April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rebellion: Resistance of Complacency

by GreaseMonkey - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UPDATE: Due to a race condition, the first release CAN crash when the music is abruptly stopped. While this DOES sound like a "freak accident", it happened to me twice in a row (wrt getting to the end), and I have a dual-core + 2xHT CPU so I'm suprised it didn't screw up earlier. final2 has been uploaded to fix this bug. Hopefully. (This was done with about 6 minutes to spare, and uploaded thanks to TrueShiftBlue's encouragement.)

A potentially familiar-looking game. Yes, this is unfinished. No, I'm not going to leave it for the jam.

Z is shoot, arrows is move, shift is focus. No bombs sorry. No, I'm not increasing the life count. Dodge harder.

If anyone wants to make a Mac build, feel free - you'll need libsackit at: https://github.com/iamgreaser/sackit/

Themewise, I decided to actually AVOID using minimalism where possible, because sometimes, minimalism sucks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#167Audio3.39
#688Fun2.83
#926Mood2.50
#1045Overall2.68
#1242Graphics2.06
#1276Innovation1.94
#1350Theme1.89
#1775Coolness26%

Comments

GreaseMonkey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:13am

Apparently, it IS possible to build this for Linux without having to ask for help.

Anyways, first person to post a no-death run on Youtube gets a trophy!

vegard1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:19am

aaa so hard, lol. pretty fun, could look abit smoother maybe. i like that blob background graphic

GreaseMonkey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:50am

If it's not looking particularly smooth, it might be caused by frameskipping, because I get a fairly solid 60fps on my machine.

William Bundy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:00am

Maybe I'm masochistic, but Tohou's confused gardener knows what's up. Bullet hell at its least refined? And therefore its silliest? Also, good job with the music: it sounds like every radien track ever which really reinforces the whole bullet hell thing.

One more thing, is the background supposed to be leaves?

GreaseMonkey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:26am

Well, I was doing difference clouds in Gimp and noticed that I was *kinda* getting leaves. So, yeah, they are supposed to be "leaves". (They're just not particularly good.)

triplefox says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:12am

too much gameplay (read: bullets)

tankete says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Liked the music. Not sure how focus works (didn't seem to affect gameplay). Unfortunately it crashed/froze for me all three times after about the 3rd or 4th wave (about 2100+ points). Pretty hard (ie. mucho bullets)

GreaseMonkey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Weird. Could you give a backtrace in gdb or something?
Also, it's LEFT shift to focus.

WiseGAMER says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:01am

Nice colors, simple controls. Simply awesome!

summontherats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:47am

There's ZUNthing... familiar about this game. C.C_

summontherats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48am

(Also, I laughed and laughed and laughed. Then I was slaughtered. It's really hard to figure out where your hitbox is.)

plash says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:11am

Notes:

- This is LOUD!
- The music ain't bad, though.
- Dead. Dead. Dead.
- Is there no way to restart without closing and re-opening the application?
- This is very hard.

Things I would change:

- Everything! What does this have to do with leaves!? What is going on in the background!?
- Restart at the first level if the player dies.
- Reduce the bullet hell juuust a bit.
- Burn your leaves.

GreaseMonkey says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:09am

Loud - Turn your volume down, then.
Restarting - Yeah, didn't have time to implement that.
Hard, Dead, Reduce - Obviously you need more practice.
Leaves - Feel free to modify the assets. Graphics must be bottom-left-origin 32bpp uncompressed .tga files, and any replacements must be of the same dimensions as the originals.

If you'd like something that's character-building, try this (scroll down to where it says "08/06/28 東方地霊殿 体験版ver0.02a(135M)" then click one of the links at random), and play it on Lunatic: http://www16.big.or.jp/~zun/html/th11dl.html

I would say that's much harder. Yet people can finish it.

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:46am

Music reminds me of very old arcade shmups! The rest is pretty much touhou.
I think the waves should've been easier at the beginning.
The bullet patterns are way brutal right off the start that I had to had several tries to get the feel of controls.

A reset after game over is definitely needed.

loxo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Challenging games are really great, because you can always come back to improve yourself. And this is such a game, especially with the fantastic background music. I think the only thing that spoils the great experience of this game, is the missing restart functionality. The first time I played, I thought it crashed, but I was only dead. What a relieve!

Bernhard says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Love love the music! I remember leaving this open for a while in the background just for the music when you posted a build on IRC during the compo :-)
Though, as much as I like them, I still suck at bullet-hell shooters... Couldn't get very far :-(
Bonus for real game development (C++) :-)

Ragzouken says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:53am

I was really struggling until I read the instructions and saw you could shoot (stupid me :p). Maybe I am just not used to the genre, but I found it really hard to work out what the hitbox of my character was supposed to be.

Mark Hildreth says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:09am

Not my style of game, but I understand what you're going for. I really liked the music.

Norgg says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Ow ow ow ow.

dem0 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:11pm

This has potential, you should develop it further :P

The music and the overall feeling are nice and very Touou'ish, but the gameplay collapses to the collision detection which should be very tight in game like this. Also, the game crashed always when I died.

SuperDisk says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:22am

Incredibly hardtown (we do not play shooters) but the music and the polish was actually incredibly nice.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:35am

This game is VERY hard. Needs some sort of continue system. And I'm not really sure, but it looks like the game freezes when you die? Really, really loved the audio though, that was worth it. The sprites desperately need a tune up.

GreaseMonkey says ...
May 22, 2013 @ 12:52am

Thanks to Emscripten, you can now play this game in your browser with a bloated 10MB download over HTTP, awful framerate, and NEARLY ONE SECOND of sound lag... on Firefox, and absolutely NO sound on Chrome!

Hell, I don't even KNOW if it works on Chrome, but here we go:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/32094129/em/rebellion/em.html

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]