April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Antarctic Skirmish

by Meep - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My take on the theme, minimalism, was to take a typically complex and overwhelming genre of games and simplify it to its core gameplay.

Antarctic Skirmish is a minimalistic real-time strategy (RTS) game. There are two main objectives: to farm resources, and to fight. Penguins may farm fish at fishing holes, and additional penguins may be hired at the cost of some fish. The game ends when one team's igloo is destroyed (Effectively preventing the team from hiring additional penguins).

This is my fifth time entering the Ludum Dare competition, and probably the closest I've gotten to the deadline. D: Unfortunately the game lacks sound, but I hope its in-game visuals can compensate for it.

Details on how to play are in-game, but for redundancy:

- Left click + drag to select penguins
- Right click to issue target to selected penguins
- Left click igloo to hire penguin for 5 fish
- WASD/Arrows to scroll around map

The Windows (.exe) version is of much higher quality, as the HTML5 version has some anti-aliasing issues with resizing graphics.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#243Fun3.37
#283Graphics3.46
#303Overall3.43
#452Humor2.39
#566Mood2.86
#810Theme3.28
#923Innovation2.62
#1061Audio1.41

Comments

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:44pm

I think this is a really good version of a minimal rts. It's really stripped down to only the important elements and the controls are well done. I have not been able to win in 3 games, but I'm really bad at RTS games, so that doesn't mean a whole lot. Good job :)

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:47pm

This is extremely well done! Very well done with the theme! Fun to play too! AI actually forced me to really try to win. Would have liked some sound and the ability to micro individual penguins and their targets, but overall I think it was excellent!

Meep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Thanks! :) You actually are able to micro individual penguins/choose specific targets for individuals, it's just unfortunately not clear as I didn't have time to add some indication of sorts. :( They auto-attack the nearest enemy within a given range, but issued targets from the player take priority.

Polar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Great game :) Is there any reason that my penguins didn't seem to be attacking very fast (compared to the enemy) or is that just me being bad at the game?

Meep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Your penguins should have the same attack rate as the enemy penguins; It might have to do with repetitively changing your penguin's targeted enemy.

MaxguN says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Really basic rts mechanics really well implemented. Fighting the AI is challenging. Like it :)

dualtagh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Cool, I'm a fan of RTS games, so I'm impressed to see one for a game jam!

sfernald says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Really cute game. Fits the theme perfectly. Quite polished. Starcraft lite lite lite lite, lol.

graytest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Very difficult, but a cute little RTS game. This could probably be made into a great game!

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Great game, lots of fun! Took me 3 tries to actually make it! :)

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:09pm

The AI's a bit too fast for me in this, I can't seem to win. What the game really needs I think is a better ability to automatically target nearby enemies. I've noticed that my penguins will just keep fishing while the ones next to them get killed off. It's at least somewhat effective to stay on the edge of a big squad and pick them off without triggering aggression from the whole group. I really liked the art in this, and I thought the limitation of penguins on the ice holes were a good choice to influence expansion of territory. Overall a pretty good implementation of minimal RTS mechanics, and I think despite my frustration at the difficulty it's better to have the AI be too hard than too easy.

Benjamin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Really like those fishing rod lines :) This little details add a lot to a game. Managing the differents penguin was fun. It should have been difficult to work on AI on a game like this...

patrickward says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:23pm

I found this very challenging. I couldn't get my penguins to fight back for some reason. The enemies always overpowered my little guys. That's probably me though! The graphics, game play, and concept were neat. Very cute game.

Beldarak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:28pm

I'll never be able to beat it since I suck at RTS but I liked it. You should add the fact that you can target a single ennemy with all your penguins in the key descriptions. Before knowing that I thought the ennemies pinguins were stronger than mine.

Oye Beto says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:08am

Wow.. the AI made me think it was impossible but it wasn't.

- Great game, it was very fun (5/5).
- It's like a Zerg rush mini game :D
- The images resolution is too low and the text is blur.
- Good job on the AI.
- Not very "minimalistic"
- It's good that you put a mini map.

someone says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:09pm

That was good. Well done for making an RTS.
Seemed odd that the menu required the keyboard for a mouse driven game.
Would have been nice to have some different feedback for attack orders.

HD408 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:01am

Cool strategy game, but only one level. I'd like to play more of that. Those game mechanics could sustain like three levels without a single change, just new maps. Nice sprites, too.

I ended up hiring like 200 penguins that got past the map borders because of the lack of space, while AI tried to fight me with some 5-10 penguins once per a minute or two.

Super Hamster says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:43pm

The game was really simple yet so complex. It was interesting finding the winning strategy, it would have been nice if there were like different modes of hardness or something to make the game last a bit longer because I feel that once I have beaten it, I can beat it over and over again and not lose. Really great job on it! :D

May 7, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Too hard for me :)

henrykun says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:20am

I enjoyed it a lot, it looks like you work a lot, even though there was no time for sounds, the NPC behaviours are really good and hard, nice.

sboerwinkle says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Liked it alot! Took a while to defeat those pesky penguins, but I finally did it.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 5:06am

that was fantastic -- great use of theme and very nice rts -- good job

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Extremely good balance in the game. It took some effort to beat the computer actually. Really nice work. I usually suck at RTS which is why I like these simplified ones.

michail says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Really good job, nice graphics and good AI. I took me 2 rounds to win.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]