April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Super Minimalistic

by spilth - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The goal is to avoid picking up any items. You're trying to live a minimalistic life!

- arrow keys to move
- spacebar to jump
- r to reset level

To run:
- download the JAR
- change the directory the JAR is in
- java -jar superminimalistics.jar

I was unable to finish in time so there's no victory condition. But if you make it to the top of the level without collecting thing... congratulations!

I used libgdx, Eclipse and Tiled.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#302Audio3.12
#348Humor2.56
#404Mood3.09
#632Theme3.46
#1029Innovation2.42
#1039Fun2.42
#1097Overall2.62
#1122Graphics2.27
#1485Coolness42%

Comments

Waave says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:42am

Platforming could use some work, but the mood was great. I felt like a hoarder going through withdrawal, and the music fits really well.

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43am

Dudes so happy, but the effects when you collect too many items are pretty creepy. I liked that a lot.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:44am

Couldn't make the long jump :P

uberneen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:49am

Interesting concept. I couldn't find any victory conditions, but I was able to traverse the map without picking much up.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:51am

Beautiful music!

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37am

Liked it a lot, played the game before reading the notes and, guess what? It makes more sense having to find out what the game is all about rather than being told about it. My only note is that there's no goal in the end, you traverse the entire store and then you're left wondering if I missed something besides the pile of stuff. But I guess that this was left out for time constraints, so it's OK :).

Zathalos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:17am

The game is incomplete but the mood and manipulation of the sound effects was interesting. I had to play it again because I missed the part about NOT collecting items. :p Good job.

numpad says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Great idea with a minimalistic life.
Controls were kinda boring, but great music.

Beerman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:28pm

The jump physics felt a little iffy, but I like the idea of having to avoid collecting things.
I did have to go back and collect ALL THE THINGS, just to see if anything happened :)

neight says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:06am

I don't see what the problem is. It's so hard to throw things away. What if I need it? You don't know what its like!

daubers says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Interesting game. Physics all works nicely would be good to see if eventually finished :) The score and things don't seem to move with the screen which is unfortunate.

Very nice music!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Couldn't find an end, but interesting concept. The music was nice and it was cool how it got creepier when you collected things. Still, could use some work, and some clear passage of where to go (or completion, if there was no route).

infernet89 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:00am

Dude, long jumping is very hard!

spilth says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:21am

Thanks for all the feedback! I fixed a small bug - score/item count now stays on the screen and doesn't move with the map.

spilth says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Another minor update - updated the libgdx JARs to the latest nightlies which should allow you to just double-click the JAR on Macs to start the game rather than from the command-line.

Aaants says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Nice work. I failed miserably at avoiding the pickups but I guess I'm just greedy :)

Arcana says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:12am

My emotions when playing this game: "OH NO I PICKED UP AN iPAD!!... wait a second... wouldn't I want some extra iPads?"

Nice take on the theme and nice overall concept. I made it to the top with 17 items collected on my third or so try. I like that the game is actually "winnable" even if you didn't finish it!

May 3, 2013 @ 3:53am

I played the whole game before reading the don't-collect-anything note, and kept thinking "Didn't I get them all, did I miss one?" But then playing it again, properly, was far more challenging and the item-placement made far more sense. Some pregame instruction to that effect would have been good. Also the platforming controls could be tightened up a bit. But overall, a clever take on the theme, forcing a lot of people to fight their collectors instincts, which was really neat.

mikeware says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Really like the idea of not having to collect stuff. Turn the traditional platformer on its head. The jumping was pretty tough at times, especially trying to run and jump off the one block platforms. I couldn't make the long jump either shown just above in the screenshot.

paulopn says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:11am

Jumping was a little odd, but other than that it worked really well! Also, nice music. =D

Thijsku says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:38am

The jumping feels a bit odd. Fun game nonetheless!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]