April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Budget Squad

by deepnight - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use ARROWS / WASD to move, and SPACE to swap controls between Minnie (pink) & Malism (orange).

The two submarines are equipped with minimal stuff :
- Minnie has a LAMP and she is INVINCIBLE.
- Malism has the GUN, but no light, and only 1 life!

-----
PS: just curiosity, but could you please post your BEST SCORE if you leave a comment? :) (mine was 177 130)
-----

I barely made this LD... I only found the gameplay idea on Saturday and it was really too ambitious for a LD. I didn't have much time for the sounds and couldn't work them properly.

- the game was made using Haxe
- art with photoshop
- the music is generated using a customized version AutoTracker-BU.
- sounds generated using LabChirp

NOTE: the game has been patched after the deadline because of heavy lags on slow PCs. I added a key (L) to toggle quality setting.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
Graphics4.76
#17Overall4.12
#46Humor3.73
#53Fun3.78
#54Mood3.82
#89Audio3.63
#200Innovation3.61
#1123Theme2.85

Comments

CappaGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:27am

Well done. Amazing graphics as usual, wish you could put out a pixel art tutorial one of these days.

Nambew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:36am

Really a great game, the graphics are subblime and the intro is hilarious. I have fun to play the game. I will probably replay this game later.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:50am

Seriously, I can't wait to pĺay a game that you fully complete and is 100% satisfied. This is awesome!

saint11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:51am

As always, amazing game, beautiful artwork and very innovative! Unfortunately I'm having some slowdowns here :( But a fantastic game anyway :D
Congratulations!

_raakesh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:37am

Awesome work. Love the game. Even I wish to see tutorial on
pixel art in future.

cacciatc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:46am

The kelp/seaweed effect on the walls and ground is great.

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:47am

I hate you :(

shockdesign says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:00am

I love this take on 'Minimalism', great play on words and great effort.. awesome fun to play.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:12am

Ridiculously great! Very beautiful game and interesting game play!

CyberYeti says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:33am

Amazing graphics and very back and forth strategic game play that makes it a lot of fun but also never loses its pace. Nice job!

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:41am

P.S. complete sarcasm, you are a magnificently talented son of a jerk, your graphics skills are speedy and detailed. I love your work, I aspire to be as great as you.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:56am

How do you create such an awesome art in such a short time?

Test User says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:46am

Awesome game. I'm always amazed at the graphics work you have here. I agree that a tutorial from you would be very interesting.

Selliato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:49am

A good game with an original concept, as usual.

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:21am

Incredible.

Spierek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:28am

Amazing. Great visuals (as usual), a subtle yet good BGM, and a surprisingly well implemented core mechanic.

nSun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:08am

Tu as laissé l'histoire de côté, enfin c'est juste qu'on ignore pourquoi et pour qui on part en guerre. ça se tient quand même.

ça me rappelle une scène dans une BD ou film (je ne sais plus) où tout un bataillon de bleuzaille est équipé d'un fusil, et le héros se retrouve juste avec un drapeau (ou un tambour..)
Il y a aussi le film Stalingrad, où c'est : un fusil pour deux, et une balle dans le dos pour les trouillards.

A l'inverse, il y a le film "Secret Defense" de Dany De Vito, une histoire vraie d'un projet de conception d'un char de transport de troupe, qui se retrouve sur-équipé à cause de l'entrain et l'idiotie de plusieurs généraux, poussant le budget au delà de 4 milliards de dollars, pour un char inexploitable et peu sûr.

Oui j'aime bien cette idée d'une armé low-cost !
Le reste est parfait, comme d'habitude tu ne va pas manquer compliments là dessus j'en suis sûr.

