April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

PRISMA

by Dark Acre Jack - 48 Hour Compo Entry

ALL THE COLORS OF THE RAINBOW.

"Never in my life did I think an LD entry would earn a 5/5 in Audio. So glad I had my headphones on." - TehSkull

For folks getting stuck on RED - keep both orbs well-lit at the same time to progress. They decay at a faster than usual rate. Thanks to Hume for pinpointing the issue!

Thank you all who play, your time is my treasure - DAJ

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#16Audio4.08
#88Mood3.67
#142Innovation3.71
#215Theme3.92
#260Overall3.48
#497Graphics3.11
#662Fun2.86
#663Humor2.08

Comments

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:29am

Very interesting idea, and very minimalistic!

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:34am

Very unusual and interesting. Found it hard to tell what was going on for a while, but enjoyed it.

glisk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:36am

I really appreciate the idea and the mood, good job

ToastyAbraham says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:38am

Best game I've played so far - great use of audio

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:42am

Cool game, awesome work on the audio ! ;)
Fits perfectly with the theme though.

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:43am

Game was a bit weird to understand, not sure if it's only on Linux (used standalone) but the main menu didn't work at all, only the begin button.
Gameplay was a bit slow/repetitive after a while but luckily it wasn't too long. Still a very good job!

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:43am

Fun little game. I'm kind of disappointed that the last level was the last level. Right when I started to have fun in this game, it ended. I think your tutorial levels are too long and by the time you're mixing colors and beats, the game ends.

Still very fun game. Would play more of this.

Also,
Had to refresh the page a few times to get the game working. Make sure this doesn't overload your dropbox bandwidth.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:43am

Very nice, I quite liked the audio and the simplicity (:

TehSkull says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:44am

Never in my life did I think an LD entry would earn a 5/5 in Audio. So glad I had my headphones on. Definitely mention that in the description so others can enjoy the music.

jerrre says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:52am

Beautiful beautiful game, could hardly stop playing!

erdos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:14am

Your voice is really suited to voiceovers, sounds badass!
Interesting concept, I was a bit confused at first but the first few levels do a pretty good job of guiding me/making me figure things out. I definitely like that the bits add up to music when you get through the different parts of each level. Difficult enough to frustrate me, but solvable enough to keep me interested

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:23am

When I first opened it up I thought it was speaking giberish. Audio was great, but it didn't feel very gamey. Nice graphics, transitions, everything really, just no gamey feel.

Andrew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:29am

The red level outsmarted me. Will come back after the post-ld fatigue wears off and try again.

nicotuason says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:34am

I made beautiful music! Really good sound design. Neat puzzles and cryptic messages enhance the experience.

DST says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:48am

I liked the graphics and atmosphere, I think the idea is interesting :)

jami says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:26am

Had to stop playing because my pizza was getting cold. Really addictive!

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:34am

Interesting game - I liked the idea of "activating" two parts of the same sound clip and putting them together. The idea of having the initial options narrated was kinda neat.

But I found it kinda hard to get "into" it... the controls were a bit awkward, and it felt frustrating in the first levels to keep the two spheres active.

Thanks for the game!

lody says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Very simple, yet challenging puzzle mechanic. I enjoyed it very much!

recursor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Very unusual and that's not bad. It feels very different than your other LD48 entries yet there is something about it that makes me think, "yeah, this is a DarkAcre game". I really like how you used audio for the menus. I don't recall seeing that done before. Excellent example of the theme too.

runonthespot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Yeah, this was pretty wicked.

Bevilacqua says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:25pm

I enjoyed the game and the mood it set.

JAH2488 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Interesting and cool.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Great concept, I hope you win the Audio contest!

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:25pm

like the concept!, i enjoyed it

Gremlin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:29pm

This is awesome.

I wish I could run around the levels faster, but that's a nitpick and would interfere with the puzzles.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:30pm

hehe the voice ..liked the audio.. no idea what i was supposed to do otherwise tho ..good job man :)

villhest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:31pm

I like how you use sound in your gameplay machanics. Nice job!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:51am

I loved it and felt like it could make an interesting premise for a much longer game if given the time.

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:59am

Great use of audio as a game mechanic! I pushed on just to hear some more. Though I did have a difficult time trying to figure out how I finished some of the levels...basically when both audio pieces were lit up, but nothing happens and then one or both fades out.

Overall I enjoyed the experience. Mad props for the talking menu :P

boboKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:25am

Nice job Jack. You really rose to the challenge and did something different than your last couple of games. Style is strong throughout.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:05am

Very minimalist. Left me with a strange contemplative feeling afterwards.
Good addition to the Acre.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:00am

Love it. Unequivocally. This seems like less of a game and more of an experience, and it's a really amazing one. Everything from the eyes to the colors to the trails was mesmerizing.

