April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MinimaLand

by Switchbreak - Jam Entry

You have been trapped in a minimalist indie platformer! Destroy its sophisticated austerity by adding things to the world!

Arrow keys to move, space to jump.

This is an HTML5 game built using Cocos2D, it should work in all browsers but it works best in Chrome. The particle effects are only enabled in Chrome, because the performance on them is too bad in other browsers.

Music is by pneuman, art is by Madie.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#68Overall(Jam)3.70
#83Theme(Jam)3.83
#105Fun(Jam)3.38
#110Audio(Jam)3.47
#125Graphics(Jam)3.77
#129Humor(Jam)2.82
#208Mood(Jam)3.15
#210Innovation(Jam)3.18

Comments

madcow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:08am

Cool! :)

ignifluous says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:06am

Rock on. This is brilliant.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:15am

Really nice concept. Thought it was a nice take on the theme, a little disappointed that I can't beat the boss, but it's a really good game all the same. Nice job!

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:59am

Great game! very innovative

Shigor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:49am

Not the first game I've seen about turning minimalist art to something better, but the results are very good, even if the basic gameplay is platformer (which is a genre I hate with passion). I almost quit on few pages... but liked it anyway.
Probably because of the music :)

NuSan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:51am

Interesting idea, and the platforming is great. I find the clash between "realism" and "minimalism" a bit disturbing, but i can simply turn everything in "realism" if i whant it ^^

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Really interesting concept. The boss-battle dialog was really funny.
Great job!

Ludipe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Original take on the theme. It's a nice and entertaining platformer.

sythe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Mildly disappointed that the moving platforms didn't transform, but a wonderful game overall. I love the feeling of discovery (or uncover-y).

sythe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Mildly disappointed that the moving platforms didn't transform, but a wonderful game overall. I love the feeling of discovery (or uncover-y). One of, if not the best HTML5 game I've ever played!

multitude says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:19am

cool concept. add some more stuff to do to reveal the levels.

BenW says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:46am

Fun game. Unfortunately my characters movement speed was too slow in chrome so I had to play it in a different browser. It would have been even cooler if reducing the minimalism affected the gameplay somehow. Also, I really didn't see that ending coming.

oldtopman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:53am

Cool game - interesting take on the theme.
I didn't manage to make it past those two spikes that were really close, but I had fun anyway.

plash says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:55am

Notes:

- Like the music! Bad loop, though.
- Ahha! Good mechanic. Simple platformer.

What I would change:

- Fix that music loop!

nimblegorilla says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:39am

I really liked the artwork changing when you touch it - I agree it would be nice if the white and red parts also transformed somehow.

nseward says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:21am

How awesome is this!? I loved destroying the minimalism.

lotusgame says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:17pm

An interesting idea. Difficulty could be more progressive...

netpro2k says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Cool concept. I would suggest not being able to hold jump as i found myself accidentally jumping upon landing many times

daredevildave says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Great game. The jumping and collision could do with just a little tweaking to make if feel more responsive.

But nicely executed, none-the-less.

FelipeTavares says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:32am

Wonderful!

elbowroom says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:04pm

This was very well executed in an epic kind of way. The gameplay was a tad bit too easy other than on specific jump. Overall it is very good, despite being too easy.

rezzish says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:16am

What a splendid little game. With voice acting! Though it would probably be nicer if you didn't auto jump. I killed myself a few times from that.

May 5, 2013 @ 2:43am

Woow, i confessed that was surprised. One good surprise. In some moments, seemed impossible continue progressing in game, but i got it! The Soundtrack is very perfect, and the art style is very nice. I very liked the your game!

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Nice :P The level at the end had a glitch where I fell through the floaty blocks, but I eventually figured out how to beat it.

One level in particular was really evil. You know which one it was ._.

notajetski says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Played all the way through! Nice job. Couple things:

1. You move faster horizontally when jumping than running
2. Playtest more! This seems like a case where the developer is gets really good at the game and might not realize how hard it is for everyone else.

Jacic says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Great idea, great execution! :)

tankete says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:32am

Fun. Finished. You Win! :)

May 12, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Haha, such a great game. Loved the music and such a wonderful graphics style. The narration in the end was also a very nice touch. For some extra oomph though, you could've dragged the 'boss'-fight out a tad longer and gave him a couple more lives, maybe added some screen shake and explosion effect. (;

Excellent job! 10/10 ~

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]