Yacodo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55am

Good as always, some slow down. Even if I didn't really like it, the music fit well the atmosphere.

daredevildave says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:18am

Nice premise and super polished. Solid gameplay too. Good job!

deepnight says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21am

I uploaded a hotfix: you can toggle LOW quality mode using L.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:26am

/applause

What else can be said? :)

JohnBroadley says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:41am

Stop being so good!

zitheker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Meme s'il n'y a pas d'histoire, on ne peut que aimer. Je ne suis pas fan des jeux ou il fuat juste tuer et faire des combos,mais la tout dans le jeu (graphisme, musiques, textes, musiques) m'incite à recommencer encore et encore.

Tu est un magicien de l'informatique. Bravo !!!

omaromeir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Wow! This is unbelievable in only 48 hours. Such high production values and awesome graphics :O.

Yakka says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Excellent! Just a bit disapointed, less fun than usual, but the art is awesome.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Lovely graphics (as usual), interesting gameplay.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Amazing game! +1 for a pixel art tutorial some day!

Dissing says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Amazing visuals! The game play is also very nice!

Toastation says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Do we really need to rate this game ?

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Beautiful graphics and fantastic gameplay. :)

arnaudmolle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:35pm

This is a great game as usual, the intro is very fun.

nicso says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:19pm

really good game, as usual :)
A bit disappointed about the one life thing, i don't think it fit the genre, and doesn't encourage exploration.

terrivellmann says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Awesome, very fun to play!

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:38pm

This game is awesome!
I like how you turned out the theme ^^
I love this type of pixel-art, and how the different sprites and animations are coherent, this participate a lot on the global mood of the game.
The audio is also great, and the dialogs are hilarous!

My best score is currently 24 615, but I'll keep trying :D

titi987 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Very nice.

Polar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Really liked it, but thanks to the 'you only have one searchlight' I keep on dying around 6500 points :P

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

My best score was so bad it doesn't even warrant posting. I really liked this game, though. Graphics and sound are amazing. Not sure how related to the theme it is but that's besides the point, well done!

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Score 3250: Amazingly polished as usual. Nice concept too. Looking forward to the timelapse.

TobiasL says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Really great graphics as usual :) And great use of the potato.

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:51pm

its a nice game sure but what is the clink with the theme ? except the name of the player .....

Ithildin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:41pm

This entry is really polished, as expected, and the game mechanics were interesting and fun. I wouldn't call it particularly minimalistic, but it's a nice entry anyway.

My first score: 34430 B-)

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:38pm

14255

Love the combo system that encourages you to get a bit risky even with one life... and the whole idea of the two subs with different skills is SO GREAT! Graphics are gorgeous, the music is really fitting (and rad), and the lighting effect is superb. Being able to jump up out of the water is a blast. ;)

Dax says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:43am

14125
Really cool like always

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:30am

If there was a king of Ludum Dare. It would be this dude

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:45am

Pixel art is top notch, as usual. Mechanics are great. Music fits and sets the mood. Overall its a really good game, but honestly I expected nothing less :)

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:35am

Only 3090. I am bad at combos.

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:57am

Scored 2435. Was a great game, as expected. Gameplay was smooth, graphics were great, music was all right and fit the mood. My only real qualm is how minimalistic this really is. Oh, but then again I suppose minimalism is stripping down to the essentials, even if those are lights and a gun. XD Good job once again. :)

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:03am

Really nice polished game some solid gameplay. Keep up the good work!

Slushy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:40am

Scored 15010 on my second attempt , I really enjoyed it , great work

Husky says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:04am

Cool pixel art and music!
Good job!

Zener says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:34am

Putting aside if it's theme related or not, the quality is over the top again! Well done!

Vaalen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:47am

C'est un bon jeu et les graphismes sont très bons - surtout en 48h. Par contre, ce serait bien si tu expliquais comment le sous-marin tire. J'ai passé 5 minutes à chercher le bouton tir. J'ai pensé que c'était la flèche pour avancer avant de me rendre compte qu'en fait le sous-marin tirait tout seul quand il arrivait à portée de tir.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:23am

Nice work! The story-beats are great.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:37am

Assez magique, il faut l'avouer !

dek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:56am

As always, amazing work. I like the use of the theme too, haha :)

3.14 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:45am

Great game man. You did it again. You managed to combine your awesome pixelart with minimalizm theme without sacrificing any of those. Intro is fantastic I love all the small touches (character names!).

