April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Critical Mess

by Yoni - Jam Entry

You play the role of Stick McFigure, an art critic imprisoned in Count Paintbrush's mansion after giving him a bad review.

You have the ability to cross between the Real Dimension and the Art Dimension. Use it to escape!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#39Humor(Jam)3.57
#46Fun(Jam)3.63
#59Overall(Jam)3.73
#91Audio(Jam)3.54
#97Innovation(Jam)3.52
#133Mood(Jam)3.41
#240Theme(Jam)3.36
#259Graphics(Jam)3.25

Comments

SirJson says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:38am

This game is awesome! Especially the Intro :D

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Awesome game! Although, switching between the dimensions to keep on peeking at what it looks like is annoying. I supposed I could use a sketchpad to jot it down and be creative :) Great game!

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Amazing intro, great game, good job!

gre says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Nice and challenging plateforme game.
I disagree that switching between the dimensions is annoying, IMO it is the most interesting part, it's a memory game after all :)

Good intro and good music.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:28pm

THat's fantastic - Have to re-visit this one after work!

Dabuuker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Switching between dimensions is always good fun. The controls feel good and responsive. Good game!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Wow that's great !

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Nice job. I'll maybe try to finish it

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Wow, everything about this game is good. The best I've played so far this LD. Love the concept. Great Job!

rujo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:12pm

very nice and intresting game. maybe the graphics could be more cured but everything else is just perfect!

KEFIR says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Oh yeah! This is very cool! I love this idea :)

matheod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Very funny, good sound and story :p

ekuurh says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Really liked the game :) I wish I could vote :/

ilovepixel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:23am

Great concept, It was a great game. I really liked the switching dimensions. Nice!!

yellowlemming says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:45pm

very challenging enjoyable platformer, the switching dimensions is a great part of the game

Tiago says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Awesome game! I really enjoyed the dimension switching mechanic to solve the puzzles! good job!

vilya says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:52pm

I love the idea of switching to the art dimension. Very nice!

ThirteenWB says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:51am

I liked the intro bit and the idea. Graphics were cool but the player's speed kinda frustrated me. Other than that it was fun! :)

LTyrosine says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:40am

Amazing idea! A new view for theme, nice job.

evilseanbot says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:24am

Neat! I did something similar with my game from 2 LDs ago, "Place of Origin". I did this thing where you could peek into the other world while holding the change dimension button. Maybe that would work here?

angelk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Great job! I think the most enjoyable puzzle game I've played so far this LD.

brookman32k says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:55am

Cool concept with the two dimensions. Game is funny to play. Only some sounds of the background music seemed very harsh.

Floko says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:33pm

The intro was a surprise! Nice indeed. The switching between 2 dimensions is a nice touch too

rezoner says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Pretty cool. Would be nice if there was "just peek into another dimension" feature

MinionStudios says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Two kittens and a coconut! LOL this game is super fun... One basic problem is pressing space when holding arrows does nothing.

eli says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Another solid entry!!! So much stuff piled in, so many things to see. Audio and visual work are, as usual, quite impressive. Innovative concept with the flipping mechanic, as well the the tens of other little doo-dads you put in to spice up the platforming.

Strict collision detection and unforgiving flip-constraints do make the game rather punishing. I felt it most after working very hard to achieve a platform only to have it whisked away "from under my feet" because I messed up a flip+jump combo. And then you fall all the way to the bottom of the level. Sharp block edges can prevent the player from completing trivial jumps. Definitely glad you put in the "skip level" button!!

Anyway, always a pleasure to get rickrolled and seeing some reminders of your previous games. Good work, hope to see you next time!

May 9, 2013 @ 1:41pm

I love it! epic intro

CrazyGage says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Great little game. Very intelligent. Brilliantly thought through. I love it. My only qualm was that minimalism wasn't prevalent.

acro says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Never have I seen a little voiced audio and two frames of animation used to such hilarious effect. Mwahahahaha! Brilliant!
The music suits it really well; the idea is very cool. But after a while, with so much dimension-flipping, I found the colour difference between dimensions was kinda harsh to look at. The inability to see where I was jumping got kinda frustrating, but again maybe just because of the forced flip-back when you're inside a block.
It is a clever game mechanic, maybe slightly more visual clues to platform positions could reduce the annoyance too. The thing that stopped me playing, unfortunately, before I got to the cool-looking screenshot above was the uneven framerate. I'd love to play a smoother/faster non-html version some day. Actually, I'm saying too much that's just picky griping - this is genius, and I give 5 stars for graphics!

davidpeter says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Fun game! There was a bug with the jumping though -- sometimes when I jumped on the yellow tiles, I would bounce really small once before jumping normally again, which screwed up my timing. I would also get stuck jumping -- probably related. I also thought the game was pretty easy, you could skip a lot of stuff (especially with the teleporters at the end). Overall, I enjoyed playing this game!

Dotanukii says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Great game! really fun concept and goes great with the theme!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]