April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Puck Gunners

by eedok - Jam Entry

No instructions but the game is played with the left stick and A button, can be played with keyboard arrows and space, but is very not recommended

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#54Fun(Jam)3.60
#77Innovation(Jam)3.59
#144Overall(Jam)3.47
#216Graphics(Jam)3.43
#222Theme(Jam)3.41
#228Humor(Jam)2.31
#256Mood(Jam)3.00
#285Audio(Jam)2.88

Comments

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:08am

you had me at bacon blade -- seriously, nice effort -- need some joysticks tho

TaleLore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:08am

Very good game, even though I was dumb enough to play it using the keyboard.

LionelJitro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:10am

Controller is a must for the joystick!

Really simple yet effective art style. Amazing spin (hehe) on an air hockey game. Really cool.

If only I had another xbox controller to play with someone else.

Topaz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:35am

Wow, that's pretty awesome. Still fun on a keyboard.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:36am

Bacon Blade's a cool name... The Game is pretty nice.

TehSkull says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:36am

Not bad, but multiplayer LD games are difficult to rate properly. Plus keyboard controls were far more awkward than they needed to be. Keyboard and joystick don't need to control the same way.

cmjd says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:40am

Cool game, definitely needs a controller though, I suppose mouse controls could have been created, but it would have been way less fun and challenging. Good work!

eedok says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:44am

Sorry about the control issue. We wanted to do mouse control but ran out of time. Thanks for the comments guys!

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:54am

Good game, though super hard to play on a keyboard. The AI was pretty easy to beat (once you got the puck on his side, the AI would usually shoot the puck such that it would bounce right back and hit his own turret).

cahman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Nice take on a classic! Defense seemed to be the best 1 player strategy. Sooner or later the AI would smash itself with the puck.

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:38am

I lost 10-02. I'm doing something wrong or it's a bit difficult? xD
but yeah, coll concept, good made.

NiallM says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:45am

I like this, but even on a pad the controls are kind of unintuitive. I was expecting to rotate the turret with just the y-axis (i.e. up=rotate left, down=rotate right). It took me a while to work out that the turret's direction actually matches the stick's direction.

whilefun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:13am

I found the controls very hard to use with keyboard. Precision aiming would be better I think, or I should have used a joystick. I was only playing single player, and could not get a point for the life of me. I liked the music and sound effects. Interesting take on air hockey, too.

May 2, 2013 @ 2:18am

I definitely agree that bacon blade is an AWESOME name! I had to use keyboard, but I can see how fun it'd be with a 360 controller and rated it accordingly :)

The shattering cannon is great, too, btw!

Nonameghost says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:35am

Nice! AI was way to hard haha, it tracked the puck non-stop! But it's a novel idea, nice slick art, and a really nice feel overall. Great job!

kirby_freak says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:37am

This was pretty fun! Great concept! Either I suck, or you made some decent aiming AI :P Great work.

Oye Beto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:40am

What an interesting idea. It's a new twist on the hokey games.
I played it with a controller.

The AI is pretty good. I'm sure it would be more fun with someone else. Great game!

Loren says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:11pm

nice job, pretty cool idea!

May 2, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Awesome !

Great job !

Nikteddy92 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Nice. A little bit long the charge time..

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]