Angerus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:59am

I love the whole game, spend a long time playing it and be amaze by...arf many things!
My only "negative" feeling is that i find the gameplay of relationship between Minnie and Maslim a bit...unbalanced. If Maslim can shot down walls and enemies, it rely too much on Minnie(she got, after all, the light) for acting while she can safely do a lot of things alone(understand: without beeing accompanied by Maslim.)
Anyway, great work and game!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Very good graphics!

Jonny D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:26pm

That was great (as usual?). I kinda gave up after a while, but I had a killer combo going. 55650

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:40pm

I have one question : Minimalism was the theme, how did you use it?

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:43pm

I mean beside the names of the characters. It's like you make a game but you don't play the game, if the theme was "no weapons allowed" would the characters be named "noweap" and "onsallowed"?

Grouflon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Perfect, as ever !

Pierrec says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Excellent concept with an excellent realisation as always. A two player mode could be fun!
Although, the theme is a bit light.

Andrei Barsan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Ye gads, this is a great game. Dang! It was so fun to play and polished. I'm looking forward to more LD entries from you! :D Great art, great EVERYTHING! The only thing missing was a cool music track for your timelapse haha.

YsenGrimm says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Really great idea and neat graphics.

Diamonde says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Amazingly well done... I mean with everything and stuff! :D

CMaster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:12pm

12735
Really cute graphics.
Nice interpretation of the theme.
Interesting "single player co-op" gameplay
Keep up the good work.

Funkiside says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Great game thanks.
My first thought was 'Looks too good to be bad'.
Would b nice to see 2 hands feature when u can take wasd Minnie and arrows for Malism or vice versa.

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Once again, a great game. You know your stuff!

pereubu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:49pm

great art, as always, and a nice game overall :3

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:58pm

As usual you make a great game. No complaints here

glbs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:35pm

The game is quite cool, I enjoyed playing it. It's just a shame the theme wasn't taken much into account..

deepnight says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:43pm

@AnnaGavaldaKedavra > I chose to focus on gameplay to fit the theme: a shooter with minimal equipment that forces you to play in a different way (1 gun & 1 light & no powerup). I do agree that it's not 100% fitting the theme, maybe I should have made a minimalistic looking game too?

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Looks very polished, fun to play too! Got a pixeljunk shooter vibe from it, which is always a good thing :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:18pm

That's what i was delicately implying. It's a shame but your game is so polished, and with the nonexistent link to the theme, someone could think you began working on it (the concept) way before the time. I find it disappointing cause your game is great and i'm sure you're a fair fellow. Also i don't like when someone gets so many positive comments.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Nice game! graphics are very pretty as always. Every LD you make an awesome game.

lekochen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Incredible.

ovenchips says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Really enjoyed this. The switching mechanic was fun although having to completely restart on losing one life is a little severe. Graphics are stunning! Didn't see the connection with the theme. Overall: thought it was fab!

bompo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Love the eco the dolphin reference :)

May 1, 2013 @ 1:26am

Was kinda hoping you'd tone the visuals down for this one. Excellent work as always.

multitude says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:41am

Love this game. The Atmosphere is amazing and the graphics are sick. Kudos!

davidwparker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:50am

I agree with CappaGames... ring on some pixel art tutorials! As always, I really enjoyed your game. Keep up the good work.

Taro Omiya says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:54am

Definitely enjoyed this coop game. Ended up playing as the scouter as much as possible until I hit a few barriers that needed to be shot.

