April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Floating Point

by 7Soul - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Floating Point is a Point-and-Click adventure where you must connect two dimensions, a "real" world and an "abstract" world, to find an answer.

The twist is: each dimension is opened in a different browser window.

-- How to Play --

!! In order to play you have to open the game twice, then follow the instructions. !!

If you are on windows 7, you can drag the game to the side of the screen so they share the space correctly.
You can drag your browser tab out of the browser window to crate a new window.

Use the mouse to interact. Use the hand to perform actions, and the eye to gather information.

You can also press 1 or 2 to select the hand and the eye.
Click the sides of the screen to move.

-- Other --

I had to rush a lot near the end, so unfortunately the "dark world" didn't get much use in the puzzle, and there was a whole other 4th screen that had to be scrapped.

Also, at one point in the game you're supposed to pick a small key on the ground near the stone wall. It's really small and kinda blends with the background, so I'm saying this to help ^^

Made with Construct 2

-- Bugs --
If you have a problem with the game loading, press Ctrl+F5 to reload and clear the local storage, which hold the values that links the two windows.

-- Changelog --
v2
- Corrected a win condition, it now shows in both screens
- Corrected music playing on both windows

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Innovation4.80
Coolness58%
#27Mood4.00
#102Audio3.58
#114Overall3.74
#124Humor3.25
#124Graphics3.85
#423Fun3.13
#790Theme3.30

Comments

Scott McBee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:55am

Fantastic. I loved the two screen approach and I was amazed at how well it worked. You really should continue this.

gregdevice says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:21am

Wow, excellent work! I saw a kiwi note and then the browser windows just closed. Felt like I was ripped out of the world. I'll be playing this more...

LionOfOrange says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Weird but fun.

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Incredible, such a strange concept to play a game on 2 open browser windows but this was really cool. Great piano track and I loved the extended info on the kiwi, hilarious!!

zatyka says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Wow, what an interesting idea. Very well executed as well. The opposing graphics are quite nice and effective. I'd love to see an expanded post-compo version.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:10pm

That was amazing, first time i play something like this !

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Reminds me of Not-pron for some reason. I like it, although that key really is a problem. Was the fruit supposed to do anything?

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:23pm

I'm still scratching my head at how you did the two window approach. This reminds me of the first time I played Myst.

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:58pm

I’m only getting black windows even after allowing local storage (firefox 20, linux).

iamorim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:27pm

I really wanted to play it. It looks very interesting but I click in the menu screen and nothing happens :|

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:04pm

More of this please. My winner.

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:58am

Wow pretty inventive implementation. I like how you managed to get a two-sided view of a 'single world' that way.
Very charming art style as well.

I'm not really into this game genre but this one caught me for quite a while. Haven't finished it though.

Muito bom!

Loren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:06am

dude, seriously this is awesome. Fantastic theme use

GarethIW says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:53pm

RUN!

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Really cool game, interesting how you got two browser windows to communicate. Really interesting way to play a game. Nice job on the ending too.

rwos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Fantastic concept!

Crazi456 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:39pm

That was different, very nice!

Frosnite says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Wow, whole new level to minimalism, way deeper than most of LD26's entries. Congrats!

rogueNoodle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Nice job - definitely top marks for innovation, visuals and theme. I'd like to see this taken further, for sure.

LionelJitro says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:12am

Great, unique use of the theme. Great, unique game all together.

Really clever.

sharbelfs says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:21am

F#CK KIWI!!!
Amazing game you have here, man! I also like the music theme, same as a old game of mine.

Jan Marcano says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:24am

5/5 for you man. Real awesome implementation of an innovative idea.

The concept was really good and you knew how to take advantage of it correctly.

Nice music, nice ambience. Excellent work pal!

May 4, 2013 @ 9:54pm

As with Myst and Riven, the logic of most puzzle elements eludes me. Impressive twin screen usage, but couldn't the effect have been achieved by two canvases side by side? Too bad you couldn't finish the game, I like the concept, mood and graphics though.

Covenant says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:44am

Didn't know this was possible at all! :) Very cool concept!

May 5, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Haunting entry. I'd love to see more adventure games from you in this style. (Not necessarily in two browser windows, but the dreamlike aesthetic and surreal gameplay.)

Ian MacLarty says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:48pm

I "click to begin", but nothing happens (using Chrome 26.0.1410.64 on Windows 7).

patrickward says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Very interesting game. I'm not sure I got the full gist of it though. I saw the interaction between the worlds (such as the water) and I was able to find the key. But, then the game just kind of ended. Despite my confusion, the concept was fantastic. Nice job on linking the two windows. Audio matched the dreamy atmosphere as well.

KEFIR says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Oh it is so challenging and hard for my weak brain and luck of concentration :) But idea with two windows is just brilliant! 5/5 innovation!

May 6, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Dayum. I love adventure games and mysterious stuff, and the two browser screens gimmick gets full points for originality. Beautiful graphics, beautiful audio, definitely minimalist.

The only bad things I found were a couple of typoes ("this strange fruit if dripping water"), and


SLIGHT SPOILERS

The ending was a bit abrupt. But I guess you had to end it somehow.

END SPOILERS

All in all, one of the most original and atmospheric entries I've played so far.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:21am

I really liked the two world concept in this adventure game. Technically, the two browser concept is an impressive accomplishment, but I really wouldn't want to open two browsers every time to play a game. I could see this game being a hit on a two screen system like the 3DS, but unfortunately it only allows one screen for input.

7Soul says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:48am

GaTechGrad: True, doing this was a great way to try some interesting concept, but it's not a viable game at all

May 7, 2013 @ 9:56pm

I'd like to take issue with that. What you have here is definitely a viable game, as I would define the concept. It just needs a more involved ending (even just a "you manage to escape from this strange world" message would work for this type of story).

mildmojo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:35am

Novel use of local storage and the two tabs/windows. I hadn't seen that trick before. I wish there was more! It was cool to bring stuff across the gap to see how it would behave in the other world.

Sestren says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 2:07am

I'd love to see this concept fleshed out more. It's a rather unique approach, and fun to explore. The ending felt rushed, but as you mentioned, so were you toward the end of the competition. Good job!

amodo says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:33am

Very very very beautiful. I especially enjoyed the overall mood created by the almost grotesque graphics and atmospheric background track. ★★★★★

SamoojaMies says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Cool stuff! nice job!

cardboard says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:51am

Very unique. Took me awhile to win because I couldn't figure out what to do, but otherwise I enjoyed it.

Xanjos says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Maybe a bit short but I absolutely loved the use of two browser windows as part of the gameplay mechanics. Would definitely love to see a post-compo version with even more puzzles.

KevinLaity says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Great out of the box thinking. I would have liked to see more interaction between the worlds.

May 20, 2013 @ 9:08am

Jacques the kiwi!!! XD I really loved the idea of interaction between two windows!!! You should just add a few more things to discover before ending I think ^^ Great job anyway

mes says ...
May 22, 2013 @ 1:58pm

great ending

7Soul says ...
May 30, 2013 @ 1:58am

Thanks everyone for playing, commenting and voting <3

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]