April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Cube Story

by PushmePullyu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A one button game (minimal interface) featuring a character than can only jump (minimal mechanics). Guide the cube to get the treasure and then get back to the door to finish a stage. This was an exercise mostly in level design as Ive never actually designed a good level before. My apologies for the art and the lack of sound. I just totally ran out of time. The whole thing is made with Flambe, sprites with PyxelEdit, and coded with FlashDevelop. Whew I made it! :D

Remember the goal is to get the treasure and then get out.
I should have made this clearer in the game, sorry :<

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#912Theme3.16
#957Humor1.68
#1129Innovation2.23
#1246Mood1.67
#1258Fun1.97
#1289Overall2.23
#1304Graphics1.80

Comments

Lazren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:02am

Frustrating stages but fits the theme quite perfectly. Minimal controls too. Potato.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15am

Thought it was very innovative in its own way (top points!) though quite frustrating gameplay at times. For instance the momement I miss a jump far away from a wall to turn with... Good luck!

Puccini says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:05pm

The level design is bad, it's vey frustrating. In the graphics, if you don't have time, is better use shapes with a good palette of colours than a sprites don't over.

theomnis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:07pm

I like the minimal controls, but there really needs to be an easier way to turn around.

FredericRP says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Good use of the minimalism concept, but as said above, it's really hard to have a good and not frustrating level design using only one key (Blink uses it well with very small levels : http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=5284 )

PPLo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Difficult and addictive! I didn't manage to clear stage 3 because of my lack of skills, but I had a great time playing this game. Also, you have to be patient when you miss a jump :)

LoneStranger says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:24am

I found the jumping too awkward, and the movement too slow. Made it frustrating to make any progress.

PushmePullyu says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Thank you for all the critiques and tips guys. Also thanks for playing my game. I appreciate it :D

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:35am

Level design leaves a lot to be desired. A restart button, and keyboard controls would really help.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]