April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Placeholder Title

by The Jahn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It started as a decent idea... not sure what happened to it.

Edit : Just realized I forgot to include the source code. Sorry! It's there now.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#125Audio3.50
#455Mood3.00
#474Graphics3.14
#512Fun3.03
#644Overall3.09
#916Humor1.75
#1248Innovation2.00
#1326Theme2.24

Comments

mtrc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:17pm

It started off quite fun, I like the graphics, but overall it felt a little too hard for me - reminiscent of games from my childhood! Would love to see a balanced/tweaked version that's easier to play :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Some interesting level design.

Follett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:19pm

DAMN that game is hard. I honestly had to give up. Although I must commend you on the audio. It was great and fitted the game perfectly!

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:39pm

I love the background music, but the gameplay is so hard! (and the relevance to theme is weak)

lfpetrini says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:52pm

I loved it. It's a hard game, but nothing impossible to beat, and the audio is great!

The Jahn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:04pm

@lfpetrini: I was just about to point out that I completed the whole game several times over to verify everything was possible before submitting. Takes a bit of precision (and maybe some wit towards the end) - but it is doable, I promise! I do apologize for the difficulty regardless, though. c:

@raincole: I know the relevance to the theme is pretty weak. That's definitely the thing I'm most disappointed about. I thought I had a decent concept at the start, but things just didn't work out as planned.

Maybe I should write a quick post mortem or something.

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:13pm

love it! great atmo. the world feels very deep! reminded me of bruce lee (c64). even though with the game mechanics in place it was too hard for me...

spacechase0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18pm

The giant spider was very hard to get by, but I managed to figure it out. :P

villhest says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Cool! Thanks for the 'tater.

fakeyou says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Very cool game. I really liked the way you introduced the spider where at first you think they go down far enough and then have to jump over the snakes with them above you.

It also had nice and challenging parts which I was very happy to see. The boss spider was though to do but I finally made it by luring it down and jumping over it.

Nice game and music!

caranha says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Graphics are decent, but the gameplay is pretty solid! I liked the "smoke" effect when falling from big heights.

Managed to get to the end without big problems. The "boss" was pretty cool.

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Not very unusual game idea, but very well executed. I must agree that some parts are frustratingly hard. But with a bit of polishing this could be a very fun game.

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Old school like it should be! The music reminded me one of my old game gear game... bonus!

rujo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:09am

very addicting!
It reminds me of one of my favourite Sega Master System games: Montezuma Revenge.
The retro style you used here is very accurate, it doesnt look just like a "retro style game" made today but like it was the real thing! and this is great in my opinion.

rubna says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:05pm

YEAH! I beat it :D I couldn't get past the big spider at first, so I went back and got all the shiny things, but when that didn't change anything I finally figured it out :)

Great game! Good leveldesign, clear objective, very fun! Too bad the shiny things didn't do anything though.

kyyninen says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:11am

Level design good, my skills bad :( Though glad I wasn't the only one who struggled with the title!

cakemonitor says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:03am

Good fun puzzle platformer with great music. Nice job

Tifu says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Reminds me of a time long ago :D
Very fun exploring retro caves, probably a "X/Y shiny things collected" would help, I'm not sure if I got them all or not.

Entity2D says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:11am

Very fun game with a cool graphical and musical style.

AndyBumpkin says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:14am

You definitely feel like you've accomplished something by completing this! The big spider puzzle was fun to beat, but the one just before was a bit of an annoyance ;)
Nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]