April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Shape of shades

by allinlabs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Abstract game where you use shadows to orient yourself and go through walls to escape enemies.

WASD / AZSD / arrow keys to move.
<Space> to go through walls.

Find every keys (blue rectangles) and go to the exit (purple rectangle) to complete each levels.
Avoid turret's bullets (orange rectangle) and enemies rushing at you (white rectangle).

Tools used : Haxe, HaxePunk, Circuli for sounds, Gimp, FlashDevelop

--------------------------------------

Changelog of the enhanced version

* Added HelpText, changed font, improved screens with text
* Add a margin to the screen for the player, so we are sure he don't go out of the boundaries
* Particles for the player, EmitterEntity added
* Make the enemies less dumb
* Added diamond shapes for keys
* Changed graphics of bullet, exit, key, monster
* Changed Visibility : allow maps to be a rectangle and not only a square
* Added BorderLimit
* Turrets doesn't need to be visible
* Speed up Bullet creation by using recycling
* Fix the frame-drop issue by lowering frameRate

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#80Mood3.71
#89Theme4.12
#105Overall3.76
#107Innovation3.80
#108Audio3.56
#124Graphics3.85
#300Fun3.27
#908Humor1.78

Comments

Aquatic Games says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:48am

Wow, that was... psychedelic? Great game, the mood is quite mysterious, gameplay seems simple at the beginning but gets real funny when you figure what you can do with this going through walls functionality. Love the different colours. Terrific! 5/5 overall.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:22am

Great concept, really beautiful ;)

FredericRP says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:56am

Quite hard to understand at first, but then it's a great concept ! GG

mkpictures says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Beautiful game! I really liked the concept, the music is simple but immersive. Well done!

dray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Great idea, i really like to be able to go through wall, it's a very clever thing for avoiding the bullets and enemy.

jerombd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Original concept with great visuals, andhe ominous music is a nice touch!
But sometimes, the white rectangle is barely visible (white light too bright, stripes, etc.)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Very nice.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Nice mechanic! I haven't seen anything like that before

Colisan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Innovative, fun to play and the music does make a good ambiance... Congratulations :D

TheSnide says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Nice & quite innovative !

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:34pm

I love the use of raycasted light. Cool game, original and creepy!

aduros says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Nice effects, great atmosphere.

GameNacho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:25am

Good presentation and great unique mechanic, great game!

Adbook says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:20am

This game is just awesome !

Clavus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Could've used a little explanation in the beginning, but once I got what was going on it was quite an entertaining little game. Nice graphical style too.

pentaphobe says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Fucking. awesome.

Brilliant idea and execution. You get all my stars!

ddionisio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Great visuals and ambiance, I was tripping out! I love the effects and how they cycle between colors smoothly. I felt compelled to play through it.

Not sure spacebar is really needed though, might have been better to just automatically enter the next room?

May 2, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Fantastic!
Oddly enough the raytracing-effect could either be some kind of lighting (if it depends on the player position) or a 3D effect for walls that are pretty high (if it depends on the camera position). Since the camera is bound to the player however, it's impossible to know which of the two things it is. If you know what I mean. Just thought that was an interesting find.. :D

Lythom says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Excellent ! The best notes I gave so far. Still, here's some feedback.
What I loved :
- atmosphere
- artistic approach / theme relation
- game design/level design (the feeling your a ghost and can escape everywhere)
What imo could be improved :
- music (get annoying after some time)
- controlled element size (even if centered, it's eye destroyer)
- end / collectable color (blue and violet are hard to distinguish)

Excellent overall, thanks for the game !

Sestren says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:30am

I wanted to keep playing, but by the time I was several levels in, my framerate was unplayably low. I really liked the mechanic, the sound, and the colors, though.

DST says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Great mod! Beautiful game! Strange and interesting mechanic!

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Amazing. The graphics were very interesting in the fact that eventually, I felt like I was playing top-down in a 3d environment...

They did have some glitches at times, but it was great.

caranha says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:19pm

That is pretty neat. I liked thinking about where the hidden areas where, and "my face when" I figured out I could use the small blocks to kill the big ones :-)

There are a few graphical glitches that you might want to look into - I found a few "outside" areas that were rendered as "inside" if you looked at them the right way.

Cheers, and thanks for the game! I went all the way to the end.

GranaDa says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Nice take on the theme. Graphics and audio are great. Good job!

gmaker says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:53am

really fun game!

tcstyle says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Really unique game. Great mood and concept. Maybe the player's square (or the whole presentation) is a tad too small. Everything else is great.

someone says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Nice concept.
The keys looked virtually the same as the exit on some levels and I think the player was a bit small. Also the raycast light seemed to be a bit buggy in some places.
Great job though.

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:12pm

It was hard to figure out what to do without any instruction. Also, you don't always know which wall can be traversed or not.
Overall, the game has amazing visual effects and fits the theme perfectly. Great job!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Waow, nice graphics. It make me think about Monaco with very better aesthetic, and the gameplay is innovative too. Good job.

kill0u says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Nice game :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]