April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Supersto

by wolf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

W - Jump
A,D - Move left/right
Mouse 1 - pick up/drag objects

Aim of the game is to click and drag objects around to help your little avatar to get to the sparkling sphere.

Tools used:

* Unity (Free)
* FL Studio (Trial)
* SFXR
* Notepad++


Notes:

I am aware of some of the exploits in the game and they will be fixed in a post-comp version along with many more enhancements and challenging levels.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#630Audio2.58
#753Innovation2.88
#1039Fun2.42
#1097Overall2.62
#1140Mood2.18
#1165Graphics2.19
#1223Theme2.67
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

Logan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:23pm

The concept's kind of neat, and I can see it leading to some very elaborate puzzles.
The dude is way slippery, though, which was particularly frustrating on the first level.

Also, before I knew what I was supposed to be doing, I managed to push the first level's small box into the foreground where I wasn't able to touch it. Just thought you should know.

wolf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:16am

Thanks for the feedback. I plan to rework all the physics in a post-comp version. I'm aware of the bug you mention and will have that fixed soon too. Only been using Unity about 2 weeks so still learning :) Cheers

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:41pm

This is a really cool game man. The core mechanic of dragging stuff around and then moving with the keyboard is awesome.

I particularly enjoyed putting stuff under me then dragging it up.

wolf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:17am

Thanks!

Unfortunately putting stuff under you and dragging it up is a bug/exploit and could be used to cheat on some levels :p This will be fixed soon.

lightsoda says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Nice job, the core mechanic can make for some interesting puzzles.

May 12, 2013 @ 4:48am

The mechanic is interesting - manipulating objects while you platform is something I've seen done in a co-op setting, but not in a single-player fashion like this. That said, the physics were hard to contend with, and the first level was more frustrating than it should have been.

pvwradtke says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:59am

There's no Unity web player for Linux. :(

Teejay5 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:12am

Nice puzzle mechanic, and I like the almost 'drum and bass'-y music!

wolf says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:28am

Thanks for the feedback.

@Monxcleyr: I've been working on improving the physics so hopefully in a new version it will be bit more friendly.

@pvwradtke: I'm new to Unity and didn't realise there was no Web Player for it. I've removed it from the list.

@Teejay5: thanks! I love DnB and will be putting more work into the music and sfx in the post-comp version :)

64Mega says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:18am

That was an interesting premise for a puzzle game; has a decent bit of potential. It really started to pick up when the laser traps started appearing. Nice job!

Turtle says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:57am

An idea with its potential. Maybe should work on solving the physics glitches first?

CogComp says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:54am

Really like this idea. This has real potential to become something really cool!

dick_claus says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:29am

I stuck on first level >_<

Xanjos says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:09pm

The physics is a bit weird but the overall concept is actually quite good.

May 20, 2013 @ 3:44am

A simple mechanic game, it was fun though the platforming made moving the objects sometimes a bit disorienting and I was able to glitch my way to a few victories by riding the objects I was holding that sprung me forward. Still, a good time.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]