April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time for Ascension!

by sfernald - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Time for Ascension! is a text based game built with HTML, Javascript and JQuery. Actually, I use TypeScript code to generate the Javascript. Was going to use Twine but decided to roll my own to give it some special functionality (events).

It should work on all computers, tablets and phones with a modern web browser.

I believe it fits the minimalism theme because 1) it is a text-based game and has no graphics or sound and 2) the design of the game is based on a simple event queue - it is incredibly simple.

You are Danial Gibson, a software genius and billionaire who is trying to save mankind from a deadly plague.

Can you make the Ascension and become Mankind's savior?

Note, it has been verified that it is possible to win.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#247Humor2.76
#257Mood3.26
#679Innovation2.97
#688Fun2.83
#778Theme3.31
#812Overall2.93
#1234Graphics2.07
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:20am

Nice game mechanics, unfortunately, I wish there was a timer for queued events.

sfernald says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Yeah, I could add a countdown on each turn letting you know how the events are progressing. Good idea.

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Works quite well, extremely playable.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:59pm

"Covered in her blood, you wonder if she was really the one." Made me laugh. Awesome.

tompudding says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Pretty cool. It seemed somewhat though that I was exploring all of the choices eventually which dimished my sense of being in control somewhat. I enjoyed the setting and the story though

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Well, that was different!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Most intriguing.

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:03pm

very nice, enjoyed the writing!

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Nice one, beautiful story and agreable to read !

Macroz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Enjoyed it! Reminds me of my earlier games :)

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:50pm

I wish there had been an option to just let turns pass more often, so I wouldn't have to research a cure for the zombies I had just decided to use for something else.

sfernald says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Tompudding: yeah, needed more choices. Also options expire four turns so it is possible to miss turns. If I set that to three turns, a lot of choices would be missed on each play, but then it wasn't possible to reach the win condition, so I left it as it was. Definitely needed more options which I would have done with more time. Had a whole alien race invasion storyline when you explore the galaxy which had to get cut.

Crowbeak: yeah, I debating whether to offer a 'pass turn' option on every turn. Probably would have been a good idea. If you use it though, you probably won't be able to win the game. Every turn counts to win.

sfernald says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Mikelovesrobots3: That was my favorite line, lol. That and the whole concept of resurrecting and consuming your wife over and over again for eternity, lol.

protensity says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:54am

Roll your own text adventure engine! Very cool. Twine can do just about anything itself, but it can be a pain to customize.

Hopps says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Pretty cool that you made your own engine! I Enjoyed it!

May 5, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Holy crap this is well written. It might take several playthroughs to uncover it all.

SusanTheCat says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Well written and interesting.

Would have liked to pass. I wanted to honour my wife's wishes and not resurrect her. As it was, I kept resurrecting her and draining her lifeforce.

Susan

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]