April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

AYUG

by Kalakian - Jam Entry

This was my second idea, after having spent the first day without much progress on a different game. Could have made it for compo, but fun was had, and that's the main thing.

Game should work in any HTML5 capable browser, but needs a keyboard for in-game controls.

"Minimalism" through:

* 16-colour CGA palette
* No anti-aliasing
* Tile-based graphics, movement, and collisions
* Few controls (Arrow keys)
* Simple goal (Grab the coins, and get to the exit)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#232Theme(Jam)3.38
#466Fun(Jam)2.30
#541Graphics(Jam)1.90
#547Overall(Jam)2.14
#554Innovation(Jam)1.50
#1689Coolness32%

Comments

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:53pm

29139! That is my incredibly low high-score! Gotta say, didn't even realize I was being timed until a couple levels in, then that really started to impact how I played. Good difficulty curve. :-)

kbm0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Not bad, although I would really like it if when I hold down an arrow key, the player would keep on moving in that direction. Good job!

Yacodo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:31pm

I sincerely second to the hold down mechanism ! Nice compo

Kalakian says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Thanks for the feedback.

I started off with tile-based movement and was going to move to smooth movement / hold key down. I kept it the way it is because it seemed to fit the theme and overall gameplay better. With smooth movement, it would lose part of the challenge since your speed wouldn't be based on how quickly you can mash your keyboard without destroying it.

sythe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:08pm

*dislikes button mashing* *tries game* *game requires button mashing* *dislikes game*

Loren says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:52am

pretty solid game :)

tzamora says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:24am

Very simple.

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Nice job!

richtx says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:09am

Fantastic. A simple mechanic, but it had me trying to think ahead while still panicing on my time. I like it when gaves that seems super simple on the surface have a certain depth. Good job.

Brassawiking says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:34pm

This one had me hooked for a while actually. Nice and simple, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]