April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Flingler

by Folis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: I edited Level 5 to be easier, due to insane difficulty. This falls under the "My game is unbeatable" section of the notes below the comments.

Flingler is a small physics based game, where your goal is to get the ball at the end of the rope onto the grey-dithered field by cutting the rope at the right time (do so by holding the left mouse button and moving your cursor over the rope; It's a bit unresponsive at times, though)!

Sadly I didn't have any possibility to get some music in. (So rate Sound however you want.)

Greetings!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#339Theme3.76
#455Mood3.00
#478Fun3.07
#521Graphics3.07
#582Innovation3.10
#634Overall3.10
#768Humor1.95
#1535Coolness40%

Comments

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:09am

pretty fun! but seemed kinda finicky to me

DDDBOMBER says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:12am

Nice game, though sometimes it was sometimes hard to cut it at the right time

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45am

Cutting the rope doesn't always work really well. Makes it annoying to play. :/

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Same problems. Nice concept though.

kewry says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:53am

I like it, quite challenging and minimalistic. Something I'd probably add would be 'R' for restarting and instead of a click cut you could draw a line then when the player releases the LMB you'd perform the cut.
The swing losing it's momentum adds some sort of urgency to the game, maybe you could use that for more "timing" cuts.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:56am

Challenging, but fun!
Cutting the rope doesn't always work and it can be frustrating, but I was able to get to the end. Great job!

raincole says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Good job. Did you use any physical engine or you just rolled your own?

Siewart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Same problems, still fund :)

Tipyx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Too hard to cuuuuuut ! But nice :)

Pinkerator says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Cutting the rope works rarely, and not sure that I get "target" on every level, but this game have potential

Puffi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:33pm

I like the concept, but as mentioned before, sometimes the cutting detection is bit wonky.
Noticed that the ball goes totally berserk when left arrow key is held down which I thought was funny :)

Overall nice job!

Magnus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Pretty fun, though I think I spent more time on level ~5 or something than all the other levels combined.

Puffi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:33pm

I like the concept, but as mentioned before, sometimes the cutting detection is bit wonky.
Noticed that the ball goes totally berserk when left arrow key is held down which I thought was funny :)

Overall nice job!

Kvisle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:37pm

I beat it! Pretty nice - I'd love to see the mechanic developed further.

Hegemege says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Pretty challenging and the rope slicing was a gamble, but overall a nice game! Would've been cool to have some more game elements, but I guess it's as minimaslistic as it gets now :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Neat idea! Rope cutting was indeed tricky, but I actually really enjoyed having to interpret the level to discover where the goal was.

nilstastic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Pros: Nice idea and the graphics was very "moody". =)
Cons: Flawed cut-detection (as you probably know) and music would have added a lot to the mood.

All in all a fun game where better hit detection on the cutting would have made it even better. Would very much like to see an ios/android imlementation since this game is begging for some touch-love. =)

Sanguine says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Seems like a cool crossover between Cut the Rope and Angry Birds to me. Maybe it'd be cool to have multiple balls in some levels too?

Loren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Thank you for not spelling out the objective, that was a great thing to omit and made the game much more enjoyable.Nice job, very fun :)

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:28pm

I like the black and white style and how it is physics based. Of course I experience the same rope cutting problems and stuff though. :P

plop says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:51pm

You should update the way you cut the rope. I'm not sure how you do it now but it won't always work for me. Try using a vector starting at the point in which the user pressed the mouse button, ending at the point where the user released.

It was pretty fun to play. A tip would be to try to vary the gameplay a bit or get some other variations in there with a matching text ;)

PTSnoop says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Like some other people, I had some clipping problems when slicing the rope. I found it generally worked best when I moved the mouse slowly or not at all, instead of going with my instincts and flailing wildly. But apart from that slight niggle, a very fun game! I'd love to see a longer post-LD version.

Foxtacy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:24am

WHOA i like this idea so much!

But there's a few tweaks you can do.

If only you make the mouse collision with the rope, enough to cut it, this will be PERFECT. ^_^

tikilittle says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:11pm

I really like the idea, but cutting the rope only seemed to work if I cut really really close to to the ball.

tcstyle says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Great idea. The controls make it unnecessary difficult.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]