

That said, I don't think that minimalist is the word. That's just my perception and I'm sure others will feel differently but to me the descriptions were vivid and image-conjuring enough to be considered not minimalist.

lanz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Nice piece! Kinda short, though.

fishbrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Cheers for the positive feedback!

Excuses - pressed for time by life. Health crisis. Emergency Operation. Illeostomy. Renal Failure. Diagnosis: Aggressive Crohn's disease. Home from hospital Friday night.

Wanted desperately to submit something... but left it too late so it's become a Jam entry.

recursor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:40pm

A little short, but very cool. I'd like to see lengthen the story.

Milktoast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Perfect amount of description to engage your brain. It fit the theme very well.

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:38pm

really minimalistic :)

Armix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:38am

I liked how, through exploring such actions and reading such descriptions, that I actively inferred my own imagination as a driving force behing the game. It acts almost like an soothing stimulant. I somehow really like the raw simplicity of the game. It just seems calming.

Plus I should probably make mention of the polish you included, as your game featured an appropriately dreamy text fade transition between the different stages of the game.

And wow, the loading time was phenomenally quick! ;P

finefin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:51am

oh I've played so many boring Twine games, but this one is actually fun to play (and to read). Even if it gives me the creeps... I also made my game because of a health crisis. very interesting to see how completely different we cope with it... but well, we also have completely different diseases.

very nice text adventure, dude, ...and get well soon!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:05am

Very good mood, i was really into it !

4BitLightning says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:24pm

It was like a framework of a story, interesting that you fill in the details yourself. Great use of the theme

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Simple, good audio, nice graphics, i liked it!

sick says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:11pm

I love text-based games, this one is especially good.

Qaterknan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Quite short but very good interpretation of the theme!

Sanguine says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Great mood, the game made me really curious. It could have been a bit longer though

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Hmm! Nice use of theme. Source link seems to be broken.

fishbrain says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:09am

Cheers. Fixed Source link.

Fenmar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:33am

Wow, I am positively surprised. The short sentences made my imagination run wild and create a very atmospheric experience.

I you want to add something, I'd suggest a soundtrack.

GranaDa says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Goood,Good work! A very smooth text adventure experience!!

someone says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Really enjoyed that. Good job.

belickim says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:03am

I enjoyed it. I guess it's a proof of how little you actually need to create an immersive story.

Muu? says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Multiple endings! :D

ethankennerly says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:02am

The brief descriptions informed and interested me. If you continue to develop this, I'd be curious about how to explore the backstory that got the protagonist in the initial condition, and revealing traits of the personality and relationships of the protagonist.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Minimal, yet somehow conveys a mood. Excellent.

May 12, 2013 @ 8:03pm

This is a very good minimalistic Twine game. Chilling and fairly original plot (at least in this particular medium), good writing, the right amount of branching. I enjoyed it a lot.

And I hope you're doing all right.

Misael.K says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:58pm

This was a bit too cryptic to my taste. While I think the main idea is clear, there's just too much information not shared. Maybe some sort of prologue and/or epilogue could work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]