April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Battle Box

by mikeware - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Simple two-player HTML5 strategy game. Rules are on the webpage before you start.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#326Innovation3.42
#831Theme3.25
#861Overall2.89
#968Fun2.53
#1177Mood2.09
#1189Graphics2.15

Comments

martijn says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Interesting. The number you have does not really have a lot of effect on my decision where to place it. Also it would be real handy to have an indicator of whose turn it is.

mikeware says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Thanks, it's down at the bottom in small text. Was trying to give the board the most space. Might try and add a more visual indicator on the player's next number later.

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:49pm

An AI would have gone a long way here. I don't have any friends....

Shigor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:25am

Idea seems nice and the rules working, but it's kinda hard to judge the effect while playing against myself... At least super stupid AI would make it a bit more interesting.

Loren says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:16am

nice job, cool take on the theme :)

mikeware says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Thanks guys, yeah, I probably should have spent time making an AI instead of fighting with cloud code. I did get the cloud code working yesterday finally, so that's up on my site http://www.mikeware.com/battlebox/online.htm. It'll hook you up with someone else who happens to be online at the same time to play. (Works on FireFox, Chrome and Safari, the Parse cloud stuff doesn't support IE fully...grrr).

Polar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Quite interesting, and there were interesting rules, but I found the actual gameplay a bit tedious - I guess it's part of the needing two players thing. Also, it might be more interesting if you can't see the other player's hand.

someone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Very nice. Only played against myself though. There didn't seem to be anyone else online for your cloud version.

DaveDobson says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:12am

Interesting math rules; seemed like there was a bit of luck with the numbers that came up. I didn't have another person to play with, so I ran through it solo, which limit enjoyment some. An interesting idea, well executed; good match to the theme.

mikeware says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:47am

@Polar, yeah the cloud version only shows you your opponent's next move not their whole hand.

@someone, it's on my todo list to look at adding a 'currently online' player counter to the title page.

lotusgame says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:40am

Interesting concept ! Despite the fact that it is written down and that each one takes a turn after the over, it is actually hard to know who has to play (we are so focus on calculating). You should perhaps make something flashy ;)

alts says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:49am

This is a rather interesting game. The game rules seem simple enough here that I'm quite interested in building a bot to find strategies. I'll be bookmarking this and playing it for quite a bit.

mikeware says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:23pm

@lotusgame, thanks yeah, I got wrapped up in the mechanic and taking a minimalist approach to having the board fill the screen, that I only thought of adding the info for who's turn it was at the end near the bottom.

@alts, thanks! I'd be intrigued to see if there are multiple strategies or not. I was more focused on getting a cloud version up than a bot to play against. Have fun!

GranaDa says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Nice concept. A bit hard to figure what the numbers has to do with the game other than fill the squares. Overall, it could be a good mobile game. Good job!

FrederickK says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:09pm

great game, i play the LD link and "online", it's great, I love it, congratulations.. (if you continue this game, would be cool add some feedbacks of the calculation that happened with sounds)

Brassawiking says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Seems like an interesting idea, unfortunatly i could not test it with another person, so I do not know how it will play out in a real game session.

lorancou says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 5:58pm

I played a bit vs. my second half, but not enough to figure out what strategy was a winning one. Still, this is an interesting mechanic, good entry!

KEFIR says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Interesting game concept. Did you came up with this by yourself? If so - very nice design work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]