April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A trial by blood and fire

by nilstastic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use A and D to move, W to jump and S to pick up objects and change the direction of the circle.

EDIT: Added arrow controls for the non qwerty breed of humans.

I the flash wont load, reload! =)

The game turned out to be some sort of wierd puzzle game where you control an unknown man in an unknown world. The theme bugged me a bit and the initial plan was to fill the world with fat children and candy, but the initial programmers-art-style grew on me and i think it turned out ok. =)

The development process itself was quite a handful since i havent used haxe and nme much, but int the end it turned out to be a nice language that is very suitable for this kind of event. Will try to deploy to an appstore if the control scheme feels right. =)

That's about it.
Bye!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#247Fun3.36
#334Overall3.40
#354Theme3.75
#363Mood3.13
#467Innovation3.23
#468Audio2.84
#612Humor2.16
#638Graphics2.93

Comments

drkrunk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:15am

I think yours maybe broken. I can't play it. It's just a black screen.

nilstastic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:17am

drkrunk: i embedded it with js so i think it should be working now?
realoading also seems to help =)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:46am

The level with the downfalling elements seems to be broken after restart - but yeah: Very relaxing and minimalistic game. :)

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:44am

Nice logic game, i like the minimalistic graphics, thou some explanation what each block does would be helpful!

cahman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:49am

Very nicely done! One of the most chill games I've played. It would have been nice to have a rough idea what the pieces did before playing the level. Also, my 's' button quit working in the game after a restart.

Saturnyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:01am

Hi, you should add arrow keys as alternative controls, those of us with different keyboard layout (AZERTY instead of QWERTY) can't play the game easily.
Liked it anyway, nice atmosphere.

Typedeaf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:08am

Really nice puzzle game! I actually like the art in the game it is charming =A

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Really nice puzzler! My only critisism is that the shapes aren't very self explanatory. 5 for innovation!

Holofire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Nice platformer. Interesting mechanics. Great job.

robmozart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:30pm

I like what you did with this game.

The falling sparks (or what those are) adds something nice to the mood of the game.

The music instrument sounds good and I like the melody. I wish it was longer, for more variation (while still being minimalistic).

It would have been nice with some text explaining the various elements along the way but it was not hard to figure out what was going on by trying and failing.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Pretty cool game! :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:04pm

I was into the game with the first notes I heard, though they got repetitive after a while. I picked up the idea after a few seconds, as I have seen this game mechanic before, but adding some instructions would definitely help. Fits a lot into the theme, perfect execution and good puzzle progression. Well done!

patrickward says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Wonderful, relaxing puzzler. I could lose some time with this game. Great job!

feyleaf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Not a bad puzzle-platformer. One thing I noticed is the little person double-jumps into the upper space beyond the ceiling often. I liked the different effects and the gradual learning curve. It felt good.

Oye Beto says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:44am

I can't access your web page. I'll check again later.

Felix20 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Very cool puzzle game, the graphics are really nice actually and the sound is good. When I got to the level with the two triforces though, it's impossible to beat :/
I really liked it though.

Oye Beto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:29am

I won :)
It' a good puzzle, it entertained me enough to finish it.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Very nice !

TaleLore says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Interesting puzzle game, although some glitches made it hard to play.

tankete says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:40am

Wow! I really liked it. Loved the simplicity of the look and controls. The music worked well. And the introduction of new elements came at the perfect pace.

Well done!

lorancou says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:20am

Oh, looks like there's no ending, I just looped back to level one :) Good puzzle game, a few bugs sometimes but nothing that really blocks progression. Congratz!

AndyBumpkin says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:52am

Wow, enjoyed this a lot more than I thought I would! These kind of puzzles always appeal to me though :)

Nicely thought out and fits the theme well, good stuff!

ashdnazg says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Nice, simple and challenging!
Well done :)

lasergans says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Cute, innovative, minimalistic, varying - simply fun :)

marnaouf says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:20am

Very awesome concept and really fun game. Really liked the puzzles and having to learn from trial and error what each new object did.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]