April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Unst

by Milo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Unst is a game about moving things forwards by clicking on them until they form rectangles or go away. That's all there is to it.

(I guess you can press 'r' to restart too. Hopefully that doesn't make it too complicated to be minimalist. Strictly speaking, you don't ever *need* to press it, so it *could* be removed)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#76Fun3.71
#119Innovation3.77
#127Overall3.71
#198Theme3.94
#318Audio3.10
#496Humor2.31
#554Graphics3.03
#668Mood2.76
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

Peter says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:55am

good job brandt

LPGhatguy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:14am

This is a wonderful example of a simple puzzle mechanic taken to a point where I'm really bad at it. Good work! I love the music!

Peter says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Good job

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Super great puzzle game. I am stuck on "The Chosen One".

m64 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Brilliant simple, dare I say minimal, rules that generate complex and mentally challenging gameplay.

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Nice concept! It's very well implemented, although the difficulty curve goes sky high on "The Chosen One" lol!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:08am

Nice puzzler. Actually, this is pretty hard and I actually failed in the 3rd or 4th level. However, there is no "quite" or "reset" button built in (or none evident).

I like games that teach game-play simply and gradually, and this is definitely that.

deeJayUA says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:08am

Great Game!!
Amasing Idea!!

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:08am

great puzzle game. I liked it a lot!

Xaychru04 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:18am

This is a good puzzle game, very simple but difficult, I was stucked on "Tetris" ;)

KHANanaphone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:25am

Pretty cool. Gets really hard really fast though. Couldn't get through "finale".

Kom says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:56am

Although the music was a little repetitive, the rest of the game was great.

EggDestroyer says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:42am

I'm stuck at "Tetris". The difficulty ramp is very high, the game becomes way more difficult at "The chosen one". But it made me think a lot : I liked the challenge. You managed to make an interesting puzzle game with a good looking aspect and fitting music (tho a bit repetitive after 10mn, but that's bearable). Extremely simple yet deep. Congrats !

KEFIR says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Very nice designed puzzle game! One more to my favorite puzzle collection!

Orni says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:24pm

loved it, it also has some really great music

the puzzles are amazing and I think I've never seen this concept before - huge kudos

well done :D

klianc09 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:41pm

OMG, I made it! Finally, "The chosen" one was the only one which I couldn't solve by thinking, I just tried randomly until the solution was there. Also implementing a "M" button, like in "mute" would have been great.

Madball says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:16pm

The difficulty quickly went from "Ah, it's simple" to "OMG too hard!" The level design was excellent until the end.

juaxix says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Pretty hard but nice, I liked it

lasergans says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:36pm

YEAY, finished. It was hard. But i loved it :) Really :) Great Job!

Covenant says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:31am

Excelent design, very challenging!

3.14 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:43am

Found it through the 10s compilation project and this was a rare example of a game that I couldn't imagine how to play by the sheer looks of it. Good stuff. It's a nice puzzle, though the difficulty escalates quickly and the lack of undo button (combined with slow animations) make the mistakes time consuming. I managed to get to the tetris level, solved it after some time and then called it enough. But it was fun!

Good job!

MathiO says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:59am

Fantastic puzzle game Milo, well done.

mildmojo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:02am

Wow, nicely done! Those are some fiendish puzzles. Reminds me of the Klotski/SameGame style of puzzles. That last level took some clever movement to solve. I felt like I was thinking sideways and relying on intuition.

Found through the 10s video.

kill0u says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:04am

Good job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]