April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ascent

by Furyhunter - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a minimalist platformer. You can only jump, and you must Ascend to the top. Press Z to jump.

Written in C++11 with SFML using KDevelop and CMake on Kubuntu Linux.

http://furyhunter.github.io/ld26-minimalism/

The mingw32 build may not work on your Windows computer. If that's the case, try the MSVC build.

This game is dedicated to my late friends Lance Colton and Chrystal Carlson. Read more: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/04/25/im-in-to-honor-my-friends/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#483Theme3.61
#758Graphics2.76
#800Overall2.94
#843Fun2.67
#987Innovation2.50
#1080Mood2.29
#1689Coolness32%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Well that was rather nice. I've seen similar ideas before, and the difficulty was fairly high, but I really loved the playful level design; particularly the amount of interest you rung out of a simple spring mechanic.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:07pm

+Challenging core mechanic.
+Trippy backgrounds

-Jumping a bit sticky
-Moving the window around glitches the game (in a partly useful way I might add)

Furyhunter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:01am

@HuvaaKoodia, the window issue is specific to Windows and its event system. Unfortunately it happens in SDL as well, and I'm not familiar enough with the Windows API to fix it.

Mark Hildreth says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:15am

Running this on an AMD64 linux with libsfml-1.6 (Ubuntu build). Every time I started a level the character seemed to have dropped through the floor a second earlier and I just fall forever "below the level". Even moved level2.txt to level1.txt to play the second level and it still happened.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:22am

What do you mean by "MSVC build"?

IT is very much not running my my computer.

Furyhunter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:24am

MSVC = Visual Studio. I can't figure out how to build SFML using Visual Studio 2012 (the only license I own) so it may be a while.

The mingw32 build works for some people, and not at all for others. I don't know why, but it works perfectly in Wine, my native Windows 7 install, and a Windows 8 virtual machine.

@Mark That's strange, though it is caused by a variable timestep there is something causing the game to halt for a little bit after it opens, breaking physics. Try running it with Kwin/Kubuntu or something other than Unity/Compiz.

CheesyRamen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:46am

I really enjoyed your game and the use of minimalism applied to a 2D platformer!

Also my condolences to your friends. I can see that you had a great mentor, and I'm sure they're enjoying the game you made for them up there.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:22am

I got it working on Linux after installing SFML. The jumping was extremely difficult. Sometimes it would jump when I press the key, sometimes after a short delay. Sometimes big jumps, sometimes small jumps. I tried for ages but I could never hit the first green button. I added some print statements to the main loop and discovered that the deltas varied between 16 and 60 ms! A variable timestep is notoriously difficult to get right, I highly recommend switching to a fixed timestep for physics and decoupling physics updates from the video refresh rate.

May 2, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Interesting idea and well executed. Slightly frustrating at times but since it's quite an original approach, that's a risk you had to take I guess. Overall a pretty positive surprise.

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Nice use of 1-button gameplay! The jumping had something wrong with it... it's hard to describe. It just feels like I have less control than I should.

... plus, for some reason, the game skipped me to the next level when I was 3 from the end. Randomly. I'm not sure how it happened. Haha

paulopn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Surprisingly robust, considering the simple mechanics. Nice challenge too. =D

Spiridios says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Can't rate - mingw build just gives me a blank command window and I can't find the MSVC build mentioned in the description.

Norgg says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:14am

Runs fine for me on Windows 8, 64bit. The level design was pretty good, but the mechanic rubs me up the wrong way, making things seem needlessly frustrating, especially with the occasional movement glitch in there.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]