April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MiniQix

by Wiering - Jam Entry

Move around with the arrow keys, surround an area to paint it. Don't let the enemies hit the lines you are drawing.

BTW: the music was inspired by John Cage's 4'33.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#44Theme(Jam)4.04
#245Fun(Jam)2.98
#308Overall(Jam)3.02
#347Graphics(Jam)2.93
#371Humor(Jam)1.72
#423Mood(Jam)2.45
#437Audio(Jam)1.75
#483Innovation(Jam)2.18

Comments

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:45am

This is similar to the classic game of dividing off space from bouncing balls, here generating a pretty image and an amusing take on the theme. Being able to control the slower movement instead of just quickly cutting off a straight wall makes the game more, but this mechanic can easily be abused by making tiny segments repeatedly across the screen, which are too small to be usually hit by the ball. There's nothing really enforcing not doing that, so the player kind of has to decide not to do it for themselves.

stromchin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Most games in this LD really don't have much to do with minimalism, yours does fit the theme 100%

fishbrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Classic. Well done.

rxi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Simple game play and very minimal, though a game concept that I think everyone is familiar with.

I would have really liked it if the game encouraged you to block off the world in such a way (for example, if the movement speed were quicker) as to make the player end up drawing a Piet Mondrian-esque piece by the end of the level. As it is it feels like it's almost there, and I think it would have added an entire extra dimension to the game.

dick_claus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:52pm

True minimalism! You should've added in black blocks too to make it look even more like Modrian :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Classically! I would like to see what is new in this minimalist form of gameplay

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:20pm

I found a bug where the ball fell out of the screen.. pretty neat otherwise though.

The4thCircle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:24pm

This game combines two of my favourite things in the whole world: Qix and the art of Piet Mondrian. If I had to pick fault I'd say the player moves a little slow compared to the enemies. Made it quite tricky.

GreyShock says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:25pm

I always enjoyed a lot this game! Mondrian style!

zatyka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Great use of the theme. I really liked how the board ended up looking. I really wish you could move faster though. Overall, nice job.

dreamlogician says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:30pm

I've always liked Qix and this is decent implementation, but I would have preferred if you had tried to put some kind of unique spin on the formula.

belickim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Oh my, I haven't seen a game with this mechanics for a while now, thanks for bringing some good memories back :D

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:55pm

I always liked this classic game Qix, and your version is very pretty! Fits the theme nicely. :)

Cosine says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Like the game, but it is very slow and challenging! Perhaps if dying wasn't quite as bad. (Only lose, say, 3 blocks instead of everything)

cominu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:39pm

I wish I had this idea, it's a great use of the theme! :)

neight says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Found myself playing it for quite some time. Nice job!

zazery says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Well done! I agree with other commenters that faster movement would make it more enjoyable.

TheBenjaneer says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:00am

Cool game, prefect for the theme. I like how it makes a nice bit of art when you complete a level :D

I'd like to see a faster paced version just for kicks.

Overall though, nice one!

Purplescape says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:12am

Qix was always a great game, and this is no different. It was a lot of fun, and just as frustrating as I remember it. The minimalist theme worked perfectly here. I could play this game for hours.

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Nice cover version. The post Jam version definitely easier to play, more responsive - but rated the other.

hirsch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:31pm

I should have became abstrct painter ;)
There are already existing games mit similar gameplay, but noone outputs art like this. Well done :)

free_napalm says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:47pm

I got bored playing this the safe way (little rectangles), and then I died all the time. Nice art feature though.

SuperDisk says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:35am

Game crashes if you go out one a single line, then back onto the line.

Ryusui says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:14am

I love Qix. And combining it with Piet Mondrian's artwork in a very literal interpretation of the theme was a brilliant idea.

My only gripe is that movement seems quite a bit slower than "real" Qix - what should be a frenetic action-puzzler feels like a bit of a slog. Still, kudos for combining Qix and art in a brilliant little package. :3

Super Hamster says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:26am

Interesting but it would be better if it was less repetitive. Anyways, good job! :D

SneakySalmon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:02am

Cool game, awesome concept and very appropriate graphics :D

pythong says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:54pm

As the others said, great take on an old classic (for me, it was called 'FUSE'). I wish I had had this idea as well, as I also wanted to recreate this classic once :D

Didn't hear any music btw :?

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:40pm

An oddly beautiful game. And yes, the sound is an excellent cover version of 4'33.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]