April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Grand Theft Minimal

by krangGAMES - 48 Hour Compo Entry

v0.5 of a full product, thanks LD for the inspiration!

No "gameplay" per se, but it's pretty fun to drive around the city of Metrovan. Explore the park, find a fast car and jump across the docks, skulk through alleyways, hijack cars to your heart's content. Just don't fall in the water!

Also included is a development timelapse, and an image gallery with screenshots and in-dev pictures.

Enjoy <3

(Note: Source requires Adobe Flash and the Greensock Tweenmax and CasaLib .swc script libraries, both freely available yet not included in my source as I don't have redistribution permission)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#126Theme4.05
#196Overall3.58
#395Fun3.16
#497Graphics3.11
#890Innovation2.67
#1864Coolness20%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:51am

Surprising how well this idea works.

Nice work! Love the huge city. Car-variety is also quite cool

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59am

Really ambitious, it's good to see that you got the cars to waypoint.

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:16am

Probably the best use of the theme I've seen in 40-50 I've played. In its most basic stripped down state, THIS is GTA. Really superb job. Hope to see this go somewhere post comop.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:24am

K to Kill Yourself.

Hayawi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:01pm

It was pretty fun to play, but lacks any story of challenge after you get bored of cop cars, but pretty fun to play none the less

saint11 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:57pm

This is awesome! I had a lot of fun driving around in this :D I love the idea of making this painting into an actual city!

GertJohnny says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:39am

I went for a joyride in stanley park.

FunByJohn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:31am

Probably the best appropriation of Mondrian's work into a game I've ever seen :D this is so full of character, the few little easter eggs you've thrown in (yeah I drove all the way around the dark to see what those white pixels were in the map-image you posted earlier :D ) and the various kinds of cars.

I played a couple of earlier builds of this game, so I was surprised playing this version to see the police cars actually giving chase, it was a nice touch :D

Bernhard says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Amazing tech demo there. Looks like the start of a great game!
The AI is perfect already, just as dumb as in GTA :-)

PixelIndigo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:04am

This game really fits theme. That was funny to see how twenty police cars were trying to cross small street :D

evilseanbot says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:16am

Good job on the path finding.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]