May 1, 2013 @ 6:52am

great graphic, the game is nice to play but perhaps too hard for me... I died too many times and it's frustrating to restart all

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:41am

What a fun game! Love the graphics and smoooth controls. Fun gameplay mechanic as well :)

Lythom says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:15am

I'm sorry i can't tell you much that could help improve the game, I'm not skilled enough yet, but here's some clues :
- I don't like to have to move 2 entities (I don't have a brain that handle this correctly) but the core gameplay is fun so
* I think the game could be a (very) great coop game with 2 players
* keeping one player it could be usefull to have one submarine auto-follow the second (this would prevent to keep swapping every time just to make the submarines go forward)
Thanks for the game !

deepnight says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:26am

@AnnaGavaldaKedavra > I couldn't agree more with you :)
My main problem with this LD was exactly that: I usually do my best to fit the theme, but this time, "Minimalism" was like my "kryptonite" theme. Exactly the kind of thing I find hard to do :)

So I tried to make a gameplay out of it, but pretty much failed to do it.
What is fun is that, this time, I actually didn't look much at the theme voting rounds, just to be able to start the LD without any preconceived idea.

I actually really should have paid more attention :)

Thanks for your honesty

mollymus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:55am

Awesome game!

blackmagic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:55am

Solid entry :)

Gravel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Awesome quality. Nice.

bytegrove says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:26pm

High quality entry as always, top-notch graphics, and a big plus for the cut scene! The game felt very polished and the steering felt good, I liked that you could jump out of the water. However, switching back and forth between the submarines made the game a little too slow paced imo, one idea might be to assign one submarine to wasd and the other to the arrow keys. Just a thought. I think the game fit the theme pretty well with the budget-cut backstory, although I admit that it might feel a little shoehorned in. :P I do enjoy seeing games that try to approach the theme in gameplay and not just visual style though. Nice work! :)

markusfisch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Wow, I really liked this one! Impressive graphics and a good sense of humor! And the game play does have potential with those two ships. Very well done! Absolutely dig this pixel art!

wonderwhy-er says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:19pm

o_o Incredible work for 48 hours

fr_automatik says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:35pm

61 570.(I didn't finish the game)

rockford says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:44pm

No really "Minimalist" but amazing.

jim3wg says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Superbe !

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Aw, I died at a score of 26,000. Very fun, amazing graphics, amazing audio, and more of the same. Great job as always Deepnight!

Lizzip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:38am

So good, again.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:51am

Good atmosphere and visuals as usual!
Also the theme farfetched as usual=(
Good game, anyway :^)

Jeremias says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Great game and visuals, but as you stated, not really a connection to theme. And a bit too easy, because you can push enemies with the invincible ship where you want to have them.

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Ok, just like I did with some other games so I gave the game a second try.
What I have to say is : the graphics are great as usual. The music and sfx are also great. The game is polished and well designed and it is just 'complete'. I mean it is a complete game like you could actually buy.
The game mechanics are interesting and work well. So this is a work of great quality. To conclude this is maybe one of the most polished entry of the Ludum Dare contest.
Now I've said that, there are a few things that keep bugging me. First of all I think somehow the game does not fit the theme so well. Or I fail to see how. But that's a very subjective thought.
Secondly, frankly I just didn't have so much fun playing to it. While I just kept playing to Strike of Rage and Atomic Creep Spawner, this one is a little bit slow. I mean it is a colorful universe but I find it misses something. Something that was at the core of your last LD entries something that made your entries so fun to play. Is it rhythm? Is it the lack of goals? I don't know.
But like I said all this is highly subjective and Budget Squad is still a very very good entry. Keep doing awesome stuff, mate :)

Loren says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:30pm

nice nice, everyone said everything already :)

free_napalm says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:29pm

When I first heard the theme, my second thought was "I hope deepnight does not go for a minimalist art style this time." Really glad you did not! It felt a bit like an highscore version of Ecco The Dolphin. Great game.
Oh, my first thought obviously was what kind of game I would design.

michail says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Your pixel art is absolutely amazing and incredibly stylish! Unfortunately, the gameplay was definitely not as good as in your previous entry. The amount of work for 48 hours is still impressive, anyway.

