April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MinimalismRPG

by Ernyz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My minimalistic, kind of slow paced RPG game. I've tried to mix roguelike and action rpg games elements here. It might be difficult, because it lacks some balance, but I ran out of time and stamina (mostly stamina)... Hope you enjoy!
Note: the more enemies you kill, the higher the score will be! Also I recommend trying various race-class combinations, othertwise game can become booring too soon :)

Software used: Adobe flash, bfxr, wolfram tones, aseprite.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#767Mood2.67
#899Audio2.10
#982Innovation2.51
#983Graphics2.48
#996Humor1.61
#1227Fun2.07
#1234Overall2.38
#1273Theme2.50

Comments

Inf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Ambitious! I like the claustrophobic feeling the sight cone gives.

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:05pm

The music just stops randomly after a while, otherwise not too intresting, it's very unrewarding to do anything other than run away and find the goal and it kinda kills the game.

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:11pm

The view cone gives it specific feel, but the constant blinking was too hard on my eyes.
Looks ambitious, but after wandering for few minutes here and there i got too bored.

Ernyz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Thanks for comments :) The way music plays is just as I planned, because I thought that if it played continuosly, it might get annoying for the player. Yes, completing the game is not too difficult, but if you aim for the higher score, it gets harder (and maybe a liiitle more interesting) since you have to fight monsters :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:36am

Very hard but original as well !

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Nice job! The art style fits the gameplay well and I love the sense of anxiety that the sight cone gives you :D This is a great base to continue to build on!

May 1, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Not very fun, the blinking was too annoying for allowing me to continue playing... but I enjoyed the idea with a sight cone. Also, would've liked a menu for choosing race/class, typing is boring...

mortl8324 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Cool game, a bit overwhelming looking for a minimalistic game

Arcana says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:02pm

It would have been nice to have a smooth view cone rather than a tile-based view cone. I didn't feel that it was rewarding enough either to fight monsters (or arrow traps as it were). I didn't even think I could kill arrow traps for a while. :)

The sidebar seemed really big and showed a lot of information that I didn't really need to know about - a more minimalistic (ha!!) one should have sufficed.

This is an ambitious project, feels kind of like a preliminary Gauntlet-style game.

bryonglass says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:09pm

I didn't like the small view, and I didn't understand how it followed the topic.

Ernyz says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Thank you all for taking time to play my game :)
Well, to be honest, I disliked the theme very much. But I thought that if player can have 2 skills only, thats pretty minimalistic compared to other RPG's. Also, I've tried to make graphics minimalistic (there are just two diffirent tiles - ground and wall), there were no animations and etc.
FOV is ugly, but it was first time I did something field of vision related... I intended to do it small, to give the already in comments mentioned sense of anxiety :)

dem0 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:37pm

A bit too hard and the fov was too small imo, but pretty fun too.

Gemberkoekje says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:26pm

High Risk Website Blocked

Location: www.ernyz.lhosting.info/MinimalismRPG.html
Access has been blocked as the threat Mal/HTMLGen-A has been found on this website.
Return to the page you were previously viewing.

Ernyz says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Was it when you tried to play again after winning/loosing? Because when you press to play again, you are taken to the same page, its like reloading the game again/refreshing the page. And that can cause this problem.

lotusgame says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:34pm

The field of view is very flashing. But it's a nice try to mix rogue like game and rpg, furthermore in a 48h entry. good work !

Erunaamo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:38am

Mouse controlled view cone is a very nice idea, but it flickers too much for me.

mortus says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:08am

I liked it overall, but it doesn't seem to be too stable for me. First time I tried it gave me a human fighter despite I chose otherwise. First dungeon level was unbeatable (exit was blocked by a wall). And sometimes you can't see walls that you should be able to see theoretically. If you are to improve this game, I recommend you to show only floor tiles like you do now, and then show all walls adjacent to visible floor tiles. That should look much better IMO.

dector says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Will you work on it after LD? Better FOV, quests? :)

Ernyz says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:38am

FOV is ugly as hell, I admit it :D and the interface where you need to type in the race/class is not convenient, Ill definately change that as well as make the game more stable.
@dector
yes, Im planning to work on this game later. Not sure when though, maybe when I start new programming language which may happen at the end of the summer... But I will definately do it :)

nilstastic says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:38am

Pros: Nice fov-implementation =)
Cons: Graphics was a bit lacking

cakemonitor says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:33pm

I like the line-of-sight effect - it would be nice to have a memory of where you've been also (perhaps not brightly lit and showing items etc. just the layout of the room you've already seen)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]