April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Four Scepters

by Benjamin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Find the 4 scepters to banish the necromancer who rules those lands.
Play the Fighter Wizard Thief and Assassin in the order you like.

CONTROL : Game is played with the arrow keys

< IMPORTANT > I could not finish help in time So here's an important point :

To use his habilitie the Thief needs to be in stealth mode, you can achieve this by hiding near an empty wall in a room without monsters.
Once in stealth mode you will unlock the first door or steal the first treasure on your way.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#9Fun4.08
#14Overall4.16
#90Mood3.66
#100Innovation3.82
#127Graphics3.84
#277Theme3.85
#356Humor2.55
#400Audio2.97

Comments

whitetigle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:52am

First I definitely hate blue blobs and poisonous snakes.

Ok so I really enjoyed the way you move ( pv ;) ), the different abilities of the 4 characters. And I really enjoyed finding the scepter and then dying.
The game is very easy to play, it seems simple, it is but very rich nonetheless. And it very innovative. Bravo!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:46am

I like dungeon games, and your great "team" idea made so much better. I hope you will keep working with this game after compo is finished.

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:10am

I like how you made the controls minimalistic, very clever. Suprisingly deep game-play.

Colapsydo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:06am

Like Kali's Ladder, this game is so addictive.
Just got three scepters so far, so I didn't try the puzzle mode.

Narayan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:05pm

I like the controls, very clever !

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:22pm

I REALLY liked this game! Very well made with a lot of content and detail. Cheers! :)

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Love it, 5 stars :)

Andrei Barsan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Pff, I wouldn't have expected less from the creator of Super Strict Farmer and Beetlefield: The Forecast. Brilliant game, capable of keeping me hooked for a very long time!

Also, I somehow managed to get stuck in the top-right room of the third, level. I'm not sure if it's a bug or not, though.

Great job. Don't EVER skip a Ludum Dare. :D

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:53pm

This was a lot of fun! Reminded me a of an even more minimal version of Gauntlet. Very hard though!

Thotor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:08am

Really fun ! I enjoyed it a lot !

Andrei Barsan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Potions don't seem to be able to remove the poison effect (I'm playing custom mode now, the last level).

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Very addictive, can't stop playing, thanks for making this! Would love to see it expanded!

nilstastic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Pros: Solid gameplay and nice graphics! (as always)
Cons: Nothing much, felt like sword of fargoal and that game i hate. *Argh* =)

jami says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Really nice game! Good job!

ilo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:37am

Although it feels like you have to learn the dungeons through trial and error in order to know which order to pick the characters, the simplicity of the game and the depth that emerges from it is really delightful. It looks fantastic too!

Benjamin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:51am

Andrei Barsan > Ouch the potion bug is a big problem. Anyone know if I am authorized to hotfix that ?

robotality says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:39am

Like the minimal approach on the rpg game here :) Nice touch with the monologues when a character dies :)

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:39am

Impressive game!

WiseGAMER says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:40am

Nice game I like how the game play was minimalistic and still fun!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:34am

great game and follows the theme to the core -- awesome effort!

May 2, 2013 @ 2:18am

I've rated maybe 30 or so games so far, and you are getting my first 5-star Overall rating. Great job!

Tom 7 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:12am

This is super good! It really fits the minimal rogue-like theme, but unlike other "minified" games it's just just crapified -- the graphics are perfect and the game actually has impressive puzzle play and a great mood. One of my favorites so far.

jwolf says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:43am

Very nice puzzle / adventure game. Well done!

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:46am

Great concept! The gameplay is definitely minimalistic and I really enjoyed the art style :D

May 2, 2013 @ 6:47am

Fantastic little game! A lot of decisions and options and replayability.

FezMan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:17am

Great game! A proper puzzler with RPG elements.

jacklehamster says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:39am

Love the simple gameplay with only the arrows, yet you don't feel limited. I had a lot of fun with this one!

jacklehamster says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:42am

Believe it or not, I found this game so fun and addictive, that to be fair, I had to downgrade other games that previously had 5 stars.

May 2, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Fun game to play but very hard, could only get to the second scepter.

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:20pm

I thought this was excellent. Great implementation of the theme with the battle system. Thoroughly challenging, without being frustrating (at least for me). Very nicely done, and keep up the excellent work!

