April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hubu Handler

by derdragon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ladies and gentlemen of Ludum Dare, I give you:

Hubu Handler

While still generally opposed to the theme, I made the most of it, and ended up with THE most complete LD Entry I've ever made to date. You can actually win this.

The game is essentially a virtual pet with the goal of keeping him happy and eventually maximizing his happiness bar. Hubus are creatures that I've worked in to a few of my projects. They're sort of like a rabbit without any limbs except for a tail that they sort of use to manipulate things.

I won't divulge ALL the details here, the source is available after all, but the gist of it is... You have to keep the hubu's fatigue, hunger, and boredom satisfied to drive up it's happiness. Physical activity makes him more tired (jumping around), just being awake or getting stressed out makes him hungrier, and sitting around makes him bored. Conversely... sleeping reduces his fatigue, eating fruits makes him less hungry, and throwing things or petting him makes him less bored.

Everything is controlled via the mouse. The ball and the fruit can be dragged around and tossed. Dragging around without an object will display the hand. Slow up and down movement on top of the hubu will pet him and make him happy. Swift side-to-side movements will administer slaps, which will wake him up if he's over-sleeping, but also stresses him out momentarily.

I hope many of you have as much fun playing this as I had making it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#96Humor3.42
#121Graphics3.86
#124Fun3.59
#173Mood3.43
#236Audio3.24
#352Overall3.38
#958Innovation2.55
#1284Coolness48%
#1328Theme2.23

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Crashes on my Win XP laptop. :(

fpMiguel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Nice game

McBeef says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:41pm

It has nothing to do with the theme, but I love it! I love tamagoshi like games with an end! Great art. Looking forward too see it further developed.

summontherats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:14am

Oh my gosh, this is adorable. It took me forever to figure out how to make him play with the ball, though. And he still never plays with it enough to get happy!

BUT THE SLAP

I laughed so hard. And then I felt horrible. I'm a monster.

Neonlare says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:25am

Animations in this were brilliant, and it's a pretty darn cute game.

Damn that slap though. Damn.

ramoncb says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Really fun! I didn't let him sleep! xD

GetFun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Lol, I made him cry! hahaha

I'm a bad person :-( I feel so bad!

tompudding says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:30pm

I made him cry. Whoops :)

kyyninen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Little guy is wonderfully expressive! Though it's pretty questionable that the only way I seemed to get happiness maximized is repeatedly slapping him...

DARKCORTEX says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:36pm

lol i made him cry :P

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:37pm

The scratching/petting thing wasn't so clear - I ended up discovering it by accident. I haven't really played any Tamagotchi-style games before, though, so maybe it's a fixture of the genre.

Anyway, the art and animations are awesome, and bleed character. The sound is awesome too. Nicely done!

psychomonster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Yeah I like the sounds and this cat(?) is so cute :D Nice one...

Stiju says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:38pm

So when do we get an iphone/android version? :)

loxo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:45pm

A really great game. I like the overall presentation and mood very much. The graphics, the cute animations and especially the realistic sound effects are great. It took me three tries to make the hubu happy. Now I'm sad because it's over.

Purplescape says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:04pm

It's so cute! It was a lot of fun to play, I love the hubu.

HelkeGames says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:51am

Very funny game, love the art, great job :)

naughtyloose says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:56am

I dont really know what this is but I had fun playing it :)

EggDestroyer says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:59am

This is so incredibly cute !!! It's a bit short and simple if you do things "right" and it would really make use of a gentle background music, but it's so beautiful and full of good mood ! I really liked it ! Also, I'm more than curious to see how you made it with Game Maker, I could learn some tricks :)

Szedouu says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:00am

ahha great pet-simulation! I dont know why it wasn't mad at me when i hit him in da face :D

Dohan says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Nice pet simulator. It would be cool if the game didn't finish when you maximize the hubu happiness.

Sestren says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:00pm

I really liked this entry. Apart from being a one-screen game, it seems to have little to do with the theme, but the graphics are really well done, and overall it's a great entry. I'm surprised more people haven't played it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]