I think this game *might* have more levels in it somewhere, but honestly I think the best parts about it aren't solving the puzzles at all. It's just the crazy atmosphere. Just let me play all day with the beats and the lights. I hardly even care about the synthesis.

juaxix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:54am

Playing with shadows and lights is cool, very proper concept for this contest topic and artistic, hope it was fastest in execution, ah, congrats!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:12pm

A music-game? Nice work!

Putting the sounds together is a lot of fun, and totally works. I think an orthographic camera would work well, you kind-of look up/downon the hexagons.

Pacing could also be tighter, the "Titles" take up a LOT of time I don't want to spend being read something to.

henrykun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Looking at the patriotic colors maybe you are from... France? xD. Very nice, I really liked the whole experience of the game. The options are hilarious :D.

jhrrsn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:48am

Mesmerising sound and vision

richtx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:56am

Really enjoyed this one. Very innovative. Audio was fantastic!

EggDestroyer says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:09am

Interesting atmosphere and use of sound. Unfortunately, I can't pass the "Black & white & red all over" level because I'm not sure what switching to red actually do...

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:47am

Interesting idea and well executed! A bit hard to understand though

Gravel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Great experience.

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Sexy voice in the main menu :D
Fantastic use of 3D audio. First game I've ever seen oriented to audiophiles.

TheSarcastic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Very nice ideia and cool animations!

Mesene says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:22pm

I got stuck on red stage, you should record a speedrun :)
Nice entry

Ithildin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Brilliant!

graytest says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:04pm

I had no idea what to do. I'm not sure if I stopped playing too early thinking there was no more to it, or if I just missed something that would have progressed the game...

petrocket says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Best LD48 game I've played yet. Very cool and artsy. Sometimes timing standing next to the gems at the right time seemed a bit difficult - notably in the 'climb' level, but otherwise really cool. Might be nice in the future to add more things to discover by lighting them up.

May 1, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Another one getting stuck on the "red" level. Too bad, because I was enjoying myself!

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Wow this was great, I enjoyed figuring out what I was supposed to do :) Very stylish too

BradleySmith says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:13pm

This was awesome, good work... amazing for 48 hours.

Grouflon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Kinda hard to figure out what do we have to do, but in the end I really enjoyed the experience. Great effort on dynamic mixing!

Hegemege says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Wicked game, very original and fun idea, got a really intensive feeling while playing. Really unique from other games, felt polished but too short!

KunoNoOni says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:04am

What a vibrant assault of color and sound! Perfection gets no simpler than this. What an amazing entry!

vinull says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:59am

Very nice game, love the use of audio. I completed all the puzzles, but a few I didn't feel like I did anything to solve them - like why did some stones not need to be paired to be moved? Favorite moment: when I got "stuck" at the bottom of the first slide and then went off the screen to the prior level to use it's ladder. Mind == blown!

Arcana says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:05am

Amazing atmosphere and style. I loved it when one of the levels actually was much, much longer than it appeared. It does put you in a contemplative mood. The quotes and presentation were great. One of my favourites so far.

cwilloughby says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:08am

Cool idea. Didn't understand at first but I got it after a bit. Loved the audio. I was completely caught off guard by the positional audio, nice. Graphics and atmosphere were great too. If I could change anything, I would stop the orbs from fading, it could be frustrating to backtrack. Great work!

sol_hsa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:47am

Didn't get past red :(

May 2, 2013 @ 11:07am

Even here, I got stuck at red :(
Interesting game, though, and great use of audio

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:43am

Original gameplay, nice works on the audio part !

plash says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:00pm

I hear mention of audio, but I'm not getting any here on Linux. Will try later when I'm back on Windows.

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Yes. Just completed the game. It fits 100% the theme and it is very interesting. The color Theory thing is just cool :) Good Game!

Oleg Zhurko says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Nice work with audio!

Almax27 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Great concept and very good use of audio. I especially like the spoken text in the menu, nice touch :D

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Nice mood. Unusual and fun.

patrickward says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:35pm

One of the most polished and enjoyable games I've experienced yet. Great use of color, light, audio, and mystery.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Great game dude! The mood is incredible! :D

SnoringFrog says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:04pm

I don't think I really understood what I was doing till it was almost the very end of the game, but it was beautifully done.

Prelucid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:11pm

I was lost at first but then I got it. Cool music and atmosphere.

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:57pm

So... the sounds are really well thought and placed. Very good mood. I like the groove. Good sound design/eng on there.

Pretty good take on the theme.
I managed to get to the Yellow level but couldn't solve it.

davidpeter says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:29am

Nicely done. I felt like some of them ended up as guesswork but I had the sound off (I can't hear) so maybe there were hints in there. Overall, great mood.

angelk says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:14am

Here's a innovative idea that was really taken to a successful level. Audio, visuals, mood, innovation and theme are all great. Excellent work!

Alexander says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Fantastic. Great music, great concept. This was my favorite game so far!

reverso13 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Nice idea, great audio and good graphics!

fishbrain says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Moody. Creepy. Minimalist.