Boiúna says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Fucking GENIOUS!

rujo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:27pm

really nice entry, i love the graphics and the minimal gameplay is perfect for the theme

Angerus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Really like your game and realization! Old school, minimalism, and the humor inside

JaJ says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Very good! Havn't gotten very far yet, but I'm going to keep trying!

May 2, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Whoah, this is hard! It took me a while before I tried custom, which makes practice a lot easier.

Insane props to anyone who managed to do solve this without paper to draw a map of each level. In the end I could do it without using the wizard or the assassin, I guess it's not possible with one character only.

Kind of a sad ending, and I had to take a few shots for the spelling mistakes :P Very good game though!

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Simple and really fun! This game rocks! I enjoy the size of the game, and even with the limited graphics it has a load of options and paths. Great one!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Very very good!

acro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:34pm

No idea how you made that much animated pixel art and gameplay mechanics in 2 days. Just awe-inspiring!

enzo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Old-school gameplay, old-school art, and old-school... difficulty!! If that's what casual is like, I'm never going to survive puzzle :)
Even though there are only 4 buttons, there are tons of options! (Sadly, most of those options will result in horrible death.)

Madball says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Phew... What playing it for two hours, and made a complete map and a "that wasn't intended!" walkthrough (only 2 heroes used) (I instist you to only use it if you completed the game) (Maybe somebody will come up with an 1-hero walkthrough?)
http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/53633853/Four%20Scepters/Walkthrough.txt
http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/53633853/Four%20Scepters/Map%201.png
http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/53633853/Four%20Scepters/Map%202.png
http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/53633853/Four%20Scepters/Map%203.png
http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/53633853/Four%20Scepters/Map%204.png
Ah, the feedback. I found the game very unintuitive. What mob exactly is undead? Why do necromancers die from an one-damage spell? What do you use, when you have different options (several spells/arrow)? And, the bug: health drain can lift you HP over the maximum. Also, a "back" key would be great.

deepnight says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Very hard but interesting take on the theme :) It lacks a restart key to make the whole thing a little more fast paced.

Great job on the art, it looks low-fi but not cheap :)

DST says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Awesome!

mrexcessive says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Plays like dungeonquest, what with all the death... the mapping and room selections is clever. One of my favourite games of all time was wizardry 1-3 on Apple ][, this reminds me of that (not visually but the room by room aspect). Good job!

KunoNoOni says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:57pm

I love the art! Great use of theme. very addictive.

LTyrosine says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:28pm

So much with so few, a really clever usage of theme in a complex, deep game given time it was made. A really top 10 of LD26 in my counting. Amazing job!

ovenchips says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Very slick - really loved it and can imagine the replay potential is huge! Well done.

ENDESGA says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:54pm

AMAZING!!!
Very fun. I played it many many times :)
thank you c:

Jellycakes says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:33am

Seems like a pretty cool game, I liked the mechanics and the old style RPG elements. I didn't get to play it all but I will do it eventually!

savethejets1 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:10am

SO GOOD! I loved the colour palatte :D

TijmenTio says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Still playing it, it goes so deep...

LeafThief says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Tight mechanics and great overall execution. It's engaging and fun to play. You did a great job!

Ragzouken says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Really hard! I like that you're made to play all the characters to complete the quest rather than just picking one and missing out on 3/4 of the game.

sudorossy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:40pm

I love the movement mechanics, and I feel like there's tons of content. Definitely a game I can spend quite a bit of time on.

May 4, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Well, this is great!

nice work boiling down an rpg/roguelike. I like the fact that every room is just one object, and there is no actual movement within.

Biped says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Loved it!

NateNaterson says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:11am

Amazing work. The controls are so simple but there's so much depth here!

Dir3kt says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:47am

Excellent! Amazing work!

belickim says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:14am

This is so unbelievably simple and good, great job.

Jod says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Very damn good. I thought Gods will be watching was the best, but I liked this better.

free_napalm says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Really fun and simple to control game with high depth. Probably the LD26 game I spent the most time on.
The only annoying thing was that the wizard sometimes did not feel like using his spells for some reason.
Also: This is the first RPG/dungeon game I have seen that would work well on smartphones. Polish it, add a new dungeon every week and it could be a hit on the app stores.

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:23pm

This is so very very cool. Everything is super polished, and all of the graphics and sound are totally spot on. I love it!

NostraDamon says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:33pm

My favorite LD game so far!

