April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

nadir

by Zillix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

violet is falling.
or perhaps, running.
possibly chasing something.
she doesn't remember.
but she knows something has gone very wrong.

five adventurers had set out to root out the warlock from his tower.
try to piece together what happened, how she ended up here, and what happened to the others.

CONTROLS:
left/right: move
up/down: choose
hold spacebar: speed up text
-/+: adjust volume


for those counting, there are 10 endings, 1 secret ending, and 500 lines of dialogue

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#88Humor3.48
#105Mood3.61
#134Innovation3.74
#390Overall3.33
#474Graphics3.14
#475Theme3.62
#526Fun3.02
#687Audio2.48

Comments

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:20pm

hahahaha, its really funny the game. Really original and well done. Only dislike how failing answers works, because after a while it gets a bit boring having to smash yourself to skip aaall the text :)

Zillix says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:00pm

good call. now, holding SPACE makes the text go way faster. thanks for the feedback!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:29am

I can't stop myself bouncing off the walls. This makes me laugh :)

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:31am

Very Funny game!

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:19am

Very cool idea, and really well executed! Good job.

GetFun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:20am

=O what is this? surprising cool!

DkCub23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:25am

I really like the graphics. They suit the theme well.

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:47am

Nice idea, but would be cool if there were checkpoints so you don't need to start from the beginning. I skipped few lines also, because of how space works. Would be better if it just skipped one current line when pressed.

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:21pm

love the art, the effects, and fun! :D

qgi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Really fun and well written! Enjoyed it very much.

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:10pm

That was fantastic. Thank you so much for the walkthrough, I'd found the egg end (the dark one) and I was still looking for more possibilities.

stevejohnson says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:54am

Thanks for posting a walkthrough (and making a fun game)!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:32am

I'm usually bored by "a lot of dialogue" kind of games. But I eally enjoyed playing this one.

I think, just having to avoid walls while reading, is a very simple idea, but add really something.

Well done !

AndyBumpkin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:36am

Weird and cool :D

The multiple endings were great and it was well written. One of my favorite entries so far!

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:13am

Super cool concept and simple yet pleasant visuals. The dialogue seemed decently written too, so props all around.

NAMKCOR says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:10am

Neat idea, I'm not patient enough right now for it though, haha.

jijaweb says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Cool concept. !

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:22pm

You're actually the reason I started doing Ludum Dares. I found Endeavor, loved it, tracked its origins, and here I am. Anyway, I always look forward to playing your LD games; you come up with very interesting ideas. This one has a very "choose your own adventure" feel to it. Very simple, but tons of depth. I very much enjoyed playing it. Keep up the excellent work, and I'll be keeping an eye out of your LD27 entry.

paulopn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Really amazing game and definitely the entry that has kept me playing for longer until now.Great job!

May 6, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Most text of an LD I've read ever. Great stuff.

Xanjos says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:00am

Pretty interesting game. Really liked the multitasking between making dialogue choices and trying to avoid the walls (most of the game). The dialogue and endings were absolutely well written.

3p1c_d3m0n says ...
Jun 28, 2013 @ 6:40pm

*some spoilers*
Is there any ending where it doesn't say "wait, that's not how it happened?", other than the secret ending?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]