April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Vodka Tycoon

by thedaian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are an illegal Moscow Vodka Merchant. Every night, you enter the streets of Moscow to sell thirsty patrons of Russian bars Vodka.

I suggest setting the price somewhere between $3-4 for best results.

Libraries used: AngularJS: http://angularjs.org/ Twitter Bootstrap: http://twitter.github.io/bootstrap/index.html Cyborg theme from Bootswatch: http://bootswatch.com/cyborg/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#595Fun2.94
#789Graphics2.73
#861Overall2.89
#904Innovation2.65
#1187Theme2.72
#1800Coolness24%

Comments

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:06am

An alcohol themed version of the schoolclass icecream shop game. :p

May 3, 2013 @ 2:47am

Only a little problem I did some experimenting... I set the price to 10,000,000.00 ... Made profit of $99,999,000.12...

kibertoad says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Great game! Very simple yet inventive game mechanics that actually work.

May 3, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Kinda fun, but setting the price really high and selling to Putin seems like it gives you a lot of money... $124,999,999,999,999,980,000.00/hr

Super Hamster says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:53am

Very interesting(I'm so cool, I managed to go over the max amount of money you could have so I had: money. :D)

amodo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:59am

I'd love to play this against hundreds of players :D

Msquirrel says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:00am

I liked it, minimal and potato!

reverso13 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:06am

You have to fix the thing that selling vodka at the highest price yo become rich in one night

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:52am

I had more fun with the game than expected :) Starting from the second night, I almost always made a profit.

I can imagine the story how you got the inspiration for this is a good one... ;)

simvig says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Wow, never expected to see a management type game in LD. Nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]