Adrian says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:55am

That is a hell of a good game! Really enjoy it, and this one I plan on finishing some day... But it's haaard.

lasergans says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:56am

Really like the game! Had a lot of fun :)

brantkings says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Excellent game. It's so cool it gives you a lot of options, expect you to make the best of it.

naufr4g0 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Love different abilities of the characters, that are well engineered.
I only took 2 scepters so far.

Xanjos says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Loved the retro feel of the game and how each character class is distinctly unique in terms of playstyle and abilities.

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Innovative minimal party dungeon crawl! Choosing which monster to attack interested me, and the tropes of dungeon crawling games made feel content. If you continue to develop this, I was overwhelmed by options while seeking the second scepter. I didn't understand the strategy of which monster I should fight first.

pereubu says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:39pm

t'was fun and easy to play. There's a good flow in it :3

Orni says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:17pm

I love this game !

the idea is so brilliant and simple that I'm hitting my head against the wall for not thinking of it

it's also very nicely executed and graphics and audio are spot on

well done :D

vandriver says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:41am

android me this game!

Catman says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 7:27am

Loving the mechanic, this is maybe the only game I'd keep playing after the LD ends ;D

Zim the Fox says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 5:55am

First of all, thank you for commenting on my game! <3 I responded to your comment on my page.

This game is really cool and hard. Even the casual version is rather unforgiving. It's some sort of puzzler and I love it, but I didn't get past the third level.

You did a fantastic job with the graphics, animation and audio. Also, HaXe... I had never heard of that language. Awesome, I just learnt about a new language!

Zccc says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 6:39pm

It's like a puzzle adventure! I couldn't beat the third level, but the gameplay is very addictive, well done!

mildmojo says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:19am

Great work. Very difficult, very replayable. I like the character classes and their cooperation a lot, though I wish the thief's ability was more than one-use.

It feels like there's very little left to chance, which makes it more of a puzzle game. I did find myself in one situation where a portcullis shut behind me and I was stuck in just two rooms with no items or monsters or a way out (may have needed a key).

May 17, 2013 @ 10:15am

I like the concept,
Great use of the theme.
Puzzle mode is really hard, good job :D

someone says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 1:15pm

That was awesome. Love the control mechanism.

Puccini says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 6:54pm

It's a great game! very adictive!

namuol says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 6:22am

Challenging, but in the best of ways. You've clearly got a hit on your hands!

Great production all-around, too.

One question: Are the dungeons always guaranteed to be solvable? I'd love to hear about your approach; mostly because the layout is so simple, it would act as a great starting-point for getting into "procedural" dungeons/puzzles (although I'd guess you had more deliberate control of the dungeon design).

Benjamin says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 7:54am

@namuol No I can't guarantee it and I'm very sad about it, I wrote a post mortem of the reasons you can read it in my journal.
However, some players certified the game to be finishable in easy mode. I'll definitively work on a better leveldesigned post-compo but not in the next months.
For the procedural question, I dont think procedural can generate good puzzles on those game types. Computer can still assist you if you create a solver. While you leveldesign the solver tell you in real time how many solutions can finish the level. Your goal is a number nearest to 1.
I had no time to make the solver in the 48h but I did it for my previous entry : Extinct ( there's also a postmortem on solver-assisted leveldesign you can read )

Gungnir says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Nailed the theme in every respect. This needs a full release on mobile. It's a compact gem, the best kind.

May 19, 2013 @ 7:09pm

This is great as a game, but as an entry in to 48 hours compo, it's just... out of this world!!! :)

berareu says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Fantastic! It's really fun and addictive, even if it's hard

klianc09 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Everything is possible, except completing the first level with the assassin... Really like this game^^

Misael.K says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Great adventure-puzzle game. Tough, but fun.

TurboDindon says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:01am

This is definitively a very vey very very good entry. One of my favorite compo. The gameplay is very ingenious. Good graphics, good mood, good fun, good theme.
Congrats.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

acronaut says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 2:18am

hands down! I love the style, and simplicity of this RPG! this I could definitely see as an mobile port. I only wonder if you could do another build of this with more classes! (as many as imaginable!)minimally slick-wicked work and congrats!

May 21, 2013 @ 3:51am

Very interesting idea!

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 31, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Awesome game! I really enjoyed it even though I finally gave up. Challenging!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]