AaronYip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Well, poop, this is amazing and everything else others have already mentioned. I second the notion for using WASD for one ship and arrows for the other. That could have allowed for more aggressive enemies and generally, more over-the-top action (ala the The Expendables). Anyways, fantastic work. When people start saying this isn't good enough because your former entries are better--that's pretty ridiculous, haha. 6:

Alucard J says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:08am

Great fun, very humourous, and fun coordinating the two subs. Excellent art and audio. All round amazing, Well Done =]

dremelofdeath says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:48am

What. How did I even find this. This thing in incredible, just chilling around at Ludum Dare, no big deal... this thing is insane. This game is the REAL DEAL! FanTASTic graphics, incredible gameplay and level design... bravo!

bummzack says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:43am

Great style and execution. Very well done!

lorancou says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Great Game : 43460

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Graphics are amazing as always. Pretty fun gameplay as well. Interesting take on the theme, too. Good work :)

May 4, 2013 @ 12:16am

My 3rd Ludum Dare and the 3rd time your game has been awesome, especially love the graphics. My high score was embarrasingly low, so I'll keep it to myself

mtrc says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:40am

Wonderful. Great graphics and audio, nice core mechanic. I think for a fuller game you'd need to rethink the dependencies. I would also love me some co-op.

cwilloughby says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:05am

Very nice. The graphics were sick. Absolutely nuts for 48 hours. Well done.

_Rilem says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:15pm

sweet visuals :]

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Love the graphics, plays well.

BrothersT says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:31am

Really nice game. It made a lot more sense as soon as I realized there was a combo to sustain :P suddenly went form being really precious to absolutely throwing my life away.

Lyonsbanner says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Finised with 161350 points.
Great game :)

Switchbreak says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:55pm

FANTASTIC. I love the art, and the intro. I wasn't able to get too far without dying, but I think I'm gonna keep at it until I beat this one.

someone says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Once again an excellent game. Well done.

wademcgillis says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Clever idea. It would be great to play two-handed though.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Amazing graphics

nimblegorilla says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:22am

Really nice and polished game as everyone is used to. It didn't seem to fully embrace the theme, but I liked playing it a lot.

dector says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:00am

Fun, fun, fun.

Sestren says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:59am

123,255 for me. Great graphics, as usual. Music is nice, and the sound is decent. Great job!

kyyninen says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:53am

Way too awesome! ~30k for first try, but I'll probably play a lot more later.

lasergans says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Amazing game! Great graphics, great gameplay. Love it!

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Pretty cool game. Sexy as graphics.

Im not a fan of the switching between subs thing, I dislike that kind of gameplay in games. Id rather just put a light on the gunboat and play, then id have enjoyed it a lot more.

Smaxx says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Really like the game, although I'm no real fan of "play two chars at once" games.

Tifu says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:00pm

56615! I think I was so close to the end but a laser got me :(
Graphics are incredible, love the gameplay mechanic!

Zccc says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Amazing, I love your graphics :P the only problem is that it has really nothing to do with the theme..

Xanjos says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Absolutely loved the graphics and the gameplay concept was well executed.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Nice concept of using two submarines with different abilities. It would have been neat if you could control both at the same time, eliminating the need to press space to switch between the two.

Adrian says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:03am

13,720, not very impressive, right?

Awesome game as usual, good gameplay, excellent graphics, and I love how you cheated the theme. Oh and it's quite humorous as well.

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Outstanding graphics! Too bad there's no two player mode, it would be rad!