May 3, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Definitely on of the unique ideas floating around in this LD. Giving you high on innovation purely because of that concept. Equally good job on the audio! :D

Hume says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Oh hell yeah.

Good music, good execution. Found the reds decayed a little fast in RED -- I knew what I wanted to do but it was still difficult. Didn't have that problem in any other level.

graytest says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:11pm

I tried it again and figured out how to play it now. Good job! Fun puzzles!

SmilingCat says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:50pm

It was fun just putting together the sounds and shapes. Nothing more needed here. Great job!

gerritg says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Very intuitive. Loved the audio :)

Boiúna says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Awesome game, man. The mood, the mechanic, the sound, everything was very well done. Congratulations.

May 4, 2013 @ 5:09pm

music loops are pretty nice

TuxedoFish says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:16pm

This was so cool i really liked how you used music to portray what was going on it was really innovative and the sound was amazing. I also really liked the menu which came in really slick and was orignal and wacky and the graphics really suited this game. I can't flaw this game. However i lack the skill to do the patriotica one

plash says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:24am

Ahha! You were the one with the other "prisma" :D. I thought this thing was about trucks before I played it.

Notes:

- Woah, spoken menu options. I don't think I've seen that before. Explains my confusion on Linux when they didn't seem to do anything (wasn't getting audio).
- "RED".
- "BLUE". I see how this is going to work.
- I move awful slow.
- "YELLOW STREAK". Apparently some will activate on their own.
- "COLOR THEORY". Combinations.
- "THE OTHER TWO". Red and blue make magenta, not purple!
- End.

Things I would change:

- Make only the "PLEASE RATE & COMMENT" text open the entry URL when clicked (and add hover effect). Opening on any key & mouse input is really rude. Majority of people who are going to rate already have it open.

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:14am

What a mood! Amazing!

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:27am

At first I thought it was a creepy scary game and the fire in the bar almost made me scream :D Nice atmosphere... too bad it's not finished :(

Tyro says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:27am

Loved the atmosphere and audio. Fit the theme to a tee.

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:31pm

(Please disregard my second comment --> wrong game ;) )

GaTechGrad says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:27am

Neat concept, but I couldn't figure out why the spheres would randomly change colors on the Patriot level. The music was worked in seamlessly, and one of the songs reminded me of the theme to the People's Court.

Drabiter says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:12am

Nice fit on the theme, and of course good music!

GaTechGrad says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:12am

Thanks for the tip on pressing up/down to change the sphere color. I tried it again and made it to the end. I bumped my "fun" rating up 2 stars and "overall" up 1 star.

terrivellmann says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Very cool, was a bit lost at first but it moved along and things got clearer.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Good audio and interesting idea, but I think it's a bit too hard for me.

lando walters says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:47am

cool game. Loved the audio!

May 8, 2013 @ 6:16am

Fun once you get used to it; timing / cutoffs were a bit unclear at first.

deathray says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:02am

Very original and had a great mood, but a bit too challenging for my taste.

robotality says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:47am

Enjoyed this. Very nice mood and great usage of audio!

Nikteddy92 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:45pm

I'm ipnotized... love this.

numpad says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Great game. Really impressing sounds. Also looks beautiful.
Awesome work!

mildmojo says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Nice job. Minimal, clean, performs well. I like that you included music that synchronizes when you have the right cubes lit.

I never quite figured out what I should be doing next on the multicolored levels. There was a progression of colors, but I felt like I was trying things at random to get them to complete. It would be good to explain that the lollipops (or joysticks, or PS Move controllers) give you *control* over which color you activate using the up/down arrows. I found it by accident after trying to light 4 red cubes simultaneously.

Some notes on the standalone version:

- Ship it in a zip file, not a RAR, please. Most operating systems can natively open zips but not RAR files.
- You only need to distribute the files in an individual build directory. Everything you need to run in Linux, say, is in your Builds/DALD26_LINUX directory. You could just zip that up and distribute it as the Linux build, and it would take a third of the time to download.
- Add a way to quit the game instead other than closing the window. The escape key's a good bet.

Zccc says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:20pm

How do you control it? I just seem to be going up and down the stairs, no matter what key I press...

mildmojo says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:28pm

I tried the game again to figure out why I had a hard time learning the color switch mechanic.

When you collect the red bulb, you do get up and down arrows on the screen. You don't need to switch colors to finish the level because collecting the bulb sets your color to red automatically, but you do need to go up and down the nearby ladder. I thought the arrows described the movement needed to finish the level.

Maybe it would've helped me if the cubes refused to spin using the "wrong" color, or if the level teaching up/down used a color-switching puzzle before exposing ladders?

May 16, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Very nice game! Good use of the audio and the darkness! This is a real minimalistic game!

Good Job!

May 19, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Nice game, fits the theme in many ways... The only problem is that I wasn't really sure what I was doing, and why, but just doing it sill was fun! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]