April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Nest

by Sebastian - Jam Entry

Hi I am so tired

**If you are left with nothing to do press r to start a new game**

Arrow keys move

space bar:
picks up food on pink
rests on grass + nest (if you don't have food, otherwise...)
gives babies your food on nest

feed your babies pink food stuff. number on left is stamina, number on right is held food. number at bottom is babies food - they eat 1 food per turn.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#83Theme(Jam)3.83
#180Innovation(Jam)3.26
#312Mood(Jam)2.80
#392Graphics(Jam)2.76
#482Fun(Jam)2.26
#488Overall(Jam)2.52
#1594Coolness37%

Comments

mtrc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Not sure if it's a bug or not but - if you 'die' on the nest you can still rest and even feed your babies. Digging it so far!

mtrc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Pretty cool! I liked the mechanics, both the scope of the game and the graphics really set well with the theme. I think the random generation needs tweaking to ensure that all runs are at least feasible (but I realise this is impossible to do in 48hrs, and also I guess it might be part of the appeal/aesthetic for you).

JAH2488 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Cool concept!

NiallM says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:15am

Ooh, this is neat. And surprisingly hard! Do the babies eventually grow up? Or are you just trying to keep them alive for as long as possible until the food/your stamina gives out?

(a pretty dark view of parenthood there :P )

Sebastian says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:22am

Haha yeah, there is no way to 'win' as of the jam version. Maybe one way to take it would be to relocate your nest once you run out of food and keep going from there but yeah I'm not really sure how to make the game work in the long term.

Tyro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:19am

This is the nest game.

ddionisio says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:25am

Interesting game, I wasn't quite sure what I was picking up and such. Seems like I eventually just die no matter what.

I like the abstraction. Since there have been plenty of potato entries, my first thought was it is a potato feeding baby potatoes. Then when I look back, it might have been birds. Pretty sure those are birds.

Cool game!

Jyrkface says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:09am

Potato Birds! Also neat game, makes me feel dumb and useless though. I wish there was was a little more empowering game about my babies starving.

fullmontis says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:51am

I really like the concept because it actually requires some strategy despite the simplicity of the mechanics, but I had quite an hard time understanding what those images meant. I mean, if you didn't write it in the description, I would have never deciphered any of them.

lorancou says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:54am

1D gameplay, this is minimalist!

joe40001 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:30am

Cool concept but you can keep playing after your babies die, and this kinda breaks the whole timer mechanic.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]