Turtle says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:39am

Great story coverage and humor.
The mechanism also works really well.

jacklehamster says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:10am

Very cool idea that leads to a smooth and fun gameplay

Knighty says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:39am

Why are you so good? :p
There's one thing I didn't like about the game, how the subs would continue to float around even when you're not controlling it. This made it very scary near the end laser area.

KEFIR says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:39pm

imo not really fits the theme, but anyway this game is beyond awsome! one of the best!

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Beautiful demo! I even enjoyed the red hue when dying. If you continue to develop this, I felt like my interest and content was interrupted when switching between subs. The intro dialog tickled me. When I started, I was expecting the orange torpedo sub to have a limited supply of ammunition and resources. They actually seem to be very powerful subs. One is invulnerable and the other has a lot of torpedoes.

JohnnySix says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:46am

Absolutely love the graphics and the theme, an extremely polished game for such a short time. :)

Galvesmash says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Beautiful game! Great art style, cool graphics, awesome gameplay. Incredible job doing this game!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:58am

Waouw, Impressiv work for a LD. A complete game. You was really alone ??? Impressiv.

Catman says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 7:22am

Amazing graphics, how did you even do this in so little time?? The game was really cool too! :)

ahm99 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:48am

Best 8075. I might try harder later. But really cool game. I liked it. Good job :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:36am

awesome -- amazing work in such a short time -- my hat is off to you -- great hob

Sebastian says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Managed to get 42,000 and will definitely be playing this lots more later. This is one of the most beautiful, polished and fun games of this LD in my opinion. Really fantastic work.

MrShoestore says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:19pm

This is stupid. You're telling me it took you 48 hours to make this!?! Psshh... weak. Do better next time. (Yeah, that will teach him to make and absolutely amazing game in 48 hours and making me feel like I should stick to mopping bar floors with my face, as that's what my skills amount to.) This game made me feel pretty crappy about myself, which is actually a complement in the highest regards. This game is amazing... :(

dick_claus says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 2:04am

Cool. Wait for post compo version with sound.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:38am

Awesome job, as usual.

Threef says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Well done! Graphics are sweet, game has humor, and it's great take on theme. :)

Fadobo says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Didn't believe this is a legit compo entry until I saw the timelapse. Crazy good!

juaxix says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 5:17pm

cool, I loved it , i feel inspiration with this one!

Puccini says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Good game! Beautifull graphics and a interesting gameplay!

May 18, 2013 @ 11:11am

I just may be sold on learning Haxe!

Tom 7 says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Really good, as usual. :) I thought the two-sub idea was clever, and it was fun, though when I accidentally died, I didn't really want to start all over! Graphics are fantastic.

naufr4g0 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 12:26am

Beautiful graphics, fun gameplay and nice story! :)
Very good game! :)

davidpeter says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:42am

Your graphics make me slobber over my tablet. I have to say that this game wasn't my cup of tea this time, but I enjoyed it for what it was: a straight rompin' exploring-shoot-'em up.

loxo says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 8:02pm

I think this game is incredible for a 48 hour time frame. It really looks complete with the great graphics and the funny intro. Also it's fun to play with the interesting game concept.

vilya says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Another great entry. Well done!

OrangeeZ says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:10pm

What you did here is simply brilliant. And I love submarines ^_^

SnoringFrog says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Absolutely loved this! Final score was up around 180k (see screenshot), but I could have done better. Before that, I died shortly after the potato with 160k, so if I'd planned more I definitely could have gotten 200k if not 250k. Amazing game, the combo meter made me play in some interesting ways (sending the spotlight way ahead to lure in tons of red mines). Looks and sounds beautiful as well. Great take on the theme. I think this is the highest set of ratings I've given.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/356324/budgetsquadhighscore.png

MinionStudios says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Awesome game! Incredibly tight production and fun as hell. The story made me laugh like crazy

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:31am

I'm kind of in a hurry, so I didn't play until the end, but the graphics are good as always. Don't worry, I won't give you an overall five just because of your graphics. I'm pretty positive you must hate that.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]