April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Prison Retreat

by JaydenB - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Escape the prison without running into your inmates!

Minimalist controls, simple Arrow keys to move, interaction by running into objects and continue applying force to them.

Controls as stated: Arrow Keys - Move
Shift - If you really want to sprint

Post your fastest time here!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#748Humor1.97
#778Theme3.31
#840Graphics2.67
#843Fun2.67
#914Overall2.83
#952Mood2.47
#1073Audio1.33
#1084Innovation2.30

Comments

rockford says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Like it. Too slow to push the crates (and I'm not sure its needed to win?).
Procedural level generator should be a great feature (for later versions :-)).

JaydenB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:06am

I was playing around with the crates timer, and did probably leave it too long. Maybe there should be a visual indicator of the time as well.. I definitely want to add procedural level generation, and definitely need to make the crates go onto a button or something which could open doors/activate things and/or more keys that open different doors and things. Thanks for the suggestions, made me think of what I need to do even more for a post-compo version :)

Felix20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Pretty nice game, I tried to hide from one of the inmates but he came through the door and umm... got... me.

Seems a bit unfinished and some sound might have helped a bit.
The controls are good, and it's a solid concept thought.
Btw, I got 28 seconds.

timtipgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:56am

Too bad it's so short!

Saturnyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:11am

24 seconds.
I like the graphics when you are hurt, but I wish there was a way to strike back ^^

JaydenB says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:47pm

@timetipgames: thanks! that really makes me feel that people liked the game for even how short it is! (more of a tutorial level than anything)
@Saturnyn: That was in the plan, but I forgot one snippet of code needed for that, that was online on the FlashPunk site but now that is down and I've lost it xD I'll try to figure it out for a post-compo release :)

DustyStylus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:41am

Quite short, but nice idea!

metaldemon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:45pm

neat little game, you should expand upon this :D there is definatly room for it :D

May 1, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Art style is similar to our game :D, good work! I could not avoid the inmates they gain haste when I dropped the soap... :O

fakeyou says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Not really sure what the point of the crates was. Also the key was kinda of pointless because it was just given in the start and that was it. You needed the key to go through doors though and when I tried to run away from an inmate I bolted through a door expecting the door to stop him but it didn't so that was disappointing.

amodo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:58am

Nice little game. Would definitely play more levels! Good jerb!

Tifu says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:45pm

15 seconds :D! Was a little surprised that the other inmates could open doors, I'm the one with the key!
Sadly very short :(

dector says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Nice. Need moar levels! :)

Nisshoku says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:31pm

short but functional :)

May 9, 2013 @ 1:26pm

not bad, but i dont fun so much

Jiyko says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Simple but satisfying. I enjoyed it, great use of the theme.

FrederickK says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:15pm

quite short but really cool, please more levels. it's easy and fun to play

avidgamerNino says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:06am

Really easy simple and quick. Maybe just make it a little harder.

WiseGAMER says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 11:46am

Nice game I loved how simple it is yet fun :)

thatwhichis says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:17pm

27 seconds, I winned! While getting beaten up. Really like the damage overlay. :-)

DST says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Nice use of the theme and solid mechanics :)

AndyBumpkin says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Certainly fits the theme! Nice entry :)

captainkraft says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Good start to a game. There is much to be done though

swizzcheez says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Very nice. The trick seems to be hiding from the inmates (who game them keys anyway).

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]